At a glance
- What the study gets you
- Access to the study treatment being tested
- Type of study
- Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
- Time in hospital
- In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
- Drug or intervention
- Vincristine (drug), Carboplatin (drug), Etoposide (drug), Vindesine (drug)
- How long the study runs
- Study runs about 156 months (dates as stated)
- About the drug or intervention
- Vincristine — drug: 1.5 mg/m2 (max dose 2 mg) · Carboplatin — drug: 750 mg/m2 · Etoposide — drug: 175 mg/m2 · Vindesine — drug: 3 mg/m2/day (max dose 6 mg) · Dacarbazine — drug: 200 mg/m2/day · Ifosfamide — drug: 1500 mg/m2/day · Doxorubicin — drug: 30 mg/m2/dose · Busulfan — drug: \< 9kg: 1.0 mg/kg/dose 9 kg to \< 16 kg : 1.2 mg/kg/dose 16 kg to 23 kg : 1.1 mg/kg/dose \>23 kg to 34 kg: 0.95 mg/kg/dose \>34 kg: 0.8 mg/kg/dose Infusion IV over 2 hours Administration every 6 hours for a total of 16 doses · Melphalan — drug: 140 mg/m2/dose IV short infusion (15'), at least 24 h after the last busulfan dose · Thiotepa — drug: 300 mg/m2/day over 2 hours · Radiotherapy — radiation: 21.6 Gy 21.6 Gy + boost de 14.4 Gy · Dinutuximab Beta — drug: Patients \>12 kg are dosed based on the BSA: 10 mg/m\^2/day Patients ≤ 12 kg are dosed according to their body weight: 0.33 mg/kg/day · Cisplatin — drug: 80 mg/m2/24h · Temozolomide 100 MG — drug: 100 mg/m²/Day · Irinotecan — drug: 50 mg/m²/jour de J0 à J4 · Cyclophosphamid — drug: Cyclophosphamide has been demonstrated to have a cytostatic effect in many tumour types.
- Patient visit burden
- Not specified by the sponsor
In plain English
This European study looks at treatment for high-risk neuroblastoma, a cancer that mainly affects children. It tests different combinations of chemotherapy, immunotherapy, high-dose chemotherapy with stem cell rescue, surgery and radiotherapy at different stages of treatment. Children join the study at diagnosis and may be placed by chance (randomised) into different treatment groups as they go through it.
Who can take part
- Children and young people with high-risk neuroblastoma, defined by age and stage of disease, such as stage M neuroblastoma diagnosed after 1 year of age, or disease with MYCN amplification at any age
- Joining at diagnosis before chemotherapy, or within 21 days after one course of certain chemotherapy in some situations
- Agreement (consent) from the patient or parents/legal representative, with age-appropriate assent from the child
- For later stages: good enough response to earlier treatment, acceptable organ function, and enough collected stem cells for the high-dose chemotherapy stage
- Willing and able to attend study visits and follow the study procedures
- Patients covered by a social security scheme where required locally
- For those who can have children: a negative pregnancy test before treatment and agreed use of contraception during and for one year after the study; breastfeeding must stop
Who may not be able to
- Pregnant or breastfeeding women
- Taking part in another clinical trial of an investigational medicinal product while on study treatment
- Chronic inflammatory bowel disease and/or bowel obstruction
- Known allergy to any of the study drugs or their ingredients
- Taking medicines (including herbal ones such as St John's Wort) that could interact with study treatments in the doctor's opinion
- Patients under guardianship or unable to give consent
- Liver or kidney function below required levels for randomised stages
- Serious heart, hearing, nerve or breathing problems for the first randomisation stage
- Recent live vaccines including yellow fever vaccine
- Allergy to peanut or soya
- Uncontrolled illness or infection that would make taking part unsafe in the doctor's opinion
What taking part involves
- • Standard induction chemotherapy (Rapid COJEC or GPOH depending on country), partly decided by randomisation
- • Surgery to remove the main tumour
- • High-dose chemotherapy with stem cell rescue, either a single or tandem (two-part) approach, decided by randomisation
- • Radiotherapy to the tumour bed, with a randomisation option for some patients
- • Chemoimmunotherapy (chemotherapy combined with immunotherapy) for patients whose metastatic disease did not respond enough to induction chemotherapy
Time commitment: Regular hospital visits and procedures (scans, blood tests, chemotherapy, surgery, stem cell rescue, radiotherapy) over the full treatment pathway; exact duration not stated — ask the trial team.
Plain-English summary (AI-generated) from registry data. Not eligibility advice — only the trial team can confirm whether you can take part. Use the eligibility checker to see how your health profile matches this trial.
- Type of study
- Testing a treatment
- Ages
- Up to 21 Years
- Who
- All
- Number of participants
- 800
- Started
- 2019-11-05
- Last checked
- 2025-06
Plain English Summary
What is this study?
- • Testing a new treatment for high-risk neuroblastoma
- • Phase3 - 800 participants
- • This is an international multicenter, open-label, randomized phase III trial including three sequential randomizations to assess efficacy of induction and consolidation chemotherapies and radiotherapy for patients with high-risk neuroblastoma
Who can take part?
- • Ages Up to 21 Years
- • Diagnosed with high-risk neuroblastoma
Where?
- • Aberdeen - Royal Aberdeen Children's Hospital
- • Belfast - Royal Belfast Hospital for Sick Children
- • Birmingham - Birmingham children's Hospital
- • Birmingham - University Hospitals Birmingham Queen Elisabeth Hospital(UHB)
- • +14 more UK sites
This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.
About This Trial
This is an international multicenter, open-label, randomized phase III trial including three sequential randomizations to assess efficacy of induction and consolidation chemotherapies and radiotherapy for patients with high-risk neuroblastoma.
More detail
This is an international multicenter, open-label, randomized phase III trial including three sequential randomizations to assess efficacy of induction and consolidation chemotherapies and radiotherapy for patients with high-risk neuroblastoma. The first randomization (R-I) will compare the efficacy of two induction chemotherapies (RAPID COJEC and GPOH regimens) in a phase III setting. The primary endpoint will be the 3-year EFS from date of randomization . The R-I randomization will be stratified on age, stage, MYCN status and countries. The second randomization (R-HDC) will compare the efficacy of single HDC with Bu-Mel versus tandem HDC with Thiotepa followed by Bu-Mel. The primary endpoint is 3-year EFS calculated from the date of the R-HDC randomization. The R-HDC randomization will be stratified on the age, stage, MYCN status, induction chemotherapy regimen, response to induction phase and countries. The impact of local treatment in this phase III setting will be assessed, according to the presence or not of a macroscopic residual disease after surgery and HDC. In case of macroscopic residual disease, 21.6 Gy radiotherapy to the preoperative tumor bed will be randomized (R-RTx) versus the same treatment plus a sequential boost of additional 14.4 Gy to the residual tumor. The primary endpoint of R-RTx is 3-year EFS from the date of the R-RTx randomization. The R-RTx randomization will be stratified on age, stage, MYCN status, induction chemotherapy regimen, HDC regimen and countries. In case of no macroscopic residual disease, 21.6 Gy radiotherapy will be delivered to the preoperative tumor bed.
How this trial compares with your answers
Answer 2 more questions to improve match
What we know so far
Still need:
- • Tell us your age for better matching
- • Tell us your sex for better matching
Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.
Eligibility at a Glance
Key info
- Age: Up to 21 Years
- Who can join: All genders
Biomarkers mentioned
Treatment history
Treatments you must have had:
- ✓ a negative serum or urine pregnancy test within 7 days
What the study is looking for
- ✓Enrollment in HR-NBL2 will be performed:
- ✓at diagnosis before the beginning of drug treatment or
- ✓HR-NBL2 eligibility criteria:
- ✓Established diagnosis of neuroblastoma according to the SIOPEN- modified International Neuroblastoma Risk Group...
- ✓Stage M neuroblastoma above 365 days of age at diagnosis (no upper age limit) and Ms neuroblastoma 12-18 months old,...
See the full criteria
Where Is This Study? (18 UK sites)
Royal Aberdeen Children's Hospital
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Royal Belfast Hospital for Sick Children
Belfast, United Kingdom
Birmingham children's Hospital
Birmingham B46NH, United Kingdom
University Hospitals Birmingham Queen Elisabeth Hospital(UHB)
Birmingham B46NH, United Kingdom
University Hospitals Bristol and Weston NHS Foundation Trust
Bristol BS1 3NU, United Kingdom
Addenbrookes Hospital, Cambridge
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Noah's Ark Children's Hospital for Wales - Cardiff
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Royal Hospital for Sick Children - Edinburgh
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Royal Hospital for Children Glasgow
Glasgow G34, United Kingdom
Leeds General Infirmary
Leeds, United Kingdom
Alder Hey Children's Hospital - Liverpool
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Great Ormond Street Hospital - London
London, United Kingdom
Royal Manchester Children's Hospital
Manchester, United Kingdom
Royal Victoria Infirmary, Newcastle
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Nottingham Children's Hospital
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Sheffield Children's Hospital
Sheffield S102TH, United Kingdom
Southampton General Hospital
Southampton, United Kingdom
Royal Marsden Hospital
Sutton SM2 5PT, United Kingdom
How to Get in Touch
Claudia Pasqualini, MD PhD
Sponsor contactCONTACT
Habiba Attalah, PhD
Sponsor contactCONTACT
