At a glance
- What the study gets you
- Health checks and monitoring — no treatment given
- Type of study
- Observational (no treatment given)
- Time in hospital
- In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
- Drug or intervention
- MRI (other)
- How long the study runs
- Study runs about 145 months (dates as stated)
- About the drug or intervention
- MRI — other: MRI is not part of Pathway for patient with type two diabetes.
- Patient visit burden
- Not specified by the sponsor
- Type of study
- Observing health over time
- Ages
- 18 Years and over
- Who
- All
- Number of participants
- 1,000
- Started
- 2022-05-30
- Last checked
- 2025-11
Plain English Summary
What is this study?
- • Testing a new treatment for type2 diabetes
- • Clinical study - 1,000 participants
- • Prospective, observational cohort study to cross-sectionally assess the health of multiple organs, using multiparametric abdominal magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scan, and understand if resulting MRI metrics can predict future clinical events over a period of 5 years, in adult patients with type 2 diabetes lacking history of cardiovascular disease
Who can take part?
- • Ages 18 Years and over
- • Diagnosed with type2 diabetes
Where?
- • Didcot - Woodlands Medical Centre
- • Eynsham - Eynsham Medical Centre
- • Farringdon - White Horse Medical Practice
- • Witney - Windrush Medical Practice
- • +8 more UK sites
This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.
About This Trial
Prospective, observational cohort study to cross-sectionally assess the health of multiple organs, using multiparametric abdominal magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scan, and understand if resulting MRI metrics can predict future clinical events over a period of 5 years, in adult patients with type 2 diabetes lacking history of cardiovascular disease.
More detail
This will be a multi-site study adopting a prospective, observational cohort study design. There will be no intervention to the standard of care. Study participants will be enrolled in this study for a total of 5 years, with only 1 month of active participation. Participants will be required to attend a screening visit and 2 study visits. The screening visit will involve a medical review and receiving informed consent based on the participant information leaflet already communicated to the patient, pre-screening. The first study visit- baseline (visit 1) - will involve anthropometric measurements and taking a blood and urine sample in order to perform standard of care measurements for type 2 diabetes at baseline and relevant circulating biomarkers. The second study visit will involve having a multi-organ, multiparametric MRI scan. Both visits will be within 28 days of the screening visit and carried out at local study sites. MRI metrics of organ health, clinical outcome measurements, blood samples and urine samples will be collected to assess the natural history of diabetes disease progression. Participants will be asked to give consent for access to their medical records held at NHS England and, if available, at their local GP surgery or hospital. Medical records access will include Hospital admissions (Hospital Episode Statistics), and mortality data collected by the Office for National Statistics and provided by NHS England to meet the primary objective. This data will be collected at 1, 3 and 5 years after baseline assessment.
How this trial compares with your answers
Answer 2 more questions to improve match
What we know so far
Still need:
- • Tell us your age for better matching
- • Tell us your sex for better matching
Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.
Eligibility at a Glance
Key info
- Age: 18 Years and over
- Who can join: All genders
What the study is looking for
- ✓Male or female at least 18 years of age and diagnosed with type 2 diabetes, with or without diabetic retinopathy.
- ✓Participant willing and able to give agreement to take part for participation in the study.
Who cannot take part
- ✗In 12 months prior to consent, evidence of existing cardiovascular event defined as at least one of:
- ✗myocardial infarction
- ✗ischaemic stroke
- ✗hospital admission/discharge for unstable angina
- ✗heart surgery
See the full criteria
Where Is This Study? (12 UK sites)
Woodlands Medical Centre
Didcot OX11 0BB, United Kingdom
Eynsham Medical Centre
Eynsham OX29 4QB, United Kingdom
White Horse Medical Practice
Farringdon SN7 7YU, United Kingdom
Windrush Medical Practice
Witney OX26 6JS, United Kingdom
The House Partnership
Redhill RH1 1EB, United Kingdom
Swansea Bay University Health Board
Baglan SA12 7BR, United Kingdom
University Hospitals of Liverpool Group
Liverpool L9 7AL, United Kingdom
Moorfields Eye Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
London, United Kingdom
Research Portfolio Managers- Daniela Narvaez, Anika Kadchha, Abi Chandrakumar, Xin Liu
moorfields.resadmin@nhs.net0207 566 2036The Manor Group
Oxford OX3 9BP, United Kingdom
Hedena Health
Oxford OX3 9JA, United Kingdom
St Bartholomew and Hollow Way Medical Practice
Oxford OX4 1XB, United Kingdom
Oxford Community Diagnostic centre
Oxford OX42LL, United Kingdom
How to Get in Touch
Soubera Rymall, MSc
Sponsor contactCONTACT
