At a glance
- What the study gets you
- Access to the study treatment being tested
- Type of study
- Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
- Time in hospital
- In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
- Drug or intervention
- Duroplasty (procedure), Spinal surgery (procedure)
- How long the study runs
- Study runs about 80 months (dates as stated)
- About the drug or intervention
- Duroplasty — procedure: Expansion Duroplasty · Spinal surgery — procedure: Spinal surgery including laminectomy
- Patient visit burden
- Not specified by the sponsor
In plain English
This study looks at people aged 16 and over who have a severe injury to the spinal cord in the neck (cervical spine) after an accident. The injury causes uncontrolled swelling, and the study is looking at an operation called duroplasty.
Who can take part
- Aged 16 or over
- A severe traumatic spinal cord injury in the neck (levels C2 to T1), rated AIS grade A to C
- A surgeon has decided you need an operation that includes a laminectomy (removing part of the bone at the back of the spine)
- Surgery can happen within 72 hours (3 days) of the injury
- You can give informed consent yourself, or someone can consent on your behalf
Who may not be able to
- A tear in the outer lining of the spinal cord caused by the injury
- Other health conditions that limit life or make rehabilitation (recovery therapy) difficult
- An injury to the spinal cord in the chest or lower back instead of the neck
- Another disease of the brain or spinal cord
What taking part involves
- • Not stated — ask the trial team
Time commitment: Not stated — ask the trial team about hospital visits, how long the study lasts, and what taking part involves.
Plain-English summary (AI-generated) from registry data. Not eligibility advice — only the trial team can confirm whether you can take part. Use the eligibility checker to see how your health profile matches this trial.
- Type of study
- Testing a treatment
- Ages
- 16 Years and over
- Who
- All
- Number of participants
- 222
- Started
- 2021-10-08
- Last checked
- 2026-07
Plain English Summary
What is this study?
- • Testing a new treatment for spinal cord injuries
- • NA - 222 participants
- • QUESTION
Who can take part?
- • Ages 16 Years and over
- • Diagnosed with spinal cord injuries
Where?
- • Aylesbury - National Spinal Injuries Centre
- • Birmingham - Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham
- • Cambridge - Addenbrooke's Hospital
- • Edinburgh - Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh
- • +14 more UK sites
This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.
About This Trial
QUESTION. Does duroplasty improve outcome after spinal cord injury? WHAT DO WE STUDY? We will investigate whether performing a surgical procedure called duroplasty improves outcomes after spinal cord injury. WHY SPINAL CORD INJURY? Spinal cord injury is a devastating condition that causes permanent disability such as paralysis, numbness and loss of bladder and bowel control. Currently, there are no treatments shown to improve outcome after spinal cord injury. WHAT IS DUROPLASTY? Duroplasty is an operation that involves opening the tough membrane around the cord, called the dura, and stitching a patch of artificial dura to expand the space around the swollen cord. WHY IS DUROPLASTY BEING STUDIED? Based on our preliminary evidence, we think that the dura causes cord pressure after injury. We have shown in a small study of patients that performing this operation safely and effectively reduces pressure on the injured cord. WHO IS ELIGIBLE? Adult patients with severe spinal cord injuries in the neck who will have surgery within 72 hours. WHAT TREATMENT? Those who agree to take part will be allocated by chance (like tossing a coin) to standard treatment or standard treatment plus duroplasty. Some patients will also be asked to take part in a smaller study that involves placing probes at the injury site. WHERE? Initially, we will recruit patients from U.K. Major Trauma Centres. Most assessments will be done in U.K. Spinal Injury Centres. Later on, we we also started recruiting from overseas. HOW LONG? We aim to recruit 222 - 260 patients over 4 years. Patients will be followed up for a year. WHAT DO WE ASSESS? Patients will be assessed (using questionnaires and by examination) how well they can use their hands, walk, control their bladder and bowel and their quality of life. Some of these assessments will be repeated at 3, 6 and 12 months after surgery. WHAT IS THE OPTIONAL MECHANISTIC STUDY? DISCUS includes an optional study for at least 50 patients who will take part in the randomised controlled trial. The aim of the mechanistic study is to determine how duroplasty improves outcome, i.e. whether duroplasty reduces cord compression, improves blood flow to the injured cord perfusion, improves cord metabolism and reduces cord inflammation. WHAT IS THE OPTIONAL INFORMATION STUDY? For the first two years, a study called QuinteT Recruitment Intervention (QRI) is designed to optimise patient recruitment and informed consent in the trauma setting.
More detail
RESEARCH QUESTION: After severe traumatic spinal cord injury (TSCI), does the addition of dural decompression to bony decompression (includes laminectomy) improve muscle strength in the limbs at 6 months, compared with bony decompression alone? BACKGROUND: TSCI is a devastating condition that affects about 1,000 people in the UK annually. Most remain disabled, tetraplegic or wheelchair bound and are dependent on carers with significant cost to patients, carers and the NHS. Surgery aims to reduce spinal deformity, stabilise the spine and achieve bony decompression of the cord. To date, no treatments have been shown to improve outcome. AIMS / OBJECTIVES: The primary aim is to determine if, in patients with acute, severe TSCI, the addition of dural decompression to bony decompression improves muscle strength. We hypothesise that, after TSCI, the cord swells and is compressed against the dura. Secondary objectives are to assess patient impact i.e. functional outcomes, health related quality of life (HRQoL), complication rates and mortality. Mechanistic sub-studies aim to determine if the addition of duroplasty improves cord perfusion, reduces cord ischaemia and cord inflammation. METHODS: This is a prospective, phase III, multicentre randomised controlled trial (RCT). We aim to recruit 222 adults with acute, severe cervical TSCI (American spinal injuries association Impairment Scale (AIS) grade A, B or C) who will be randomised 1:1 to undergo bony decompression alone versus bony decompression with duroplasty. Patients and assessors will be blinded to study arm. The primary outcome is change in AIS motor score (AMS) at 6 months compared with admission (Delta-AMS); secondary outcomes will assess function (grasp, walking, urinary + anal sphincters), HRQoL, complications, need for further surgery and mortality, assessed at baseline, 3 months, 6 months and 12 months from randomisation. A subgroup of 50 patients (25 per arm) will also have observational monitoring from the injury site using a pressure probe (intraspinal pressure ISP, spinal cord perfusion pressure SCPP) and microdialysis (MD) catheter (cord metabolism: tissue glucose, lactate, pyruvate, lactate-to-pyruvate ratio (LPR), glutamate, glycerol); cord inflammation: tissue chemokines/cytokines. Initially, patients were only recruited from UK major trauma centres (MTCs). DISCUS is now also recruiting patients from International sites. TIMELINES FOR DELIVERY: The initial study duration was 72 months and includes 6 months set-up, 48 months recruitment, 12 months to complete follow-up and 6 months for data analysis and final reporting of results. There will be a formal stop/go review at month 15 (after 9 months of recruitment) to ensure a minimum of 4 sites have been opened and 8 patients randomised. If these targets are met, the trial will recruit for a further 36 months. Data from the pilot will be included in the final analysis. Recruitment has been extended to end on 30 June 2027. ANTICIPATED IMPACT AND DISSEMINATION: It is anticipated that the addition of duroplasty to standard of care will improve muscle strength in patients; this has obvious benefits for patients and their carers as well as substantial gains for the NHS and society including economic implications. If this RCT shows that the addition of duroplasty to standard treatment is beneficial, it is anticipated that duroplasty will become standard NHS care in all 26 UK MTCs, and internationally. Participants will be informed of study findings via the Surgical Intervention Trials Unit (SITU) website and the Spinal Injuries Association (SIA).
How this trial compares with your answers
Answer 2 more questions to improve match
What we know so far
Still need:
- • Tell us your age for better matching
- • Tell us your sex for better matching
Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.
Eligibility at a Glance
Key info
- Age: 16 Years and over
- Who can join: All genders
Treatment history
Treatments you must have had:
- ✓ and be suitable for surgery that includes laminectomy by local surgeon
What the study is looking for
- ✓Age ≥16 years
- ✓Severe cervical (C2 - T1) traumatic spinal cord injury (AIS grade A-C)
- ✓Deemed to require and be suitable for surgery that includes laminectomy by local surgeon
- ✓Surgery within 72 hours of traumatic spinal cord injury
- ✓Able to provide agreement to take part or consultee declaration or proxy consent.
Who cannot take part
- ✗Dural tear due to traumatic spinal cord injury
- ✗Life-limiting or rehabilitation-restricting co-morbidities
- ✗Thoracic or lumbar traumatic spinal cord injury
- ✗Other central nervous system disease
See the full criteria
Where Is This Study? (18 UK sites)
National Spinal Injuries Centre
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Addenbrooke's Hospital
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Queen Elizabeth University Hospital
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Hull Royal Infirmary
Hull, United Kingdom
Leeds General Infirmary
Leeds, United Kingdom
The Walton Centre
Liverpool, United Kingdom
St George's Hospital
London, United Kingdom
St Mary's Hospital
London, United Kingdom
The London Spinal Cord Injury Centre
London, United Kingdom
The Royal London Hospital
London, United Kingdom
Queen's Medical Centre
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Midlands Centre for Spinal Injuries,
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Salford Royal
Salford, United Kingdom
Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Sheffield, United Kingdom
North West Regional Spinal Injuries Centre
Southport, United Kingdom
Pinderfields Hospital
Wakefield, United Kingdom
How to Get in Touch
Sophie Reynolds
Sponsor contactCONTACT
Ghazal Ebrat
Sponsor contactCONTACT
