Skip to main content
UK clinical trials - updated daily from ClinicalTrials.gov
TrialConnect
← Back to Search
Looking for participantsN/A

Barts Revascularisation Registry

Sponsor: Queen Mary University of London

NCT ID: NCT05255705

View on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

At a glance

What the study gets you
Health checks and monitoring — no treatment given
Type of study
Observational (no treatment given)
Time in hospital
In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
Drug or intervention
Observation only (other)
How long the study runs
Study runs about 103 months (dates as stated)
About the drug or intervention
Observation only — other: Observation only
Patient visit burden
Not specified by the sponsor
Type of study
Observing health over time
Ages
16 Years and over
Who
All
Number of participants
20,000
Started
2021-08-06
Last checked
2026-10

Plain English Summary

What is this study?

  • • Testing a new treatment for myocardial infarction
  • • Clinical study - 20,000 participants
  • • Despite the year-on-year decrease, coronary artery disease (CAD) still remains one of the leading cause of mortality worldwide

Who can take part?

  • • Ages 16 Years and over
  • • Diagnosed with myocardial infarction

Where?

  • • London - Barts Health NHS Trust

This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.

About This Trial

Despite the year-on-year decrease, coronary artery disease (CAD) still remains one of the leading cause of mortality worldwide. With advances in technology and our understanding of cardiac disease, we can now treat CAD using minimally invasive interventional techniques. This has revolutionised treatment for and improved the lives of many patients with CAD. Although trials have assessed various therapeutic strategies in various populations, real-world evidence of intervention and medical treatment among patients with CAD is increasingly recognised as an important part of providing safety and efficacy data and improving the care we provide. This data will add to that literature by assessing the characteristics and outcomes of patients with CAD. It will also identify and characterise predictors of outcomes, improve risk stratification and diagnostic evaluation.

More detail

The collection of data to describe the nationwide practice of percutaneous coronary intervention (PCI) in the UK started with the inception of the British Cardiovascular Intervention Society (BCIS) in 1988. From 1988 to 1991 annual surveys of PCI activity were published in the British Heart Journal. Annual reports from 1992 onwards are available for download from the society's website (http://www.bcis.org.uk), and summaries of some of the key data have been published as reports for distribution to participating hospitals and networks. The initial data collection process was essentially a descriptive survey of activity. Over time the process has evolved becoming more sophisticated with electronic methods for data collection developed by the Central Cardiac Audit Database (CCAD) group. The methods were tested in 1996 as a pilot in selected hospitals, and full UK-wide participation in the electronic collection of PCI data was achieved by 2005. The proposed study includes one of the largest coronary interventional and surgical programmes in the UK at Europe's largest cardiac centre (BHC). This has allowed us to accumulate a large number of patients in just over 4 years. All patients undergoing PCI and CABG are included in this study using a clinical database. The database is password-protected and includes demographic, clinical and outcome data. The database includes patients with simple to complex CAD. We will use this database to test several hypothesis including but not limited to investigating characteristics of patients treated, complications of interventional treatment and outcomes of patients. This research will add substantially to the literature by providing real-world data from a leading coronary centre.

Myocardial InfarctionStable Angina

How this trial compares with your answers

Answer 2 more questions to improve match

What we know so far

Condition· Matched your search
Age· Tell us your age for better matching
Gender· Tell us your sex for better matching

Still need:

  • • Tell us your age for better matching
  • • Tell us your sex for better matching

Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.

Eligibility at a Glance

Key info

  • Age: 16 Years and over
  • Who can join: All genders

What the study is looking for

  • ✓agreement to take part will not be sought for, as patients are automatically included onto a database that we will use for...
  • ✓No children will be included in this study.
  • ✓Vulnerable adults or those unable to give consent will be included in the study as well if they are referred to the...
  • ✓Both male and female patients ≥16 years of age will be included
  • ✓All patients will have had an angiogram at BHC.

Who cannot take part

  • ✗Patients \<16 years will not be included in this study.
See the full criteria
Inclusion Criteria: * Informed consent will not be sought for, as patients are automatically included onto a database that we will use for research purposes. * No children will be included in this study. * Vulnerable adults or those unable to give consent will be included in the study as well if they are referred to the Interventional Cardiology team. * Both male and female patients ≥16 years of age will be included * All patients will have had an angiogram at BHC. * Any patient who has undergone revascularisation. Exclusion Criteria: • Patients \<16 years will not be included in this study.

Where Is This Study? (1 UK site)

Barts Health NHS Trust

London, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Hospital R&D contact (matched)

Dr Mays Jawad

research.governance@qmul.ac.uk020 7882 6826

How to Get in Touch

Dr. Krishnaraj Rathod

Sponsor contact

CONTACT

02073773000 krishnaraj.rathod1@nhs.net

Dr. Daniel Jones

Sponsor contact

CONTACT

02073777000 dan.jones8@nhs.net
Data sourced from ClinicalTrials.gov · Last verified: 2026-10