Skip to main content
UK clinical trials - updated daily from ClinicalTrials.gov
TrialConnect
← Back to Search
Looking for participantsPhase3

Study of Sacituzumab Govitecan-hziy and Pembrolizumab Versus Treatment of Physician's Choice in Patients With Triple Negative Breast Cancer Who Have Residual Invasive Disease After Surgery and Neoadjuvant Therapy (ASCENT-05/AFT-65 OptimICE-RD/GBG 119/NSABP B-63)

Sponsor: Gilead Sciences

NCT ID: NCT05633654

View on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

At a glance

What the study gets you
Access to the study treatment being tested
Type of study
Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
Time in hospital
In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
Drug or intervention
Sacituzumab govitecan-hziy (SG) (drug), Pembrolizumab (drug), Capecitabine (drug)
How long the study runs
Study runs about 104 months (dates as stated)
About the drug or intervention
Sacituzumab govitecan-hziy (SG) — drug: Administered intravenously · Pembrolizumab — drug: Administered intravenously · Capecitabine — drug: Tablets administered orally
Patient visit burden
Not specified by the sponsor
Type of study
Testing a treatment
Ages
18 Years and over
Who
All
Number of participants
1,514
Started
2022-12-12
Last checked
2026-09

Plain English Summary

What is this study?

  • • Testing a new treatment for triple negative breast cancer
  • • Phase3 - 1,514 participants
  • • The goal of this study is to find out if the experimental product, sacituzumab govitecan-hziy (SG) in combination with pembrolizumab given after surgery, is effective and safe compared to the treatment of physician's choice (TPC) which includes either pembrolizumab or pembrolizumab plus capecitabine in participants with triple negative breast cancer that still remains after surgery and pre-surgical treatment

Who can take part?

  • • Ages 18 Years and over
  • • Diagnosed with triple negative breast cancer

Where?

  • • Cottingham - Hull University Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust
  • • Edgbaston - University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust
  • • Liverpool - The Clatterbridge Cancer Centre NHS Foundation Trust
  • • London - Barts Health NHS Trust
  • • +6 more UK sites

This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.

About This Trial

The goal of this study is to find out if the experimental product, sacituzumab govitecan-hziy (SG) in combination with pembrolizumab given after surgery, is effective and safe compared to the treatment of physician's choice (TPC) which includes either pembrolizumab or pembrolizumab plus capecitabine in participants with triple negative breast cancer that still remains after surgery and pre-surgical treatment.

Triple Negative Breast Cancer

How this trial compares with your answers

Answer 2 more questions to improve match

What we know so far

Condition· Matched your search
Age· Tell us your age for better matching
Gender· Tell us your sex for better matching

Still need:

  • • Tell us your age for better matching
  • • Tell us your sex for better matching

Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.

Eligibility at a Glance

Key info

  • Age: 18 Years and over
  • Who can join: All genders

Biomarkers mentioned

triple negativeERPRHER2CD137

Treatment history

Treatments you must have had:

  • ✓ received appropriate radiotherapy aligned with local/institutional practice and have recovered

What the study is looking for

  • ✓Age \> 18 years, with residual invasive triple negative breast cancer (TNBC) in the breast or lymph nodes after...
  • ✓Adequate excision and surgical removal of all clinically evident of disease in the breast and/or lymph nodes and...
  • ✓Submission of both pre-before surgery treatment diagnostic biopsy and resected residual invasive disease tissue.
  • ✓activity scale (ECOG) performance status 0-1.
  • ✓Individuals must have received appropriate radiotherapy aligned with local/institutional practice and have recovered...

Who cannot take part

  • ✗Stage IV (that has spread) breast cancer as well as history of any prior (ipsi- or contralateral) invasive breast cancer.
  • ✗Evidence of recurrent disease following preoperative therapy and surgery.
  • ✗Prior treatment with topoisomerase 1 inhibitors or antibody-drug conjugates (ADCs) containing a topoisomerase inhibitor.
  • ✗Individuals with germline breast cancer gene (BRCA) mutations.
  • ✗Active serious infections requiring anti-microbial therapy.
See the full criteria
Key Inclusion Criteria: * Age \> 18 years, with residual invasive triple negative breast cancer (TNBC) in the breast or lymph nodes after neoadjuvant therapy and surgery: * TNBC criteria for the study is defined as estrogen receptor (ER) and progesterone receptor (PR) ≤ 10%, human epidermal growth factor receptor 2 (HER2)-negative per American Society of Clinical Oncology and College of American Pathologists (ASCO/CAP) guidelines (immunohistochemistry (IHC) and/or in situ hybridization (ISH)). * Adequate excision and surgical removal of all clinically evident of disease in the breast and/or lymph nodes and have adequately recovered from surgery. * Submission of both pre-neoadjuvant treatment diagnostic biopsy and resected residual invasive disease tissue. * Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status 0-1. * Individuals must have received appropriate radiotherapy aligned with local/institutional practice and have recovered prior to starting study treatment. * Adequate organ function. Key Exclusion Criteria: * Stage IV (metastatic) breast cancer as well as history of any prior (ipsi- or contralateral) invasive breast cancer. * Prior treatment with another stimulatory or coinhibitory T-cell receptor agent (eg, cytotoxic T-lymphocyte-associated antigen 4 (CTLA-4), OX-40, cluster of differentiation 137 (CD137), prior treatment with any HER2-directed agent, prior endocrine therapy for \> 4 weeks or planned concurrent endocrine therapy while receiving on-study treatment. * Evidence of recurrent disease following preoperative therapy and surgery. * Prior treatment with topoisomerase 1 inhibitors or antibody-drug conjugates (ADCs) containing a topoisomerase inhibitor. * Individuals with germline breast cancer gene (BRCA) mutations. * Myocardial infarction or unstable angina pectoris within 6 months of enrollment or history of serious ventricular arrhythmia (ie, ventricular tachycardia or ventricular fibrillation), high-grade atrioventricular block, or other cardiac arrhythmias or Left ventricular ejection fraction (LVEF) of \< 50% * Active serious infections requiring anti-microbial therapy. Note: Other protocol defined Inclusion/Exclusion criteria may apply.

Where Is This Study? (10 UK sites)

Hull University Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Cottingham HU165JQ, United Kingdom

NOT_YET_RECRUITING
Hospital R&D contact (matched)

James Illingworth

hyp-tr.development.research@nhs.net01482 461883 or 461903

University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust

Edgbaston B152TH, United Kingdom

NOT_YET_RECRUITING
Hospital R&D contact (matched)

Sarah Pountain Head of Research Governance

R&D@uhb.nhs.uk0121 371 4185

The Clatterbridge Cancer Centre NHS Foundation Trust

Liverpool L7 8YA, United Kingdom

NOT_YET_RECRUITING
Hospital R&D contact (matched)

Dr Maria Maguire

maria.maguire2@nhs.net0151 556 5321

Barts Health NHS Trust

London EC1M 6QB, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Hospital R&D contact (matched)

Dr Mays Jawad

research.governance@qmul.ac.uk020 7882 6826

Guy's Hospital

London SE1 9RT, United Kingdom

NOT_YET_RECRUITING
Hospital R&D contact (matched)

Main Email: gstt.research.rbhh@nhs.net

gstt.research.rbhh@nhs.netn/a

Royal Marsden Hospital

London SW10 9NH, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Hospital R&D contact (matched)

Mark Brandon-Grove

research.development@rmh.nhs.uk020 3186 5416

The Christie NHS Foundation Trust

Manchester M20 4BX, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Hospital R&D contact (matched)

Research and Innovation Office

the-christie.ri@nhs.net---

East and North Hertfordshire NHS Trust

Northwood HA6 2RN, United Kingdom

NOT_YET_RECRUITING
Hospital R&D contact (matched)

Rishma Bhatti, Head of Research (Mount Vernon Cancer Centre)

mvccresearch.enh-tr@nhs.net0203 826 2068 / 2069

Taunton and Somerset NHS Foundation Trust

Taunton TA1 5DA, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Hospital R&D contact (matched)

Karen Tanner

Research@somersetft.nhs.uk01935 384559

York Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

York YO31 8HE, United Kingdom

NOT_YET_RECRUITING
Hospital R&D contact (matched)

Lydia Harris

yhs-tr.research.governance@nhs.net01904 726606

How to Get in Touch

Gilead Clinical Study Information Center

Sponsor contact

CONTACT

1-833-445-3230 (GILEAD-0) GileadClinicalTrials@gilead.com
Data sourced from ClinicalTrials.gov · Last verified: 2026-09