At a glance
- What the study gets you
- Access to the study treatment being tested
- Type of study
- Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
- Time in hospital
- In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
- Drug or intervention
- Osivelotor (drug)
- How long the study runs
- Study runs about 123 months (dates as stated)
- About the drug or intervention
- Osivelotor — drug: Tablets which contain drug substance
- Patient visit burden
- Not specified by the sponsor
In plain English
This is a Phase 2/3 study looking at a medicine called osivelotor in adults and teenagers with sickle cell disease. It has different parts: Part A, Part B, and an open-label extension (OLE) for people who finish Part B. It is funded by Pfizer.
Who can take part
- Males or females with sickle cell disease of the types HbSS or HbSB-zero
- A haemoglobin level between 5.5 and 10.5 g/dL at screening, and considered stable by the study doctor
- If taking hydroxyurea and/or L-glutamine, the dose must have been stable for at least 90 days before joining, with no expected need to change it during the study
- For Part B: aged 12 or older at screening
- For Part B: between 2 and 10 vaso-occlusive crises (VOCs, painful sickle cell episodes) in the 12 months before screening
- For the open-label extension: people who have successfully completed Part B
Who may not be able to
- More than 10 VOCs (painful sickle cell episodes) in the 12 months before screening
- People who are pregnant or breastfeeding
- Regular red blood cell transfusions, or any red blood cell transfusion within 90 days of Day 1
- Being in hospital for a sickle cell crisis or other blockage episode within 14 days of joining, or any time during screening
- Living in Sub-Saharan Africa or having moved from there within the past 6 months
- For the open-label extension: any ongoing significant side effect, abnormal test result, or safety finding from Part B that the study doctor thinks makes the study drug riskier; meeting the rules for stopping treatment during Part B; having withdrawn consent; or being unable to follow the study procedures
What taking part involves
- • The study medicine is called osivelotor — Not stated — ask the trial team for full details of what treatment involves.
Time commitment: Not stated — ask the trial team about visits, duration, and what taking part involves.
Plain-English summary (AI-generated) from registry data. Not eligibility advice — only the trial team can confirm whether you can take part. Use the eligibility checker to see how your health profile matches this trial.
- Type of study
- Testing a treatment
- Ages
- 12 Years and over
- Who
- All
- Number of participants
- 389
- Started
- 2022-09-22
- Last checked
- 2026-08
Plain English Summary
What is this study?
- • Testing a new treatment for sickle cell disease
- • Phase2/Phase3 - 389 participants
- • The purpose of this study is to evaluate the safety, tolerability, efficacy, pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of osivelotor
Who can take part?
- • Ages 12 Years and over
- • Diagnosed with sickle cell disease
Where?
- • Bristol - University Hospitals Bristol and Weston NHS Foundation Trust
- • Bristol - Bristol Royal Infirmary
- • London - University College London Hospital
- • London - Guy's & St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust
- • +3 more UK sites
This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.
About This Trial
The purpose of this study is to evaluate the safety, tolerability, efficacy, pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of osivelotor.
More detail
This is a three-part, multicenter, Phase 2/3 study of orally administered osivelotor in participants with sickle cell disease (SCD). Part A will evaluate the safety, tolerability, and efficacy of osivelotor in adult participants with SCD to determine an optimal dose. (Complete) Part B will evaluate the efficacy of osivelotor versus placebo in adult and adolescent participants with SCD for 48 weeks. Open Label Extension (OLE) will evaluate the long-term safety and hematologic responses of open-label osivelotor in adult and adolescent participants having completed Part B.
How this trial compares with your answers
Answer 2 more questions to improve match
What we know so far
Still need:
- • Tell us your age for better matching
- • Tell us your sex for better matching
Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.
Eligibility at a Glance
Key info
- Age: 12 Years and over
- Who can join: All genders
Biomarkers mentioned
What the study is looking for
- ✓Part A and Part B:
- ✓Male or female with SCD, HbSS and HbSB-zero
- ✓Participants with red blood cell level ≥ 5.5 and ≤ 10.5 g/dL during Screening and considered stable by the Investigator.
- ✓Part B:
- ✓Participants with SCD ages 12 years and older, inclusive at screening.
Who cannot take part
- ✗Part A and Part B:
- ✗Participants who had more than 10 VOC within 12 months of screening
- ✗Female participant who is breastfeeding or pregnant
- ✗Participants who receive RBC transfusion therapy regularly or received an RBC transfusion ---for any reason within...
- ✗Participants hospitalized for sickle cell crisis or other vaso-occlusive event within 14 days of signing the ICF or...
See the full criteria
Where Is This Study? (7 UK sites)
University Hospitals Bristol and Weston NHS Foundation Trust
Bristol BS2 8ED, United Kingdom
Bristol Royal Infirmary
Bristol BS2 8EX, United Kingdom
University College London Hospital
London NW1 2PG, United Kingdom
Rajinder Sidhu - Associate Director, Research Governance and Operations
uclh.jro-communications@nhs.net020 3447 9825Guy's & St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust
London SE1 9RT, United Kingdom
King's College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
London SE5 9RS, United Kingdom
Hammersmith Hospital, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust
London W12 0HS, United Kingdom
Hammersmith Hospital
London W12 0HS, United Kingdom
How to Get in Touch
Pfizer Pfizer CT.gov Call Center
Sponsor contactCONTACT
