Skip to main content
UK clinical trials - updated daily from ClinicalTrials.gov
TrialConnect
← Back to Search
Looking for participantsPhase1

A Platform Study of Novel Agents in Combination With Radiotherapy in NSCLC

Sponsor: University of Leeds

NCT ID: NCT04550104

View on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

At a glance

What the study gets you
Access to the study treatment being tested
Type of study
Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
Time in hospital
In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
Drug or intervention
Radiotherapy (radiation), Olaparib Oral Tablet [Lynparza] (drug), AZD1390 (drug), Ceralasertib (drug)
How long the study runs
Study runs about 84 months (dates as stated)
About the drug or intervention
Radiotherapy — radiation: Administered as 30 fractions of 2Gy. · Olaparib Oral Tablet [Lynparza] — drug: Oral tablet · AZD1390 — drug: Oral tablet · Ceralasertib — drug: Oral Tablet · AZD5305 — drug: Oral Tablet · Durvalumab — drug: 1500mg iv infusion
Patient visit burden
Not specified by the sponsor

In plain English

This study looks at new medicines given alongside radiotherapy for people with non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) that is stage IIB or III and cannot be treated with surgery or chemoradiotherapy (chemotherapy given at the same time as radiotherapy). It is run by the University of Leeds.

Who can take part

  • Adults aged 18 or over
  • Diagnosed with non-small cell lung cancer at stage IIB or III
  • Not suitable for surgery or chemoradiotherapy with chemotherapy at the same time
  • Planned to have radiotherapy at doses aimed to cure (about 60Gy), with or without chemotherapy first
  • If chemotherapy was given, it must finish less than 10 weeks before radiotherapy starts
  • Expected to live more than 6 months
  • Able to carry out daily activities with little or no help (performance status score of 70 or more on the Karnofsky scale)
  • Breathlessness score below 3 on the MRC scale
  • Lung tests show breathing strength and gas exchange at 35% or more of predicted levels
  • Willing and able to give consent and follow the study plan, including using contraception during and after treatment (4 months for women, 6 months for men)
  • Body weight over 30kg
  • Healthy enough organs, as set out in the study's main document
  • For the second phase (after radiotherapy): at least 4 and no more than 8 weeks since radiotherapy finished, side effects mostly settled, and no allergy to durvalumab's ingredients

Who may not be able to

  • Cancer that is a mix of non-small cell and small cell types
  • Cancer that got worse during chemotherapy given first
  • Taken part in another study drug or device trial in the last 4 weeks
  • Another cancer that could affect life expectancy
  • Past inflammation or scarring of the lungs (interstitial pneumonitis)
  • Previous radiotherapy to the chest
  • Previous treatment with drugs that can harm the lungs (such as busulfan or bleomycin) in the past year, or ever if it caused lung problems
  • A heart tracing (ECG) showing a longer than normal QT interval (over 470 msec)
  • Previous organ or tissue transplant
  • Cannot swallow tablets, or a long-term gut problem that affects how medicines are absorbed
  • Numbness or tingling in hands or feet that is moderate or worse
  • HIV, or active hepatitis B or C infection
  • Pregnant or breastfeeding
  • Ongoing side effects from earlier cancer treatment (moderate or worse), except hair loss
  • Myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS) or acute myeloid leukaemia (AML), or signs suggesting it
  • Major surgery within 2 weeks of joining (4 weeks for the second phase)
  • Serious uncontrolled health problems, such as uncontrolled high blood pressure, irregular heartbeat, recent heart attack, seizure, active COVID-19, or an infection that is not controlled
  • Autoimmune or inflammatory conditions, such as Crohn's disease, ulcerative colitis, lupus, sarcoidosis, rheumatoid arthritis, Graves' disease, or granulomatosis with polyangiitis
  • For the second phase: cancer got worse during or after radiotherapy, previous treatment with anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 medicines, or use of medicines that weaken the immune system within 14 days of starting durvalumab

What taking part involves

  • • Radiotherapy given at doses aimed to cure (about 60Gy), either with or without chemotherapy beforehand
  • • A second phase of treatment starting 4 to 8 weeks after radiotherapy finishes, which includes durvalumab (a type of immunotherapy) and possibly a DDRi (a drug targeting cancer cell damage repair), depending on the study arm
  • • A CT scan after radiotherapy to check the cancer has not got worse before starting the second phase
  • • Regular checks and tests, including blood tests, lung tests, and heart tracings (ECGs)

Time commitment: Not stated — ask the trial team about how many visits are needed and how long the study lasts.

Plain-English summary (AI-generated) from registry data. Not eligibility advice — only the trial team can confirm whether you can take part. Use the eligibility checker to see how your health profile matches this trial.

Type of study
Testing a treatment
Ages
18 Years and over
Who
All
Number of participants
200
Started
2021-03-17
Last checked
2025-03

Plain English Summary

What is this study?

  • • Testing a new treatment for non small cell lung cancer
  • • Phase1 - 200 participants
  • • CONCORDE is a multi-institution, multi-arm, Phase IB study that will determine the recommended phase II dose (RP2D) and safety profiles of different DNA damage repair inhibitors (DDRis) when given in an open label fashion in combination with fixed dose curative intent radiotherapy (RT) in patients with stage IIB/IIIA/IIIB NSCLC, followed by up to 12 months of consolidation durvalumab immunotherapy in selected study arms

Who can take part?

  • • Ages 18 Years and over
  • • Diagnosed with non small cell lung cancer

Where?

  • • Belfast - Belfast City Hospital
  • • Birmingham - Birmingham Heartlands Hospital
  • • Cambridge - Addenbrooke's Hospital
  • • Cardiff - Velindre Cancer Centre
  • • +10 more UK sites

This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.

About This Trial

CONCORDE is a multi-institution, multi-arm, Phase IB study that will determine the recommended phase II dose (RP2D) and safety profiles of different DNA damage repair inhibitors (DDRis) when given in an open label fashion in combination with fixed dose curative intent radiotherapy (RT) in patients with stage IIB/IIIA/IIIB NSCLC, followed by up to 12 months of consolidation durvalumab immunotherapy in selected study arms. The RP2D will be evaluated by incorporating the number of observed dose limiting toxicities (DLTs) into a time to event continuous reassessment method (TiTE- CRM) model within each of the experimental arms. TiTE-CRM is used here to take into account longer-term toxicities up to 13.5 months post start of radiotherapy and use these to inform dose escalation decision making.

More detail

Radiotherapy is an effective treatment for patients with non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) that has not spread beyond the chest area. Radiotherapy is used as a curative treatment but unfortunately for most patients the cancer can return. Radiotherapy kills cells by damaging their DNA. Cells have the ability to repair that damage, especially the cells of normal tissue. If DNA repair can be prevented radiotherapy should be more effective causing the cancer cells to die. The study will use new drugs that affect how cells repair DNA damage, called DNA damage response inhibitors (DDRi). These will be given together with radiotherapy to hopefully improve the effectiveness of radiotherapy, followed by up to 12 months of durvalumab immunotherapy in selected study arms to develop the trial in line with the standard of care for NSCLC. The study will try to find out the most effective and safe dose of this combination treatment. This will be a clinical trial where patients due to have radiotherapy, with the hope of successful treatment that could lead to cure from their cancer or extension of life, will be offered entry onto the study. All patients will receive their radiotherapy, with 3 out of every 4 people also receiving a single DDRi drug alongside this. Both patients and study doctors will know prior to the start of the actual treatment whether a DDRi will be given, and if so which one; no placebos will be used. The patients will be followed closely to check for side effects and to assess how their cancer is responding to treatment. Blood samples will be taken to monitor treatment progress and to try to predict which patients are most likely to benefit from this type of combined treatment.

Non Small Cell Lung Cancer

How this trial compares with your answers

Answer 2 more questions to improve match

What we know so far

Condition· Matched your search
Age· Tell us your age for better matching
Gender· Tell us your sex for better matching

Still need:

  • • Tell us your age for better matching
  • • Tell us your sex for better matching

Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.

Eligibility at a Glance

Key info

  • Age: 18 Years and over
  • Who can join: All genders

Biomarkers mentioned

Known positivemetPD-L1

Treatment history

Treatments you must have had:

  • ✓ pneumotoxic drugs
  • ✓ to reconsent using the appropriate study arm PIS/ICF

What the study is looking for

  • ✓Core Inclusion Criteria (Radiation Phase)
  • ✓Not suitable for concurrent chemoradiotherapy/surgery due to tumour or patient factors
  • ✓Stage IIB and III (TNM 8th Edition).
  • ✓Planned to receive RT at curative intent doses (i.e., 60Gy) as part of treatment plan (either with or without...
  • ✓Patient considered suitable for radical RT by the local lung cancer multidisciplinary team and a clinical oncologist.
See the full criteria
Core Inclusion Criteria (Radiation Phase) 1. Histologically or cytologically confirmed NSCLC (patients where the local MDT agree the diagnosis is NSCLC after review of the available pathology and imaging at MDT can be enrolled after discussion with the CI). 2. Not suitable for concurrent chemoradiotherapy/surgery due to tumour or patient factors 3. Stage IIB and III (TNM 8th Edition). 4. Planned to receive RT at curative intent doses (i.e., 60Gy) as part of treatment plan (either with or without induction chemotherapy). 5. Patient considered suitable for radical RT by the local lung cancer multidisciplinary team and a clinical oncologist. 6. If chemotherapy has been given previously, the maximum interval between the last day of chemotherapy and the start of RT \<10 weeks. 7. Age ≥18 8. Life expectancy estimated to be greater than 6 months. 9. Karnofsky Performance status ≥70. 10. MRC dyspnoea score \<3. 11. Forced expiratory volume in one second (FEV1) ≥35% predicted and diffusing capacity of the lungs for carbon monoxide (DLCO or TLCO) ≥35% predicted. 12. Patient must be fully informed about the study and have signed the informed consent form. 13. Patient must be willing and able to comply with the protocol, have mental capacity and (if relevant) use effective contraception throughout treatment and for 4 months for women of childbearing potential, and 6 months for men after treatment completion. Treatment is defined as including the last dose of durvalumab or DDRi in the consolidation phase. 14. Adequate organ function as defined in master protocol. 15. Patient has a body weight of \>30kg. Core Exclusion Criteria (Radiation Phase) 1. Mixed non-small cell and small cell tumours. 2. Confirmed progressive disease during induction chemotherapy. 3. Participation in a study of an investigational agent or using an investigational device within 4 weeks prior to the anticipated start of treatment. 4. Current or previous malignant disease which may impact on a patient's estimated life expectancy (other than NSCLC). 5. History of interstitial pneumonitis. 6. Prior thoracic radiotherapy. 7. Prior treatment with pneumotoxic drugs, e.g. busulfan, bleomycin, within the past year. If prior therapy in lifetime, then exclude if history of pulmonary toxicities from administration. Patients who have received treatment with nitrosoureas (e.g., carmustine, lomustine) in the year before study entry without experiencing lung toxicity are allowed on study. 8. Mean resting corrected QT interval (QTcF) \>470 msec obtained from 3 electrocardiograms. 9. Received a prior autologous or allogeneic organ or tissue transplantation. 10. Patients unable to swallow orally administered medications or chronic gastrointestinal (GI) disease likely to interfere with absorption of IMP in the opinion of the treating investigator (e.g. malabsorption syndrome, resection of the small bowel, poorly controlled inflammatory bowel disease etc.). 11. Grade 2 or higher peripheral sensory neuropathy. 12. Known positive test for human immunodeficiency virus, active hepatitis B or C infection. 13. Positive pregnancy test (at eligibility assessment for women of childbearing potential) or breast-feeding women. 14. Patients with persistent toxicities (\>CTCAE grade 2) caused by previous cancer therapy, excluding alopecia. 15. Patients with myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS)/acute myeloid leukaemia (AML) or with features suggestive of MDS/AML. 16. Major surgery within 2 weeks of confirmation of eligibility. 17. Patients considered a poor medical risk by the investigator due to a serious, uncontrolled medical disorder, non-malignant system disease or active uncontrolled infection. Examples include, but are not limited to, uncontrolled ventricular arrhythmia, uncontrolled hypertension, uncontrolled atrial fibrillation, active bleeding, recent (within 3 months) myocardial infarction, major seizure, active COVID-19, any psychiatric disorder that prohibits obtaining informed consent. 18. Active or prior documented autoimmune or inflammatory disorders (including inflammatory bowel disease (e.g., ulcerative colitis or Crohn's disease), systemic lupus erythematosus, Sarcoidosis syndrome, or Wegener syndrome (granulomatosis with polyangiitis, Graves' disease, rheumatoid arthritis, hypophysitis, uveitis, etc. 19. Exclusions as described in the relevant study arm protocol. Patients ineligible for a particular study arm may be considered for entry into an alternative study arm if an appropriate slot is available and they meet all the inclusion and exclusion criteria for that arm. This will need to be discussed with CTRU and the patient will be required to reconsent using the appropriate study arm PIS/ICF. Core Inclusion Criteria (Consolidation Phase) 1. A minimum of 4 and a maximum of 8 weeks\* have elapsed following completion of RT 2. Any toxicities from RT have resolved to grade 1. If patient has pneumonitis following RT treatment, this must be asymptomatic (grade 1). If pneumonitis is ≥2 or requiring steroids, then participant is not eligible 3. Karnofsky Performance status ≥70 4. The laboratory requirements set out in Table 1 of the master protocol are met 5. Patient has no known hypersensitivity to the excipients of durvalumab 6. Patient has body weight of \>30kg \*Investigators should ideally aim to start consolidation treatment within 6 weeks, following the receipt of the CT scan results to rule out progression. Core Exclusion Criteria (Consolidation Phase) 1. Progressive disease during RT or at the end of RT treatment response assessment. 2. Participant declines treatment in the consolidation phase. 3. Patients who have received prior anti-PD-1 or anti PD-L1 treatment. 4. Major surgery within 4 weeks of confirmation of eligibility for consolidation phase. 5. Current or prior use of immunosuppressive medication within 14 days before the first dose of durvalumab. 6. Patients considered a poor medical risk by the investigator due to a serious, uncontrolled medical disorder, non-malignant system disease, active GI infection or active uncontrolled infection. 7. Active or prior documented autoimmune or inflammatory disorders (including inflammatory bowel disease e.g., colitis or Crohn's disease), systemic lupus erythematosus, Sarcoidosis syndrome, or Wegener syndrome granulomatosis with polyangiitis, Graves' disease, rheumatoid arthritis, hypophysitis, uveitis, etc).

Where Is This Study? (14 UK sites)

Belfast City Hospital

Belfast, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Gerard WallsPrincipal Investigator

Birmingham Heartlands Hospital

Birmingham, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Shobhit BaijalPrincipal Investigator

Addenbrooke's Hospital

Cambridge, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Huiqi YangPrincipal Investigator

Velindre Cancer Centre

Cardiff, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Paul ShawPrincipal Investigator

The Royal Marsden Hospital Chelsea

Chelsea, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Merina AhmedPrincipal Investigator

Western General Hospital

Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Stephen HarrowPrincipal Investigator

St James's University Hospital

Leeds, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Kevin FranksPrincipal Investigator

The Clatterbridge Cancer Centre

Liverpool, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Niladri GhosalPrincipal Investigator

St Bartholomew's Hospitals

London, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
John ConibearPrincipal Investigator

University College Hospital London

London, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Crispin HileyPrincipal Investigator

The Christie NHS Foundation Trust

Manchester, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Corinne Faivre-FinnPrincipal Investigator

Freeman Hospital, Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Trust

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Adam HassaniPrincipal Investigator
Alastair Greystokectru_leeds@leeds.ac.uk

Weston Park Hospital

Sheffield, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Matthew HattonPrincipal Investigator

The Royal Marsden Sutton

Sutton, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Merina AhmedPrincipal Investigator

How to Get in Touch

Jamie B Oughton, MPhil

Sponsor contact

CONTACT

0113 343 1494 CTRU_CONCORDE@Leeds.ac.uk
Data sourced from ClinicalTrials.gov · Last verified: 2025-03