At a glance
- What the study gets you
- Access to the study treatment being tested
- Type of study
- Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
- Time in hospital
- In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
- Drug or intervention
- Vincristine (drug), Aldesleukin (drug), ch14.18/CHO (drug), Carboplatin (drug)
- How long the study runs
- Study runs about 295 months (dates as stated)
- About the drug or intervention
- Vincristine — drug: given during Rapid COJEC and modified N7 therapy · Aldesleukin — drug: Aldesleukin is given during MRD Treatment for patients randomised to the arm with IL-2 · ch14.18/CHO — drug: ch14.18/CHO antibody is given during MRD treatment · Carboplatin — drug: Carboplatin is given during induction Treatment (R3 randomisation: Rapid COJEC arm) · Etoposide — drug: Etoposide is given during Induction Treatment (both R3 randomisation arms) · Cisplatin — drug: Cisplatin is given during Induction Treatment (both R3 randomisation arms) · Cyclophosphamide — drug: Cyclophosphamid is given during Induction Treatment (both R3 randomisation arms) · Doxorubicin — drug: Doxorubicin is given during Induction Treatment (R3 arm modified N7) · G-CSF — drug: G-CSF is given during Induction Treatment · Busulfan — drug: In case i.v. · Melphalan — drug: Melphalan is given during MAT treatment
- Patient visit burden
- Not specified by the sponsor
In plain English
This study, run by SIOP-Europe (SIOPEN), looks at high-risk neuroblastoma, a cancer that mainly affects children. It aims to treat patients under 21 whose neuroblastoma is classed as high risk. The sponsor is St. Anna Kinderkrebsforschung.
Who can take part
- Diagnosed with neuroblastoma using the International Neuroblastoma Staging System (INSS).
- Under 21 years old.
- High-risk neuroblastoma: either INSS stage 2, 3, 4 or 4s with MYCN amplification (a change in the cancer cells), or INSS stage 4 without MYCN amplification in children aged over 12 months at diagnosis.
- No previous chemotherapy, except one cycle of etoposide and carboplatin (VP16/Carbo).
- Written informed consent, with parent or legal guardian agreement for minors, including agreeing to join a randomised part of the study if criteria are met.
- Tumour cell material available for testing biological prognostic factors.
- Pregnancy test negative for females who can become pregnant, and agreement to use effective birth control. Breastfeeding patients must agree to stop.
- All eligibility details registered with the data centre within 6 weeks of diagnosis.
- Agreement to follow-up for 5 years.
Who may not be able to
- Not meeting any of the inclusion criteria.
What taking part involves
- • Patients who had one cycle of VP16/Carbo (etoposide and carboplatin) first will receive Rapid COJEC induction treatment, and the first Rapid COJEC cycle may be swapped for the first VP16/Carbo cycle.
- • Other treatment details: Not stated — ask the trial team.
Time commitment: Taking part involves follow-up for about 5 years and registering eligibility details within 6 weeks of diagnosis; other details of visits and tests: Not stated — ask the trial team.
Plain-English summary (AI-generated) from registry data. Not eligibility advice — only the trial team can confirm whether you can take part. Use the eligibility checker to see how your health profile matches this trial.
- Type of study
- Testing a treatment
- Ages
- 1 Month to 21 Years
- Who
- All
- Number of participants
- 3,300
- Started
- 2002-02
- Last checked
- 2020-10
Plain English Summary
What is this study?
- • Testing a new treatment for neuroblastoma
- • Phase3 - 3,300 participants
- • This is a randomized study of the European SIOP Neuroblastoma Group (SIOPEN) in high-risk neuroblastoma (stages 2, 3, 4 and 4s MYCN-amplified neuroblastoma, stage 4 MYCN non amplified \> 12 months at diagnosis)
Who can take part?
- • Ages 1 Month to 21 Years
- • Diagnosed with neuroblastoma
Where?
- • Aberdeen - Aberdeen: Royal Aberdeen Children's Hospital
- • Belfast - Royal Belfast Hospital for Sick Children
- • Birmingham - Birmingham Children's Hospital
- • Bristol - Bristol Royal Hospital for Children
- • +17 more UK sites
This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.
About This Trial
This is a randomized study of the European SIOP Neuroblastoma Group (SIOPEN) in high-risk neuroblastoma (stages 2, 3, 4 and 4s MYCN-amplified neuroblastoma, stage 4 MYCN non amplified \> 12 months at diagnosis). The protocol consists of a rapid, dose intensive induction chemotherapy, peripheral blood stem cell harvest, attempted complete excision of the primary tumour, myeloablative therapy followed by peripheral blood stem cell rescue, radiotherapy to the site of the primary tumour and immunotherapy (R4 randomization - isotretinoin and ch14.18/CHO (Dinutuximab beta, Qarziba ®).), with or without s.c. aldesleukin (IL-2)). Patients diagnosed after the closure of R3 randomization will not be R4 randomized. For these patients the use of ch14.18/CHO antibody is recommended without scIL-2 as continuous infusion as standard of care outside of controlled trials. ch14.18/CHO received marketing authorization by EMA in May 2017 (Qarziba ®). In the induction phase, all patients receive Rapid COJEC following the result of the R3 randomization which was closed on June 8th, 2017 after inclusion of 630 patients as planned. Following induction treatment peripheral blood stem cell harvest (PBSCH) is performed and complete excision of the primary tumour will be attempted. Patients with an inadequate metastatic response to allow BuMel MAT followed by PBSCR at the end of induction should receive 2 TVD (Topotecan, Vincristine, Doxorubicin) cycles. After Rapid COJEC induction, localized patients will proceed to consolidation. Patients aged 12-18 months at diagnosis, with stage 4 neuroblastoma, no MYCN amplification and without segmental chromosomal alterations (SCAs) are thought to have a good prognosis and will stop treatment after induction therapy and surgery to the primary tumour. Consolidation consists of BuMel MAT based on the results of the R1 randomization followed by peripheral blood stem cell rescue (PBSCR) and radiotherapy to the site of the primary tumour. The R2 immunotherapy randomization using ch14.18/CHO as 8 hour infusion on 5 consecutive days ( total dose (100mg/m²) with or without aldesleukin (IL-2) alternated with isotretinoin (13-cis-RA) is closed. The amended R4 immunotherapy randomization using ch14.18/CHO as continuous infusion (total dose 100mg/m² over 10 days) with or without aldesleukin (IL-2) alternated with isotretinoin (13-cis-RA) has accrued according to plan with results pending awaiting data maturity and DMC approval.
More detail
In this protocol the term high-risk neuroblastoma refers to children with either * disseminated disease (INSS stage 4: about 40 to 50% of all neuroblastoma) over the age of one or * INSS stage 2 and 3 disease with amplification of the MycN proto-oncogene Between 10% and 20% of children with stage 3 and occasional patients with stage 2 disease are characterized by amplification of the MycN gene in their tumours. This biological characteristic has clearly been shown to be associated with a greater risk of relapse and death from disease progression. These patients may benefit from very aggressive treatment and, based on this hypothesis, they are included in this protocol. Infants (\< 12 months at diagnosis) with MYCN amplified tumors are included. Children with this type of presentation and age represent the largest neuroblastoma subgroup. Their prognosis remains poor in most cases and our ability to predict the clinical course and the outcome of the individual patient is modest. Primary objectives: R0 randomization: R0 was opened with the study activation in February 2002 and closed in November 2005. The randomized use of G-CSF during COJEC induction resulted in the recommendation of the prophylactic use of G-CSF to prevent episodes of febrile neutropenia (Ladenstein R, Valteau-Couanet D, Brock P, et al. Randomized Trial of prophylactic granulocyte colony-stimulating factor during rapid COJEC induction in pediatric patients with high-risk neuroblastoma: the European HR-NBL1/SIOPEN study. J Clin Oncol. 2010 Jul 20;3516-24). R1 randomization: R1 was opened with the study activation in February 2002 and closed in 10/2010 following the results showing significant superiority of myeloablative therapy (MAT) with busulfan and melphalan over continuous infusion of carboplatin, etoposide and melphalan (CEM). BuMel is now the standard MAT (Ladenstein R, Pötschger U, Pearson ADJ, et al. Busulfan and melphalan versus carboplatin, etoposide, and melphalan as high-dose chemotherapy for high-risk neuroblastoma (HR-NBL1/SIOPEN): an international, randomized, multi-arm, open-label, phase 3 trial. Lancet Oncol. 2017 Apr;500-14). R2 randomization: R2 was activated in November 2006 (13-cis retinoic acid +/- chimeric ch14.18/CHO antibody), modified in July 2009 and suspended in August 2013. R2 randomization tested the hypothesis that immunotherapy with ch14.18/CHO and subcutaneous aldesleukin (IL-2, Proleukin®), following MAT and autologous stem cell transplantation, in addition to differentiation therapy with 13-cis retinoic acid, will improve 3-year EFS in patients with high-risk neuroblastoma (ASCO 2016: Ladenstein R, et al J Clin Oncol 34, 2016 (suppl; abstr 10500)). R3 randomization: R3 was opened in June 2011 and tests the hypothesis that modified N7 induction regimen will improve the metastatic response rates or event free survival (EFS) as compared to Rapid COJEC. As of June 8th, 2017 R3 randomization reached the target of 630 randomized patients as planned. There was no difference in event free survival rate between both regimens (Rapid COJEC and modified N7), but modified N7 had a significantly higher grade 3 and 4 toxicity profile. Therefore, Rapid COJEC is maintained as the SIOPEN standard induction treatment with G-CSF support based on the results of the R0 randomization open from 2002 top 2005 This change has been implemented in amendment 8 of the protocol. R4 randomization: R4 was activated in April 2014. The SIOPEN long term infusion (LTI) ch14.18/CHO trial successfully lowered the toxicity profile by prolonging the infusion time of the same total ch14.18/CHO antibody dose of 100 mg/m² to 10 days of continuous infusion in relapsed /refractory patients. Hence the HRNBL1/SIOPEN study committee wished to implement this more favorable immunotherapy dosing schedule for the time till the induction question R3 was answered and the HRNBL1/SIOPEN trial may be closed. Considering the high R2 dropout rate of patients unable to receive all immunotherapy cycles in the IL-2 s.c. combination treatment arm and not observing this effect in the current SIOPEN LTI trial, it is suggested to address the IL-2sc dose in the new R4. Therefore the potential synergistic effect of sc IL-2 will be addressed again with 50% of the original s.c. IL-2 dose. The IL-2sc dose will hence be reduced to 3 x 106 IU IL-2/m2/day s.c. in the HR-NBL1/SIOPEN R4 amendment instead of 6 x 106 IU IL-2/m2/day s.c as used in the SIOPEN LTI trial. In the second week of each IT course s.c.IL-2 will be given on days 2, 4, 6, 8, 10 in parallel to the ch14.18/CHO ctn infusion and not during the first 5 days in week 2 as scheduled in the SIOPEN LTI trial. R4 randomization is closed for patients diagnosed after June 8th, 2017, the closure date of R3 randomization. For these patients the use of ch14.18/CHO antibody is recommended without scIL-2 as continuous infusion (total dose 100 mg/m² over 10 days) as standard of care outside of controlled trials without scIL-2. The ch14.18/CHO monoclonal antibody received marketing authorization by EMA in May 2017 (dinutuximab beta, Qarziba®).
How this trial compares with your answers
Answer 2 more questions to improve match
What we know so far
Still need:
- • Tell us your age for better matching
- • Tell us your sex for better matching
Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.
Eligibility at a Glance
Key info
- Age: 1 Month - 21 Years
- Who can join: All genders
Biomarkers mentioned
Treatment history
Treatments you must have had:
- ✓ a negative pregnancy test
What the study is looking for
- ✓• Established diagnosis of neuroblastoma according to the International Neuroblastoma Staging System (INSS).
- ✓Age below 21 years.
- ✓High risk neuroblastoma defined as either:
- ✓INSS stage 2, 3, 4, and 4s with MYCN amplification, or
- ✓INSS stage 4 without MYCN amplification aged \> 12 months at diagnosis
Who cannot take part
- ✗Any negative answer concerning the inclusion criteria of the study
See the full criteria
Where Is This Study? (21 UK sites)
Aberdeen: Royal Aberdeen Children's Hospital
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Royal Belfast Hospital for Sick Children
Belfast, United Kingdom
Birmingham Children's Hospital
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Bristol Royal Hospital for Children
Bristol, United Kingdom
Addenbrooke's NHS Trust
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Llandough Hospital
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Edinburgh Royal Hospital for Sick Children
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Glasgow Royal Hospital for Sick Children
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Leeds: St James's University Hospital
Leeds, United Kingdom
Leicester Royal Infirmary
Leicester, United Kingdom
Carolyn Maloney
uhl-tr.researchandinnovationadminmailbox@nhs.net0116 258 8351Liverpool: Alder Hey Children's Hospital
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Great Ormond Street Hospital
London, United Kingdom
Main Email: Research.Governance@gosh.nhs.uk
Research.Governance@gosh.nhs.uk0207 905 2700St Bartholomew's Hospital
London, United Kingdom
UCLH University College London Hospital
London, United Kingdom
Rajinder Sidhu - Associate Director, Research Governance and Operations
uclh.jro-communications@nhs.net020 3447 9825Royal Manchester Children's Hospital
Manchester, United Kingdom
Newcastle: Royal Victoria Infirmary
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Nottingham: Queen's Medical Centre
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Oxford: John Radcliffe Hospital
Oxford, United Kingdom
Sheffield Children's Hospital
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Southampton General Hospital
Southhampton, United Kingdom
Royal Marsden Hospital
Sutton, United Kingdom
How to Get in Touch
Ruth L Ladenstein, MD, MBA, cPM
Sponsor contactCONTACT
