At a glance
- What the study gets you
- Access to the study treatment being tested
- Type of study
- Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
- Time in hospital
- In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
- Drug or intervention
- Clemizole HCl (drug), Placebo (drug)
- How long the study runs
- Study runs about 104 months (dates as stated)
- About the drug or intervention
- Clemizole HCl — drug: Clemizole HCl will be administered as an oral solution. · Placebo — drug: Placebo will be administered as an oral solution.
- Patient visit burden
- Not specified by the sponsor
- Type of study
- Testing a treatment
- Ages
- 2 Years and over
- Who
- All
- Number of participants
- 150
- Started
- 2020-09-15
- Last checked
- 2026-09
Plain English Summary
What is this study?
- • Testing a new treatment for dravet syndrome
- • Phase3 - 150 participants
- • This is a multicenter, Phase 3, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study designed to evaluate the efficacy and safety of clemizole hydrochloride (EPX-100) as adjunctive therapy in children and adult participants with Dravet syndrome (DS)
Who can take part?
- • Ages 2 Years and over
- • Diagnosed with dravet syndrome
Where?
- • Cardiff - Cardiff and Vale University Health Board
- • London - Great Ormond Street Hospital For Children
- • Sheffield - Sheffield Children's Hospital
This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.
About This Trial
This is a multicenter, Phase 3, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study designed to evaluate the efficacy and safety of clemizole hydrochloride (EPX-100) as adjunctive therapy in children and adult participants with Dravet syndrome (DS).
More detail
This is a global, multicenter, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study to evaluate the safety and efficacy of clemizole hydrochloride as adjunctive therapy in children and adult participants with DS. The study consists of a 4-week Observational Period, a 16-week Double-Blind (DB) Period and an Open-Label Extension (OLE) Period.
How this trial compares with your answers
Answer 2 more questions to improve match
What we know so far
Still need:
- • Tell us your age for better matching
- • Tell us your sex for better matching
Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.
Eligibility at a Glance
Key info
- Age: 2 Years and over
- Who can join: All genders
Treatment history
Treatments you must have had:
- ✓ seizures which are not completely controlled by AEDs with the following criteria:
What the study is looking for
- ✓Male and female participants 2 years and older at time of consent.
- ✓Participant or parent/legally authorized representative (LAR) willing and able to provide written agreement to take part...
- ✓Clinical diagnosis of DS. Participants must have seizures which are not completely controlled by AEDs with the...
- ✓Onset of seizures prior to 18 months of age,
- ✓Normal development at onset,
Who cannot take part
- ✗Known sensitivity, allergy, or previous exposure to clemizole HCl.
- ✗Exposure to any investigational drug or device \<90 days prior to screening or plans to participate in another drug...
- ✗Concurrent use of lorcaserin. Note: Prior use of lorcaserin is permitted if at least 30 days have passed since the...
- ✗Concurrent use of fenfluramine.
- ✗Epilepsy surgery planned during the study or epilepsy surgery within 6 months prior to Screening.
See the full criteria
Where Is This Study? (3 UK sites)
Cardiff and Vale University Health Board
Cardiff CF14 4XW, United Kingdom
Great Ormond Street Hospital For Children
London WC1N 1EH, United Kingdom
Main Email: Research.Governance@gosh.nhs.uk
Research.Governance@gosh.nhs.uk0207 905 2700Sheffield Children's Hospital
Sheffield S102TH, United Kingdom
How to Get in Touch
Krystle Rapchak
Sponsor contactCONTACT
Eric Bauer
Sponsor contactCONTACT
