Skip to main content
UK clinical trials - updated daily from ClinicalTrials.gov
TrialConnect
← Back to Search
Looking for participantsN/A

REVOLUTION Surgery (REVOLUTION Surgery)

Sponsor: University of Edinburgh

NCT ID: NCT05642819

View on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

At a glance

What the study gets you
Health checks and monitoring — no treatment given
Type of study
Observational (no treatment given)
Time in hospital
In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
Drug or intervention
Not specified by the sponsor
How long the study runs
Study runs about 50 months (dates as stated)
About the drug or intervention
Not specified by the sponsor
Patient visit burden
Not specified by the sponsor
Type of study
Observing health over time
Ages
18 Years and over
Who
All
Number of participants
200
Started
2023-10-01
Last checked
2025-12

Plain English Summary

What is this study?

  • • Testing a new treatment for cachexia
  • • Clinical study - 200 participants
  • • Some people with cancer suffer from muscle wasting, lose weight and feel tired

Who can take part?

  • • Ages 18 Years and over
  • • Diagnosed with cachexia

Where?

  • • Edinburgh - University of Edinburgh

This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.

About This Trial

Some people with cancer suffer from muscle wasting, lose weight and feel tired. This process, termed cachexia, is a significant problem and can lead to a reduction in both quality and quantity of life. Cachexia is caused by interactions between the tumour and the patient. Historically, it was considered to be a purely end-stage phenomenon of advanced cancer, however, it is now known that early signs of cachexia can even influence the outcomes of patients with potentially curative pathology, including those planned for a surgical resection. This study aims to collect information, from patients who are at risk of cachexia, about body composition, physical activity, quality of life and the body's immune response to cancer. Previously these measures have been most frequently studied in isolation, or at one single time-point, and are therefore likely to give an incomplete picture. A more holistic characterisation of surgical patients at risk of cancer cachexia, across their treatments, is currently lacking. Participants with cancer will be recruited to the study from surgical services in the United Kingdom (UK). A small number of 'control' patients without cancer, who are undergoing surgery for a benign condition, will also be recruited for comparison. Those recruited will have their height and weight measured, answer questionnaires about quality of life, undergo assessment of their physical function and levels of activity, have blood taken to analyse markers of inflammation and have their body composition measured by a variety of methods. A subgroup of patients will also undergo an additional magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scan of their abdomen and thighs. At the time of their operation, participants will also have small biopsies of muscle, fat, tumour and urine taken for biochemical analysis. Patients with cancer, will be asked to return for three follow up appointments during the year after their operation where these assessments will be repeated.

CachexiaOesophageal CancerGastric CancerPancreatic CancerColorectal Cancer

How this trial compares with your answers

Answer 2 more questions to improve match

What we know so far

Condition· Matched your search
Age· Tell us your age for better matching
Gender· Tell us your sex for better matching

Still need:

  • • Tell us your age for better matching
  • • Tell us your sex for better matching

Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.

Eligibility at a Glance

Key info

  • Age: 18 Years and over
  • Who can join: All genders

What the study is looking for

  • ✓Inclusion Criteria (Cancer Resection)
  • ✓Patients with cancer (Clinical, histological, cytological or radiological evidence) planned for surgical resection...
  • ✓Aged 18-years and over
  • ✓Able to give written agreement to take part
  • ✓Inclusion Criteria (Healthy Controls)

Who cannot take part

  • ✗Any concomitant medical or psychiatric problems which, in the opinion of the investigator, would increase the risk...
  • ✗Presence of a concomitant inflammatory (e.g., rheumatoid arthritis, inflammatory bowel disease) or muscle wasting...
See the full criteria
Inclusion Criteria: Inclusion Criteria (Cancer Resection) * Patients with cancer (Clinical, histological, cytological or radiological evidence) planned for surgical resection of a malignancy of the oesophagus, stomach, pancreas, colon, or rectum * Aged 18-years and over * Able to give written informed consent Inclusion Criteria (Healthy Controls) * Patients identified at surgical clinic as being planned for an open abdominal operation for a non-inflammatory, benign condition (e.g. donor nephrectomy) * Aged 18-years and over * Able to give written informed consent Exclusion Criteria: * Any concomitant medical or psychiatric problems which, in the opinion of the investigator, would increase the risk of complication for the participant and/or investigator * Presence of a concomitant inflammatory (e.g., rheumatoid arthritis, inflammatory bowel disease) or muscle wasting condition other than cancer * Participants who are pregnant, suffer from claustrophobia or with implanted medical devices (e.g., cardiac pacemaker, metallic foreign bodies, aneurysm clip) would not be able to undergo the additional multiparametric magnetic resonance imaging (MRI)

Where Is This Study? (1 UK site)

University of Edinburgh

Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Richard JE Skipworth, MD FRCSPrincipal Investigator

How to Get in Touch

Richard JE Skipworth, MD FRCS

Sponsor contact

CONTACT

01312423176 Richard.Skipworth@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

Leo R Brown, MBChB MRCS

Sponsor contact

CONTACT

01312423614 leorbrown@doctors.org.uk
Data sourced from ClinicalTrials.gov · Last verified: 2025-12