At a glance
- What the study gets you
- Health checks and monitoring — no treatment given
- Type of study
- Observational (no treatment given)
- Time in hospital
- In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
- Drug or intervention
- Spinal surgery (procedure), Histology (other)
- How long the study runs
- Study runs about 33 months (dates as stated)
- About the drug or intervention
- Spinal surgery — procedure: In participants who undergo elective lumbar spinal surgery and consented for research, the medial branch and dorsal rami will be harvested for histological analysis. · Histology — other: The harvested nerves will be fixed, cut into smaller sections.
- Patient visit burden
- Not specified by the sponsor
- Type of study
- Observing health over time
- Ages
- 18 Years and over
- Who
- All
- Number of participants
- 20
- Started
- 2022-03-08
- Last checked
- 2024-12
Plain English Summary
What is this study?
- • Testing a new treatment for lumbar facet arthrosis
- • Clinical study - 20 participants
- • The purpose of the study is to understand the composition of the nerves supplying the facet joints in low back
Who can take part?
- • Ages 18 Years and over
- • Diagnosed with lumbar facet arthrosis
Where?
- • Aberdeen - Woodend Hospital
This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.
About This Trial
The purpose of the study is to understand the composition of the nerves supplying the facet joints in low back.
More detail
After written informed consent, the nerves supplying the facet joints - lumbar dorsal rami and its medial branches, will be harvested when they are exposed during spinal surgery. These nerves will be fixed, washed and further dissected to enable smaller sections. The cut section will be stained and subjected to analysis of overall cross-sectional area and presence of connective tissue sheaths under light microscope.
How this trial compares with your answers
Answer 2 more questions to improve match
What we know so far
Still need:
- • Tell us your age for better matching
- • Tell us your sex for better matching
Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.
Eligibility at a Glance
Key info
- Age: 18 Years and over
- Who can join: All genders
What the study is looking for
- ✓Be aged 18 or over
- ✓be able to give agreement to take part
- ✓scheduled to undergo lumbar spinal surgery
Who cannot take part
- ✗Children under 18 years old
- ✗Vulnerable adults
- ✗Adults with incapacity
- ✗Inability to provide agreement to take part
- ✗History of previous spinal surgery
See the full criteria
Where Is This Study? (1 UK site)
Woodend Hospital
Aberdeen AB15 6XS, United Kingdom
How to Get in Touch
Saravanakumar Kanakarajan, MD FRCA
Sponsor contactCONTACT
