At a glance
- What the study gets you
- Access to the study treatment being tested
- Type of study
- Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
- Time in hospital
- In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
- Drug or intervention
- Apremilast (drug), Placebo (drug)
- How long the study runs
- Study runs about 81 months (dates as stated)
- About the drug or intervention
- Apremilast — drug: Participants will receive apremilast orally. · Placebo — drug: Participants will receive the matching placebo orally.
- Patient visit burden
- Not specified by the sponsor
- Type of study
- Testing a treatment
- Ages
- 5 Years to 17 Years
- Who
- All
- Number of participants
- 60
- Started
- 2022-03-17
- Last checked
- 2026-09
Plain English Summary
What is this study?
- • Testing a new treatment for active juvenile psoriatic arthritis
- • Phase3 - 60 participants
- • The study will aim to estimate the efficacy of apremilast compared with placebo in the treatment of juvenile psoriatic arthritis (JPsA) in pediatric participants 5 to less than 18 years of age
Who can take part?
- • Ages 5 Years to 17 Years
- • Diagnosed with active juvenile psoriatic arthritis
Where?
- • Birmingham - Birmingham Childrens Hospital
- • Liverpool - Alder Hey Childrens Hospital
- • Nottingham - Nottingham Childrens Hospital
- • Oxford - John Radcliffe Hospital
This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.
About This Trial
The study will aim to estimate the efficacy of apremilast compared with placebo in the treatment of juvenile psoriatic arthritis (JPsA) in pediatric participants 5 to less than 18 years of age.
How this trial compares with your answers
Answer 2 more questions to improve match
What we know so far
Still need:
- • Tell us your age for better matching
- • Tell us your sex for better matching
Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.
Eligibility at a Glance
Key info
- Age: 5 Years - 17 Years
- Who can join: All genders
Biomarkers mentioned
What the study is looking for
- ✓Male or Female participants 5 to \< 18 years of age at the time of randomization.
- ✓Arthritis and psoriasis, OR
- ✓Arthritis with at least 2 of the following:
- ✓Dactylitis
- ✓Nail pitting or onycholysis
Who cannot take part
- ✗Exclusions per ILAR Edmonton Revision (Edmonton, 2001) criteria for JPsA include:
- ✗Arthritis in an HLA-B27-positive male with arthritis onset after 6 years of age
- ✗Ankylosing spondylitis, sacroiliitis with inflammatory bowel disease, Reiter's syndrome, acute anterior uveitis, or...
- ✗History of IgM rheumatoid factor on at least 2 occasions at least 3 months apart
- ✗Presence of systemic juvenile idiopathic arthritis (JIA).
See the full criteria
Where Is This Study? (4 UK sites)
Birmingham Childrens Hospital
Birmingham B4 6NH, United Kingdom
Alder Hey Childrens Hospital
Liverpool L12 2AP, United Kingdom
Nottingham Childrens Hospital
Nottingham NG7 2UH, United Kingdom
John Radcliffe Hospital
Oxford OX3 7LD, United Kingdom
How to Get in Touch
Amgen Call Center
Sponsor contactCONTACT
