At a glance
- What the study gets you
- Access to the study treatment being tested
- Type of study
- Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
- Time in hospital
- In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
- Drug or intervention
- iTind (device), UroLift (procedure)
- How long the study runs
- Study runs about 92 months (dates as stated)
- About the drug or intervention
- iTind — device: The iTind is implemented for 5-7 days · UroLift — procedure: UroLift is a minimally invasive procedure where permanent implants are placed in the prostate.
- Patient visit burden
- Not specified by the sponsor
- Type of study
- Testing a treatment
- Ages
- 50 Years and over
- Who
- Male
- Number of participants
- 256
- Started
- 2022-09-26
- Last checked
- 2026-09
Plain English Summary
What is this study?
- • Testing a new treatment for benign prostatic hyperplasia (bph)
- • NA - 256 participants
- • The study objective is to evaluate the efficacy and safety of the iTind device compared to UroLift
Who can take part?
- • Ages 50 Years and over
- • Diagnosed with benign prostatic hyperplasia (bph)
- • Male only
Where?
- • Isleworth - Chelsea and Westminster Hospital
- • Dunfermline - Queen Margaret Hospital
- • London - Frimley Park Hospital
- • Norwich - Norfolk & Norwich University Hospital
This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.
About This Trial
The study objective is to evaluate the efficacy and safety of the iTind device compared to UroLift.
More detail
Both iTind and UroLift are minimally invasive treatment options for relieving lower urinary tract symptoms (LUTS) secondary to benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH). The iTind device is a temporary, self-expanding nitinol implant that remains in place for 5 to 7 days to reshape the prostatic urethra through localized ischemic pressure and tissue remodeling. In contrast, the UroLift system involves the permanent placement of transprostatic implants that retract the enlarged lateral lobes of the prostate to widen the urethral lumen. This study is designed to directly compare the safety and effectiveness of the iTind device versus the UroLift system in treating LUTS due to BPH.
How this trial compares with your answers
Answer 2 more questions to improve match
What we know so far
Still need:
- • Tell us your age for better matching
- • Tell us your sex for better matching
Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.
Eligibility at a Glance
Key info
- Age: 50 Years and over
- Who can join: Male only
Biomarkers mentioned
What the study is looking for
- ✓Diagnosis of lower urinary tract symptoms presumed to be secondary to benign prostatic enlargement causing bladder...
- ✓Willing and able to provide agreement to take part
- ✓Males ≥ 50 years of age or older
- ✓PSA \< 4 ng/ml or if the PSA is 4 - 10 ng/ml, prostate cancer must be ruled out to the satisfaction of the Principal...
- ✓Prostate volume up to 75 cc (inclusive) documented by cross-sectional imaging (TRUS, MRI, etc.). Results from...
Who cannot take part
- ✗History of prostate cancer or suspected, should be ruled out to the satisfaction of the PI by local the usual treatment...
- ✗Confirmed bladder cancer within the last 2 years or currently suspected bladder cancer
- ✗History of acute bacterial prostatitis within the last 2 years
- ✗Median lobe obstruction of the prostate as confirmed by cross-sectional imaging
- ✗PSA value \> 10 ng/ml
See the full criteria
Where Is This Study? (4 UK sites)
Chelsea and Westminster Hospital
Isleworth TW7 6AF, United Kingdom
Queen Margaret Hospital
Dunfermline KY12 0SU, United Kingdom
Frimley Park Hospital
London GU16 7UJ, United Kingdom
Norfolk & Norwich University Hospital
Norwich NR4 7UY, United Kingdom
How to Get in Touch
Melanie Bonds, MS
Sponsor contactCONTACT
