Skip to main content
UK clinical trials - updated daily from ClinicalTrials.gov
TrialConnect
← Back to Search
Looking for participantsPhase3

A Study of Vedolizumab in Children and Teenagers With Moderate to Severe Crohn's Disease (CD)

Sponsor: Takeda

NCT ID: NCT04779320

View on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

At a glance

What the study gets you
Access to the study treatment being tested
Type of study
Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
Time in hospital
In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
Drug or intervention
Vedolizumab IV (drug)
How long the study runs
Study runs about 67 months (dates as stated)
About the drug or intervention
Vedolizumab IV — drug: Vedolizumab IV
Patient visit burden
Not specified by the sponsor

In plain English

This study looks at vedolizumab in children and teenagers with moderate to severe Crohn's disease (a condition where the gut becomes inflamed) that has not responded to or has not been tolerated with their current standard care. It is funded by Takeda. The aim is to see how the medicine works in young people whose symptoms are not controlled by existing treatments.

Who can take part

  • The child has moderate to severe Crohn's disease that has not responded to, or has caused problems with, their current standard treatment
  • The child weighs at least 10 kilograms when joining the study
  • Crohn's disease was diagnosed at least 1 month before screening
  • Disease activity scores show the condition is moderate to severe (measured with a symptoms score called PCDAI and a camera test score called SES-CD)
  • Standard treatments have not worked well enough, including steroids, immunosuppressant medicines (such as azathioprine, 6-mercaptopurine or methotrexate), or anti-TNF medicines (such as infliximab or adalimumab). This also includes children who depend on steroids or special liquid diets (exclusive enteral nutrition) to control symptoms
  • Children with long-term, widespread bowel inflammation must have had a check-up colonoscopy (camera test) with normal results within the 12 months before screening
  • Childhood vaccinations must be up to date with the national schedule

Who may not be able to

  • Recent use of certain research medicines or approved biologic medicines, within set time limits before the study
  • A history of certain serious brain or nerve conditions, including progressive multifocal leukoencephalopathy (a rare brain infection), stroke, multiple sclerosis or brain tumour
  • A serious infection (such as pneumonia or COVID-19) within 30 days before the first dose of the study medicine
  • Live vaccines within 30 days before the first dose
  • Needing surgery for Crohn's disease now or during the study
  • Having had most or all of the large bowel removed, having a stoma bag (ileostomy, colostomy or jejunostomy), an ileo-anal pouch, a narrowed section of intestine, short bowel syndrome, or more than 3 small bowel operations
  • A current diagnosis of indeterminate colitis (where doctors cannot tell if it is Crohn's disease or ulcerative colitis)
  • Signs that the bowel condition may be caused by a rare genetic problem in very young children
  • Active or hidden tuberculosis (TB), shown by a positive TB test within 30 days of screening
  • Positive hepatitis B tests, unless there is proof the virus is not present in the blood
  • Ongoing (chronic) hepatitis C infection, unless the virus has cleared or been cured
  • A weakened immune system, for example from HIV infection, an immune deficiency from birth, or an organ transplant
  • Abnormal cell changes (dysplasia) in the bowel or any history of cancer, apart from some fully treated skin cancers or a treated early cervical cancer
  • Positive stool tests for parasites, certain gut infections, or Clostridioides difficile (a bowel infection) at screening

What taking part involves

  • • Taking the study medicine vedolizumab (how it is given is not stated — ask the trial team)
  • • Screening checks including an endoscopy (a camera test to look inside the bowel), blood tests and stool tests, as described in the eligibility information
  • • Other parts of the treatment plan are not stated — ask the trial team

Time commitment: Not stated — ask the trial team about how long the study lasts, how many visits are needed, and what taking part involves.

Plain-English summary (AI-generated) from registry data. Not eligibility advice — only the trial team can confirm whether you can take part. Use the eligibility checker to see how your health profile matches this trial.

Type of study
Testing a treatment
Ages
2 Years to 17 Years
Who
All
Number of participants
120
Started
2022-02-10
Last checked
2026-04

Plain English Summary

What is this study?

  • • Testing a new treatment for crohn's disease (cd)
  • • Phase3 - 120 participants
  • • Vedolizumab is a medicine that helps to reduce inflammation and pain in the digestive system

Who can take part?

  • • Ages 2 Years to 17 Years
  • • Diagnosed with crohn's disease (cd)

Where?

  • • London - Kings College Hospital
  • • London - Great Ormond Street Hospital (GOSH)
  • • Cardiff - Noahs Ark Childrens Hospital for Wales - PPDS - PIN
  • • Birmingham - Birmingham Children's Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
  • • +2 more UK sites

This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.

About This Trial

Vedolizumab is a medicine that helps to reduce inflammation and pain in the digestive system. In this study, children and teenagers with moderate to severe Crohn's disease will be treated with vedolizumab. The main aim of the study is to check if participants achieve remission after treatment with the vedolizumab. Remission means symptoms improve or disappear and an endoscopy shows no signs of inflammation. Participants will receive 3 infusions of vedolizumab over 6 weeks. Then, those who have a clinical response will receive either a high dose or low dose of vedolizumab once every 8 weeks. They will receive the same dose every time.

More detail

The drug being tested in this study is called vedolizumab. Vedolizumab is being tested to treat pediatric participants who have moderately to severely active CD. The drug is tested and approved in adults in approximately 70 countries. Participants to be enrolled must have failed response to, lost response to, or been intolerant to at least 1 of the current standard of care (SOC) induction and maintenance therapies for CD including exclusive and/or partial enteral nutrition therapy, immunomodulators (e.g., azathioprine \[AZA\], 6-mercaptopurine \[6-MP\], methotrexate \[MTX\]), and tumor necrosis factor-alpha (TNF-α) antagonists. The study will enroll approximately 120 patients. During the Induction Period participants will receive 3 doses of vedolizumab IV infusion at Day 1, Week 2, and Week 6 based on their weight at Baseline as: * Participants 10 to 15 kg, Vedolizumab 150 mg * Participants \>15 to \<30 kg, Vedolizumab 200 mg * Participants ≥30 kg, Vedolizumab 300 mg At Week 14, participants who achieve clinical response will be randomly assigned (by chance, like flipping a coin) in a 1:1 ratio to one of the 2 double-blind dose groups (high dose and low dose), stratified by previous exposure/failure to TNF-α antagonists therapy or naive to TNF-α antagonists therapy, and by weight groups. Participants will receive vedolizumab IV infusions every 8 weeks (Q8W) up to Week 46 during the Maintenance Period as follows: * Participants ≥30 kg, Vedolizumab 300 mg (High dose) or 150 mg (Low dose) * Participants \>15 to \<30 kg, Vedolizumab 200 mg (High dose) 100 mg (Low dose) * Participants 10 to 15 kg, Vedolizumab 150 mg (High dose) or 100 mg (Low dose) The dose will remain blinded to the participant and study doctor during the study (unless there is an urgent medical need). All participants will be administered vedolizumab via IV infusion. In participants who demonstrate lack of maintenance of clinical response during the Maintenance Period the dose will be escalated in a blinded fashion to the high dose in their weight group based on the weight at the time of the worsening of disease. In addition one-time rescue therapy with corticosteroids is allowed during Maintenance Period. This multi-center trial will be conducted worldwide. After the Week 54, participants may be eligible to continue receiving vedolizumab in extension study MLN0002-3029. Participants who do not maintain corticosteroid-free clinical response at week 54 will undergo an end-of-study (EOS) or ET visit, and a safety visit 18 weeks after the last dose of vedolizumab followed by 2 years of long term follow-up (up to 104 weeks), in addition these participants will then be eligible to enter study MLN0002-3029 for an observational LTFU period of 2 years after the last dose of study drug.

Crohn's Disease (CD)

How this trial compares with your answers

Answer 2 more questions to improve match

What we know so far

Condition· Matched your search
Age· Tell us your age for better matching
Gender· Tell us your sex for better matching

Still need:

  • • Tell us your age for better matching
  • • Tell us your sex for better matching

Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.

Eligibility at a Glance

Key info

  • Age: 2 Years - 17 Years
  • Who can join: All genders

Biomarkers mentioned

of a negativethat is positiveevidence of positivetests negativebut positivewith positive

Treatment history

Treatments you must have had:

  • ✓ documented evidence of a negative surveillance colonoscopy within 12 months

What the study is looking for

  • ✓The participants has moderately to severely active CD, unresponsive or intolerant to their current the usual treatment...
  • ✓The participants weigh ≥10 kg at the time of screening and enrollment into the study.
  • ✓Participants with vaccinations that are up-to-date based on the countrywide accepted schedule of childhood vaccines.

Who cannot take part

  • ✗The participants had a clinically significant infection (eg, pneumonia, pyelonephritis, coronavirus disease 2019...
  • ✗The participants has received any live vaccinations within 30 days prior to first dose.
  • ✗Participants who currently require surgical intervention or are anticipated to require surgical intervention for CD...
  • ✗Participants with a current diagnosis of indeterminate colitis.
  • ✗Participants with clinical features suggesting monogenic very early-onset inflammatory bowel disease.
See the full criteria
Main Inclusion Criteria: 1. The participants has moderately to severely active CD, unresponsive or intolerant to their current standard of care (SOC). 2. The participants weigh ≥10 kg at the time of screening and enrollment into the study. 3. Participants with Crohn's disease (CD) diagnosed at least 1 month before screening. Participants with moderately to severely active CD defined by a Pediatric Crohn's Disease Activity Index (PCDAI) \>30 and an simple endoscopic score for Crohn's Disease (SES-CD) \>6 (or an SES-CD ≥4 if disease is confined to terminal ileum) at screening endoscopy. 4. Participants who have failed, lost response to, or been intolerant to treatment with at least 1 of the following agents: corticosteroids, immunomodulators (eg, azathioprine (AZA), 6-mercaptopurine (6-MP), methotrexate \[MTX\]), and/or tumor necrosis factor (TNF)-α antagonist therapy (eg, infliximab, adalimumab). This includes participants who are dependent on corticosteroids or exclusive or partial enteral nutrition to control symptoms and who are experiencing worsening of disease in the moderate-to-severe range when attempting to wean off corticosteroids or discontinue exclusive enteral nutrition. 5. Participants with extensive colitis or pancolitis of \>8 years' duration or left-sided colitis of \>12 years' duration must have documented evidence of a negative surveillance colonoscopy within 12 months before screening. 6. Participants with vaccinations that are up-to-date based on the countrywide accepted schedule of childhood vaccines. Main Exclusion Criteria: 1. Participants who have received either (1) an investigational biologic (other than those listed in Exclusion Criterion #1) within 60 days or 5 half-lives before screening (whichever is longer); or (2) an approved biologic or biosimilar agent within 2 weeks before the first dose of study drug or at any time during the screening period. 2. Participants with active cerebral/meningeal disease, signs/symptoms or history of progressive multifocal leukoencephalopathy (PML) or any other major neurological disorders including stroke, multiple sclerosis, brain tumor or neurodegenerative disease. 3. The participants had a clinically significant infection (eg, pneumonia, pyelonephritis, coronavirus disease 2019 \[COVID-19\]) within 30 days prior to first dose of study drug. 4. The participants has received any live vaccinations within 30 days prior to first dose. 5. Participants who currently require surgical intervention or are anticipated to require surgical intervention for CD during this study. 6. Participants who have had subtotal or total colectomy or have a jejunostomy, ileostomy, colostomy, ileo-anal pouch, known fixed stenosis of the intestine, short bowel syndrome, or \>3 small intestine resections. 7. Participants with a current diagnosis of indeterminate colitis. 8. Participants with clinical features suggesting monogenic very early-onset inflammatory bowel disease. 9. Active or latent tuberculosis (TB), as evidenced by a diagnostic TB test performed within 30 days of screening or during the screening Period that is positive, defined as: * Positive QuantiFERON test or 2 successive indeterminate QuantiFERON tests, OR * A TB skin test reaction ≥5 mm. 10. Participants with evidence of positive hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAg) or hepatitis B core antibody (HBcAb). Hepatitis B virus (HBV) immune participants(i.e., hepatitis B surface antigen \[HBsAg\]-negative and hepatitis B antibody-positive) may, however, be included. Note: If a participant tests negative for HBsAg, but positive for HBcAb, the participant would be considered eligible if the absence of HBV DNA is confirmed by HBV DNA polymerase chain reaction reflex testing performed in the central laboratory. 11. Participants with chronic hepatitis C virus (HCV) (ie, positive HCV antibody \[HCVAb\] and HCV RNA). Note: Participants who are HCVAb-positive without evidence of HCV RNA may be considered eligible (spontaneous viral clearance or previously treated and cured \[defined as no evidence of HCV RNA at least 12 weeks before baseline\]). 12. The participants has any identified congenital or acquired immunodeficiency (eg, common variable immunodeficiency, human immunodeficiency virus \[HIV\] infection, organ transplantation). 13. The participant has evidence of dysplasia or history of malignancy other than a successfully treated non-metastatic cutaneous squamous cell or basal cell carcinoma or localized carcinoma in situ of the cervix. 14. Participants with positive stool studies for ova and/or parasites or stool culture at screening visit. 15. Participants with positive Clostridioides difficile (C difficile) stool test at screening visit. Other inclusion/exclusion criteria may apply.

Where Is This Study? (6 UK sites)

Kings College Hospital

London SE5 9RS, United Kingdom

NOT_YET_RECRUITING
Site contact (verified)
Babu VadamalayanPrincipal Investigator

Great Ormond Street Hospital (GOSH)

London WC1N 3AJ, United Kingdom

NOT_YET_RECRUITING
Site contact (verified)
Kelsey JonesPrincipal Investigator

Noahs Ark Childrens Hospital for Wales - PPDS - PIN

Cardiff CF14 4XW, United Kingdom

NOT_YET_RECRUITING
Site contact (verified)
Amar WahidPrincipal Investigator

Birmingham Children's Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Birmingham B4 6NH, United Kingdom

NOT_YET_RECRUITING
Site contact (verified)
Rafeeq MuhammedPrincipal Investigator

Barts Health NHS Trust

London E1 1BB, United Kingdom

NOT_YET_RECRUITING
Site contact (verified)
Marco GasparettoPrincipal Investigator

Royal Manchester Children's Hospital - PPDS

Manchester M27 4HA, United Kingdom

NOT_YET_RECRUITING
Site contact (verified)
Andrew (Sunday) FagbemiPrincipal Investigator

How to Get in Touch

Takeda Contact

Sponsor contact

CONTACT

+1-877-825-3327 medinfoUS@takeda.com
Data sourced from ClinicalTrials.gov · Last verified: 2026-04