At a glance
- What the study gets you
- Health checks and monitoring — no treatment given
- Type of study
- Observational (no treatment given)
- Time in hospital
- In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
- Drug or intervention
- Flortaucipir (drug), Florbetaben (drug), Fluorodeoxyglucose (drug)
- How long the study runs
- Study runs about 105 months (dates as stated)
- About the drug or intervention
- Flortaucipir — drug: All participants will receive a single bolus intravenous injection of approximately 10 mCi (+/- 10%, 20μg mass dose) of flortaucipir (18F-AV-1451). · Florbetaben — drug: All participants will receive a single bolus intravenous injection of approximately 8 mCi +/- .8mCi of florbetaben (AV-45). · Fluorodeoxyglucose — drug: All participants will receive a single bolus intravenous injection of approximately 5 mCi (+/- 10%, 0.5 mCi) of fluorodeoxyglucose.
- Patient visit burden
- Not specified by the sponsor
- Type of study
- Observing health over time
- Ages
- 40 Years to 64 Years
- Who
- All
- Number of participants
- 850
- Started
- 2018-04-30
- Last checked
- 2026-07
Plain English Summary
What is this study?
- • Testing a new treatment for early onset alzheimer disease
- • Clinical study - 850 participants
- • The Longitudinal Early-onset Alzheimer's Disease Study (LEADS) is a non-randomized, natural history, non-treatment study designed to look at disease progression in individuals with early onset cognitive impairment
Who can take part?
- • Ages 40 Years to 64 Years
- • Diagnosed with early onset alzheimer disease
Where?
- • London - University College London
This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.
About This Trial
The Longitudinal Early-onset Alzheimer's Disease Study (LEADS) is a non-randomized, natural history, non-treatment study designed to look at disease progression in individuals with early onset cognitive impairment. Clinical, cognitive, imaging, biomarker, and genetic characteristics will be assessed across three cohorts: (1) early onset Alzheimer's Disease (EOAD) participants, (2) early onset non-Alzheimer's Disease (EOnonAD) participants, and (3) cognitively normal (CN) control participants.
More detail
The LEADS study is a non-randomized, natural history, non-treatment study. Enrolled participants must be 40 - 64 (inclusive) years of age, with MCI due to AD or probable AD dementia (cognitively impaired participants) or have no significant memory impairment (cognitively normal \[CN\] participants). Approximately 850 participants with cognitive impairment (650 with early onset Alzheimer's Disease \[EOAD\] and 200 with early onset non-Alzheimer's Disease \[EOnonAD\]) and 100 CN participants will be enrolled at approximately 20 sites in the United States. At approximately 5 sites outside of the United States, approximately 400 cognitively impaired participants and 10 CN participants will be enrolled. Cognitively impaired participants will take part in the study for 48+ months; CN participants will take part in the study for 24+ months. Participants will undergo longitudinal clinical and cognitive assessments, computerized cognitive tests, biomarker and genetic tests, PET (FDG, amyloid and tau) and MRI brain scans, and optional cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) collection. Participants will be invited to consider autopsy brain donation The primary objectives of the LEADS study are to: * collect longitudinal assessments and biomarker data in individuals with early onset cognitive impairment (EOAD / EOnonAD) and cognitively normal (CN) controls; * to compare baseline and longitudinal cognitive and functional characteristics, between EOAD and CN, and EOAD and Late Onset Alzheimer's Disease (LOAD) from the Alzheimer's Disease Neuroimaging Initiative (ADNI); and * to study the associations of longitudinal clinical and cognitive assessments with multimodal imaging and biofluid markers that capture different elements of the AD pathophysiological cascade
How this trial compares with your answers
Answer 2 more questions to improve match
What we know so far
Still need:
- • Tell us your age for better matching
- • Tell us your sex for better matching
Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.
Eligibility at a Glance
Key info
- Age: 40 Years - 64 Years
- Who can join: All genders
Biomarkers mentioned
Treatment history
Treatments you must have had:
- ✓ approval from the PET Core
What the study is looking for
- ✓Inclusion Criteria for Cognitively Impaired (EOAD and EOnonAD) Cohorts Only:
- ✓Meets NIA-AA criteria for MCI due to AD or probable AD dementia
- ✓Have a global CDR score ≤ 1.0
- ✓Have capacity to provide agreement to take part (IC) or has a legal authorized representative or guardian who provides IC
- ✓Age between 40-64 years (inclusive) at the time of consent
See the full criteria
Where Is This Study? (1 UK site)
University College London
London WC1N 3BG, United Kingdom
Rajinder Sidhu - Associate Director, Research Governance and Operations
uclh.jro-communications@nhs.net020 3447 9825