At a glance
- What the study gets you
- Access to the study treatment being tested
- Type of study
- Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
- Time in hospital
- In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
- Drug or intervention
- AtriCure EPi-Sense-AF Guided Coagulation System +/- Atriclip (device), Endocardial Catheter Ablation (device)
- How long the study runs
- Study runs about 64 months (dates as stated)
- About the drug or intervention
- AtriCure EPi-Sense-AF Guided Coagulation System +/- Atriclip — device: Minimally-invasive epicardial ablation +/- left atrial appendage exclusion using an epicardial clip, combined with endocardial radiofrequency catheter ablation · Endocardial Catheter Ablation — device: Standard percutaneous endocardial catheter ablation of atrial fibrillation
- Patient visit burden
- Not specified by the sponsor
- Type of study
- Testing a treatment
- Ages
- 18 Years and over
- Who
- All
- Number of participants
- 120
- Started
- 2022-06-25
- Last checked
- 2025-11
Plain English Summary
What is this study?
- • Testing a new treatment for persistent atrial fibrillation
- • NA - 120 participants
- • A randomised controlled trial to assess the efficacy of staged hybrid ablation when compared with standard catheter ablation in patients with non-paroxysmal atrial fibrillation (AF) and Heart Failure
Who can take part?
- • Ages 18 Years and over
- • Diagnosed with persistent atrial fibrillation
Where?
- • Chertsey - Ashford & St Peters Hospital NHS Trust
- • Epsom - Epsom General Hospital
- • London - Cromwell Hospital
- • London - Royal Surrey County Hospital
- • +3 more UK sites
This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.
About This Trial
A randomised controlled trial to assess the efficacy of staged hybrid ablation when compared with standard catheter ablation in patients with non-paroxysmal atrial fibrillation (AF) and Heart Failure
More detail
The objective of this randomized study is to evaluate the safety and efficacy of Convergent hybrid ablation when compared to standard catheter ablation in patients with non-paroxysmal AF and heart failure. Patients will be randomised in a 1:1 ratio. The primary efficacy endpoint will be freedom from persistent atrial arrhythmia (measured from the end of a 3-month blanking period up to 24 months (12 and 24 months).
How this trial compares with your answers
Answer 2 more questions to improve match
What we know so far
Still need:
- • Tell us your age for better matching
- • Tell us your sex for better matching
Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.
Eligibility at a Glance
Key info
- Age: 18 Years and over
- Who can join: All genders
What the study is looking for
- ✓Age ≥ 18 years
- ✓Persistent or Long-standing Persistent AF
- ✓Dilated left atrium (at least moderately dilated)
- ✓Suitable for either procedure
- ✓LVEF \< 50%
Who cannot take part
- ✗Not yet optimised from a medical or lifestyle perspective for AF or heart failure
- ✗Unable to provide written consent
- ✗Previous open-heart surgery
- ✗Active infection, oesophageal ulcer stricture or oesophageal varices
- ✗Prior catheter ablation of atrial fibrillation (prior ablation for atrial flutter / supraventricular tachycardia or...
See the full criteria
Where Is This Study? (7 UK sites)
Ashford & St Peters Hospital NHS Trust
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Epsom General Hospital
Epsom, United Kingdom
Cromwell Hospital
London, United Kingdom
Royal Surrey County Hospital
London, United Kingdom
St Anthonys Hospital
London, United Kingdom
St Georges at Kingston Hospital
London, United Kingdom
St Georges University of London
London, United Kingdom
How to Get in Touch
Riyaz A Kaba
Sponsor contactCONTACT
Omar Ahmed
Sponsor contactCONTACT
