At a glance
- What the study gets you
- Access to the study treatment being tested
- Type of study
- Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
- Time in hospital
- In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
- Drug or intervention
- Capivasertib (drug), Fulvestrant (drug), Palbociclib (drug), Ribociclib (drug)
- How long the study runs
- Study runs about 99 months (dates as stated)
- About the drug or intervention
- Capivasertib — drug: Phase Ib: Capivasertib 320 mg/ 400 mg administered PO BD 4 days on /3 days off per week for 4 weeks (28 days cycle) Phase III: : Capivasertib, administered PO BD 4 days on / 3 days off per week for 4 weeks (28 days cycle) at the dose confirmed in the phase Ib portion · Fulvestrant — drug: Phase Ib and Phase III: 500 mg (2 injections of 250 mg) on Day 1 of Weeks 1 and 3 of Cycle 1, and then on Day 1, Week 1 of each cycle thereafter · Palbociclib — drug: Phase Ib: 100 mg/ 125 mg. · Ribociclib — drug: Phase Ib: 200 mg/ 400 mg/ 600 mg. · Abemaciclib — drug: Phase Ib: 50 mg/ 100 mg/ 150 mg.
- Patient visit burden
- Not specified by the sponsor
In plain English
This study is testing whether adding a new drug called capivasertib to standard treatments (fulvestrant plus a CDK4/6 inhibitor such as palbociclib or ribociclib) helps people with advanced or metastatic breast cancer that is hormone receptor positive (HR+) and HER2 negative. It is run by AstraZeneca. Whether the treatment works better than the standard combination alone is being studied.
Who can take part
- Adults, both women (before or after menopause) and men
- Breast cancer confirmed by laboratory testing as hormone receptor positive and HER2 negative, using the most recent tumour sample
- Able to have fulvestrant treatment plus at least one of palbociclib, ribociclib or abemaciclib, and previously tolerated these drugs and dose levels (phase III: palbociclib or ribociclib)
- Good working order of organs and bone marrow
- Agreement to give a tumour sample (fixed tissue block)
- For the phase III part only: previous hormone therapy (such as tamoxifen, aromatase inhibitors, or oral SERDs — a type of hormone drug), with scans showing the cancer grew or came back during or within 12 months of finishing it
- For the phase III part only: blood samples given at screening for a study gene test (looking at PIK3CA, AKT1 and PTEN)
- For the phase III part only: cancer that can be measured on scans, or bone lesions that can be assessed by CT (a type of scan) or MRI
Who may not be able to
- Another cancer in the past, unless treated with the aim of cure, no active disease for at least 2 years, and low risk of coming back
- Radiotherapy within 2 weeks before starting study treatment
- Major surgery or serious injury within 4 weeks before starting study treatment
- Ongoing side effects from previous cancer treatment (more than mild), except hair loss; some lasting effects like hearing loss may be allowed after discussion with the AstraZeneca study doctor
- Cancer pressing on the spinal cord, or cancer spread to the brain or the linings around the brain, unless fully treated and stable off steroid medicines for at least 4 weeks
- Certain heart problems, including a long QT interval (a heart rhythm measure seen on an ECG), abnormal heart rhythms, heart failure, heart attack or heart procedures in the last 6 months, uncontrolled blood pressure, or a weak heart pump
- Uncontrolled or serious irregular heartbeat or atrial fibrillation (an irregular heart rhythm)
- Diabetes needing insulin, or HbA1c (a blood sugar measure) of 8.0% (63.9 mmol/mol) or higher
- Previous bone marrow or solid organ transplant from a donor
- For the phase III part only: previous treatment with AKT, PI3K or mTOR inhibitor drugs (which work on the same pathway as capivasertib)
- For the phase III part only: previous CDK4/6 inhibitor treatment for metastatic cancer (allowed after surgery-stage disease if treatment-free for at least 12 months)
- For the phase III part only: more than 1 round of chemotherapy for metastatic cancer
- For the phase III part only: any hormone-based therapy for advanced or metastatic cancer
What taking part involves
- • Taking capivasertib, a new drug being studied, alongside fulvestrant (a hormone therapy injection) and a CDK4/6 inhibitor tablet (palbociclib, ribociclib, or in the phase Ib part, abemaciclib)
- • Giving a tumour tissue sample (phase III also requires blood samples for gene testing at the start)
- • Regular scans such as CT or MRI to check whether the cancer is changing (phase III)
Time commitment: Not stated — ask the trial team about how many visits are needed, how long the study lasts, and exactly what taking part involves.
Plain-English summary (AI-generated) from registry data. Not eligibility advice — only the trial team can confirm whether you can take part. Use the eligibility checker to see how your health profile matches this trial.
- Type of study
- Testing a treatment
- Ages
- 18 Years to 99 Years
- Who
- All
- Number of participants
- 893
- Started
- 2021-05-10
- Last checked
- 2026-08
Plain English Summary
What is this study?
- • Testing a new treatment for locally advanced (inoperable) or metastatic breast cancer
- • Phase3 - 893 participants
- • A Phase Ib/III Open-label, Randomised Study of Capivasertib plus CDK4/6 Inhibitors and Fulvestrant versus CDK4/6 Inhibitors and Fulvestrant in Hormone Receptor-Positive and Human Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor 2-Negative Locally Advanced, Unresectable or Metastatic Breast Cancer (CAPItello-292)
Who can take part?
- • Ages 18 Years to 99 Years
- • Diagnosed with locally advanced (inoperable) or metastatic breast cancer
Where?
- • Guildford - Research Site
- • London - Research Site
- • Londonderry - Research Site
- • Taunton - Research Site
- • +1 more UK sites
This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.
About This Trial
A Phase Ib/III Open-label, Randomised Study of Capivasertib plus CDK4/6 Inhibitors and Fulvestrant versus CDK4/6 Inhibitors and Fulvestrant in Hormone Receptor-Positive and Human Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor 2-Negative Locally Advanced, Unresectable or Metastatic Breast Cancer (CAPItello-292)
More detail
This Phase Ib/III study (CAPItello-292) aims to evaluate the efficacy, safety and the degree of added benefit of capivasertib combined with CDK4/6i and fulvestrant in participants with locally advanced (inoperable) or metastatic HR+/HER2- breast cancer. Although the dosing regimens of capivasertib + fulvestrant and of CDK4/6i + fulvestrant are established separately, the dose and schedule for the triplet combinations (capivasertib + CDK4/6i + fulvestrant) need to be confirmed. Therefore, the initial dose finding Phase Ib part of the study will determine the recommended Phase III doses (RP3D) of the triplet combinations. The Phase III part of the study will evaluate the efficacy, safety and the degree of added benefit of the triplet combinations of capivasertib and fulvestrant with investigator's choice of CDK4/6i (either palbociclib or ribociclib at safe and tolerable doses, once identified) in comparison with a control arm (fulvestrant + investigator's choice of CDK4/6i \[palbociclib or ribociclib\]) in a ER+ HER2- maC high risk population that did not receive prior endocrine therapy in the advanced setting.
How this trial compares with your answers
Answer 2 more questions to improve match
What we know so far
Still need:
- • Tell us your age for better matching
- • Tell us your sex for better matching
Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.
Eligibility at a Glance
Key info
- Age: 18 Years - 99 Years
- Who can join: All genders
Biomarkers mentioned
Treatment history
Treatments you must have had:
- ✓ an ET (tamoxifen
- ✓ with
- ✓ CDK4/6 inhibit
What the study is looking for
- ✓Key inclusion criteria for both phases:
- ✓Adult females (pre-/peri-/ and post-menopausal), and adult males.
- ✓Adequate organ and bone marrow functions.
- ✓Consent to provide a mandatory FFPE tumour sample.
- ✓Key inclusion criteria only for phase III:
See the full criteria
Where Is This Study? (5 UK sites)
Research Site
Guildford CU2 7XX, United Kingdom
Research Site
London SE1 9RT, United Kingdom
Research Site
Londonderry BT47 6SB, United Kingdom
Research Site
Taunton TA1 5DA, United Kingdom
Research Site
York YO21 8HE, United Kingdom
