At a glance
- What the study gets you
- Access to the study treatment being tested
- Type of study
- Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
- Time in hospital
- In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
- Drug or intervention
- Upadacitinib (drug), Tocilizumab (drug)
- How long the study runs
- Study runs about 68 months (dates as stated)
- About the drug or intervention
- Upadacitinib — drug: Oral tablet or Oral solution · Tocilizumab — drug: Subcutaneous injection or Intravenous infusion
- Patient visit burden
- Not specified by the sponsor
- Type of study
- Testing a treatment
- Ages
- 1 Year to 17 Years
- Who
- All
- Number of participants
- 90
- Started
- 2023-10-02
- Last checked
- 2026-09
Plain English Summary
What is this study?
- • Testing a new treatment for juvenile idiopathic arthritis
- • Phase3 - 90 participants
- • Juvenile Idiopathic Arthritis (JIA) is the most common type of arthritis that affects children
Who can take part?
- • Ages 1 Year to 17 Years
- • Diagnosed with juvenile idiopathic arthritis
Where?
- • London - Great Ormond Street Children's Hospital /ID# 251512
This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.
About This Trial
Juvenile Idiopathic Arthritis (JIA) is the most common type of arthritis that affects children. The term "idiopathic" means "of unknown origin". It is a chronic (long-lasting) disease that causes swelling, warmth, and pain of one or more small joints. Systemic JIA ia a rare and serious form of JIA. Systemic" means it may affect not only the joints but other parts of the body, including the liver, lungs and heart. sJIA is more severe and can be more challenging to diagnose and treat than other types of juvenile idiopathic arthritis. It is a lifelong disease for many patients and can continue into adulthood. This study will assess how safe and effective upadacitinib is in treating pediatric and adolescent participants aged 1 to \< 18 with systemic juvenile idiopathic arthritis (sJIA) and will include a tocilizumab treatment arm for reference. Adverse events and change in the disease activity will be assessed. Upadacitinib is an investigational drug being developed for the treatment of sJIA. Participants are assigned to 1 of 2 cohorts. In cohort 1, participants will receive upadacitinib or tocilizumab reference. In cohort 2, participants will receive upadacitinib. Approximately 90 participants with sJIA will be enrolled in approximately 45 sites worldwide. Participants will receive upadacitinib oral tablets once daily or oral solution twice daily or tocilizumab subcutaneous injection or intravenous infusion as per local label for 52 weeks and followed for approximately 30 days. There may be higher treatment burden for participants in this trial compared to their standard of care. Participants will attend regular visits/calls during the study at a hospital or clinic. The effect of the treatment will be checked by medical assessments, checking for side effects and completing questionnaires.
How this trial compares with your answers
Answer 2 more questions to improve match
What we know so far
Still need:
- • Tell us your age for better matching
- • Tell us your sex for better matching
Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.
Eligibility at a Glance
Key info
- Age: 1 Year - 17 Years
- Who can join: All genders
Treatment history
Treatments you must have had:
- ✓ nonsteroidal anti-inflammat
- ✓ an intolerance or inadequate response to an IL-6 inhibitor as judged by the investigator
- ✓ any IL-6 inhibit
What the study is looking for
- ✓Must have inadequate response to previous treatment with nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs and/or systemic...
- ✓Note: For Cohort 1, participants must be ages 2 to \< 18 years old in countries where SC tocilizumab is not approved...
Who cannot take part
- ✗Has uncontrolled severe systemic disease and/or impeding or active macrophage activation syndrome within 1 month...
See the full criteria
Where Is This Study? (1 UK site)
Great Ormond Street Children's Hospital /ID# 251512
London WC1N 3HZ, United Kingdom
Main Email: Research.Governance@gosh.nhs.uk
Research.Governance@gosh.nhs.uk0207 905 2700How to Get in Touch
ABBVIE CALL CENTER
Sponsor contactCONTACT
