At a glance
- What the study gets you
- Access to the study treatment being tested
- Type of study
- Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
- Time in hospital
- In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
- Drug or intervention
- tabelecleucel (biological)
- How long the study runs
- Study runs about 152 months (dates as stated)
- About the drug or intervention
- tabelecleucel — biological: Tabelecleucel is being investigated as an off-the-shelf, allogeneic T-cell immunotherapy for the treatment of EBV+ malignancies and diseases.
- Patient visit burden
- Not specified by the sponsor
In plain English
This is a late-stage (Phase 3) study of a treatment called tabelecleucel for people with a condition called EBV-positive post-transplant lymphoproliferative disease (PTLD) — a rare cancer-like growth of immune cells that can happen after a solid organ transplant or a stem cell transplant. It is for people whose PTLD did not get better after treatment with rituximab, either on its own or with chemotherapy. The study is funded by Pierre Fabre Medicament.
Who can take part
- People of any age who have had a solid organ transplant (such as kidney, liver, heart, lung, pancreas or small bowel) or a stem cell transplant from a donor.
- A confirmed diagnosis of EBV-positive PTLD based on a tissue sample (biopsy).
- Their PTLD has not responded to rituximab alone, or rituximab plus chemotherapy.
- A suitable partly matched tabelecleucel product is available for them, confirmed by the study sponsor.
- Measurable disease that can be seen on scans (usually a PET-CT scan).
- Reasonably good daily functioning and adequate organ function, based on blood tests and other checks set out in the study.
- For stem cell transplant patients only: if the transplant was for leukaemia or a similar blood cancer, that original disease must be in remission.
- Willing and able to give written informed consent (or have a representative who can).
Who may not be able to
- Certain other active cancers or lymphoma types, such as Burkitt lymphoma, Hodgkin lymphoma or T-cell lymphoma.
- Taking daily steroid doses above a set level, ongoing methotrexate, or a light-based blood treatment called extracorporeal photopheresis.
- Untreated PTLD in the brain or spinal cord, or currently receiving treatment (chemotherapy or radiotherapy) directed at the brain or spinal cord for it.
- Moderate or worse graft-versus-host disease (a complication of stem cell transplants) at the time of joining.
- Recent use of immunotherapy drugs called checkpoint inhibitors (for example pembrolizumab or nivolumab).
- For stem cell transplant patients: an active adenovirus infection in the blood.
- Needing medicines to support blood pressure or help with breathing (ventilator support).
- Anti-T-cell antibody therapy (such as antithymocyte globulin) within 4 weeks of joining.
- Certain cell-based therapies (EBV-targeted T cells, CAR T-cells, or donor lymphocyte infusions) within 8 weeks of joining.
- Pregnant or breastfeeding, or unwilling to use highly effective contraception where relevant.
- Being unable to follow the study procedures, or any other condition that the study doctor believes could make taking part unsafe.
What taking part involves
- • Receiving tabelecleucel, a treatment made from specially selected immune cells (T cells) that target the Epstein-Barr virus.
- • The tabelecleucel is partly matched to each person's tissue type (HLA-matched).
- • Scans such as PET-CT (or MRI where used) to measure how the disease responds.
- • Further details on how the treatment is given — Not stated — ask the trial team.
Time commitment: Frequency of visits and how long the study lasts: Not stated — ask the trial team.
Plain-English summary (AI-generated) from registry data. Not eligibility advice — only the trial team can confirm whether you can take part. Use the eligibility checker to see how your health profile matches this trial.
- Type of study
- Testing a treatment
- Ages
- Not specified
- Who
- All
- Number of participants
- 115
- Started
- 2017-12-29
- Last checked
- 2026-08
Plain English Summary
What is this study?
- • Testing a new treatment for epstein-barr virus+ associated post-transplant lymphoproliferative disease (ebv+ ptld)
- • Phase3 - 115 participants
- • The purpose of this study is to determine the clinical benefit and characterize the safety profile of tabelecleucel for the treatment of Epstein-Barr virus-associated post-transplant lymphoproliferative disease (EBV+ PTLD) in the setting of (1) solid organ transplant (SOT) after failure of rituximab (SOT-R) and rituximab plus chemotherapy (SOT-R+C) or (2) allogeneic hematopoietic cell transplant (HCT) after failure of rituximab
Who can take part?
- • Adults
- • Diagnosed with epstein-barr virus+ associated post-transplant lymphoproliferative disease (ebv+ ptld)
Where?
- • Birmingham - University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust (Adults only)
- • London - King's College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust (Adults only)
- • London - Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust (Adults only)
This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.
About This Trial
The purpose of this study is to determine the clinical benefit and characterize the safety profile of tabelecleucel for the treatment of Epstein-Barr virus-associated post-transplant lymphoproliferative disease (EBV+ PTLD) in the setting of (1) solid organ transplant (SOT) after failure of rituximab (SOT-R) and rituximab plus chemotherapy (SOT-R+C) or (2) allogeneic hematopoietic cell transplant (HCT) after failure of rituximab.
More detail
This is a multicenter, open-label, phase 3 study to assess the efficacy and safety of tabelecleucel for the treatment of EBV+ PTLD in the setting of SOT-R and SOT-R+C (Cohort \[C\]-SOT) or HCT after failure of rituximab (C-HCT). SOT-R further included participants: 1. who did not receive chemotherapy and did not have a documented medical reason not to receive chemotherapy (SOT-Ro) or 2. who were considered chemotherapy ineligible/inappropriate (SOT-R-Ci) Combined population (SOT-R-Ci, SOT-R+C, and HCT) and (SOT-R-Ci and SOT-R+C) who received commercial product, or a product manufactured using a comparable process version (PV) were also used for analysis of outcomes. Enrollment will be preceded by confirmation of availability of partially human leukocyte antigen (HLA) matched and restricted tabelecleucel for the participant. Study procedures and product administration will be the same for each cohort. Tabelecleucel will be administered in cycles lasting 5 weeks (35 days). During each cycle, participants will receive intravenous tabelecleucel at a dose of 2 × 10\^6 cells/kg on Days 1, 8, and 15, followed by observation through Day 35. Treatment will continue until maximal response, unacceptable toxicity, initiation of non protocol therapy, or failure of tabelecleucel with up to 2 different HLA restrictions (C-SOT) or up to 4 different HLA restrictions (C-HCT). The study includes a total of 5 years of follow-up for disease and survival status for participants enrolled before or after 09 October 2023 to reach the initial sample size of 33 participants in both cohorts. For all other participants enrolled after 09 October 2023 and after the initial sample of 33 participants in both cohorts has been reached in both cohorts, the follow-up will be every 3 months, up to 12 months, as assessed on anniversary of Cycle 1 Day 1. For responders, the follow-up will be 12 months from the date of initial response.
How this trial compares with your answers
Answer 2 more questions to improve match
What we know so far
Still need:
- • Tell us your age for better matching
- • Tell us your sex for better matching
Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.
Eligibility at a Glance
Key info
- Age: Not specified
- Who can join: All genders
Treatment history
Treatments you must have had:
- ✓ to follow CNS disease response per Lugano Classification response criteria
What the study is looking for
- ✓Prior SOT of kidney, liver, heart, lung, pancreas, small bowel, or any combination of these (C-SOT); or prior...
- ✓A diagnosis of locally assessed, biopsy-proven EBV+ PTLD.
- ✓Availability of appropriate partially HLA-matched and restricted tabelecleucel has been confirmed by the sponsor.
- ✓Males and females of any age.
- ✓activity scale performance status ≤ 3 for participants aged ≥ 16 years; Lansky score ≥ 20 for...
Who cannot take part
- ✗Currently active Burkitt, T-cell, NK/T-cell lymphoma/LPD, Hodgkin, plasmablastic, transformed lymphoma, active...
- ✗Daily steroids of \> 0.5 mg/kg prednisone or glucocorticoid equivalent, ongoing methotrexate, or extracorporeal...
- ✗Suspected or confirmed grade ≥ 2 graft-versus-host disease (GvHD) per the Center for International Blood and Marrow...
- ✗Ongoing or recent use of a checkpoint inhibitor agent (eg, ipilimumab, pembrolizumab, nivolumab) within 3 drug...
- ✗For C-HCT: active adenovirus viremia.
See the full criteria
Where Is This Study? (3 UK sites)
University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust (Adults only)
Birmingham B15 2GW, United Kingdom
King's College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust (Adults only)
London SE5 9RS, United Kingdom
Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust (Adults only)
London W12 0HS, United Kingdom
How to Get in Touch
Data Protection Officer
Sponsor contactCONTACT
