Skip to main content
UK clinical trials - updated daily from ClinicalTrials.gov
TrialConnect
← Back to Search
Looking for participantsNA

Hemithoracic Irradiation With Proton Therapy in Malignant Pleural Mesothelioma

Sponsor: University College, London

NCT ID: NCT05655078

View on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

At a glance

What the study gets you
Access to the study treatment being tested
Type of study
Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
Time in hospital
In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
Drug or intervention
Proton beam therapy (radiation)
How long the study runs
Study runs about 66 months (dates as stated)
About the drug or intervention
Proton beam therapy — radiation: 5 weeks (Mon-Fri) of proton beam treatment to the hemithorax to a dose of 50Gy in 25 fractions with a boost to 60Gy for the visible tumour (gross tumour volume-GTV).
Patient visit burden
Not specified by the sponsor

In plain English

This study is for adults with malignant pleural mesothelioma, a cancer affecting the lining of the lungs, that is confined to one side of the chest. The trial is run by University College London and includes treatment with proton beam therapy, a type of radiotherapy, at one of two centres in England.

Who can take part

  • Adults aged 18 or over with a biopsy-confirmed diagnosis of malignant pleural mesothelioma, with a known subtype (epithelioid or non-epithelioid)
  • Cancer has not spread to distant parts of the body or the other side of the chest, based on scans
  • The patient and their medical team have chosen to delay drug treatment and monitor the cancer for now
  • Able to carry out normal daily activities with little or no restriction (performance status 0-1)
  • Good enough lung function on breathing tests
  • Willing and able to travel to University College London Hospital or The Christie if allocated to proton beam therapy
  • Willing to attend follow-up appointments at a local trial site
  • Written informed consent to take part

Who may not be able to

  • Cancer has spread to distant organs or the other side of the chest
  • Diagnosis based on fluid samples only, or the cancer subtype is unknown
  • Previous radiotherapy, chemotherapy or immunotherapy for this cancer
  • Previous major surgery for this cancer
  • Drug treatment or surgery is needed straight away rather than monitoring
  • Cancer in lymph nodes on the other side of the chest or above the collarbone
  • Cancer invading the heart muscle
  • A new build-up of fluid around the lung that cannot be drained
  • Unable to carry out normal daily activities (performance status 2 or worse)
  • Women who are pregnant or breastfeeding
  • Another current or previous cancer that may affect life expectancy
  • Having a pacemaker or implanted defibrillator (ICD)
  • Significant scarring of the lungs (interstitial lung disease)
  • A long-term illness with a low expected three-year survival
  • Previous radiotherapy to the chest or tummy, unless the trial organisers agreed beforehand

What taking part involves

  • • One option in the trial is proton beam therapy, a precise type of radiotherapy given to one side of the chest at either University College London Hospital or The Christie
  • • Patients are monitored at first (active surveillance), with drug treatment delayed until the cancer shows signs of growing on tests or scans
  • • Follow-up appointments take place at a local trial site

Time commitment: Taking part involves travelling to one of two proton beam therapy centres in London or Manchester if allocated to that treatment, plus regular follow-up visits at a local trial site — duration and visit schedule not stated, ask the trial team.

Plain-English summary (AI-generated) from registry data. Not eligibility advice — only the trial team can confirm whether you can take part. Use the eligibility checker to see how your health profile matches this trial.

Type of study
Testing a treatment
Ages
18 Years and over
Who
All
Number of participants
148
Started
2024-03-28
Last checked
2026-03

Plain English Summary

What is this study?

  • • Testing a new treatment for malignant pleural mesothelioma
  • • NA - 148 participants
  • • Phase III randomised-controlled trial for patients with unilateral malignant pleural mesothelioma (MPM)

Who can take part?

  • • Ages 18 Years and over
  • • Diagnosed with malignant pleural mesothelioma

Where?

  • • Eastbourne - East Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust - Eastbourne Hospital
  • • Saint Leonards-on-Sea - East Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust - Conquest Hospital
  • • Reading - Royal Berkshire Hospital
  • • Southend - Southend University Hospital
  • • +21 more UK sites

This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.

About This Trial

Phase III randomised-controlled trial for patients with unilateral malignant pleural mesothelioma (MPM).

More detail

Study design: Randomised phase III clinical trial for patients with unilateral MPM. Primary endpoint: Progression free survival (PFS) and overall survival (OS), defined as the time from randomisation to the date of progression and death from any cause. Secondary Endpoints: Safety and Tolerability, Health related Quality of Life (QOL): EuroQoL EQ-5D-3L, Locoregional Control. Randomisation and stratification: 1:1 randomisation. Patients with be stratified for histology (epithelioid versus non-epithelioid), potential PBT centre (UCLH or The Christie) , laterality (left or right sided) and time since diagnosis (\<1 year or \> 1 year) Treatment: Experimental Arm: Patients in the experimental arm will receive PBT to the hemithorax to a dose of 50Gy in 25 fractions with a boost to 60Gy for the visible tumour (gross tumour volume-GTV). Treatment is given daily Monday-Friday over 5 weeks. Following completion of treatment in the experimental arm patients will have 2 years of follow-up from time of randomisation at the local recruiting/referring centre. Control Arm: The patients in the control arm would be under standard of care surveillance i.e. "watch and wait", with no treatment or other intervention. Patients will have 2 years of follow-up from time of randomisation at the local recruiting/referring centre. If the disease progresses, the patient will receive SOC treatment i.e. immunotherapy with nivolumab and ipilimumab, or chemotherapy at the clinician's discretion. Statistical analysis plan: The sample size is 148 patients (74 patients per arm). This is to detect a OS hazard ratio of 0.58, equivalent to an improvement in 2-year OS from 30% to 50%, with 85% power and 5% two-sided alpha. Recruitment to complete in 3 years across 20 UK centres with 2 years of additional follow-up and up to 5% dropout. Interim analyses for OS efficacy will be performed when 50, 75 and 110 patients have been randomised at around 1.5, 2.0 and 2.5 years respectively. Using a fixed-sequence approach, a difference for OS will only be tested if the co-primary endpoint of PFS is statistically significant (p\<0.05); N=148 will provide \>85% power to detect a PFS hazard ratio of 0.58 accounting for up to 10% dropout.

Malignant Pleural Mesothelioma

How this trial compares with your answers

Answer 2 more questions to improve match

What we know so far

Condition· Matched your search
Age· Tell us your age for better matching
Gender· Tell us your sex for better matching

Still need:

  • • Tell us your age for better matching
  • • Tell us your sex for better matching

Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.

Eligibility at a Glance

Key info

  • Age: 18 Years and over
  • Who can join: All genders

What the study is looking for

  • ✓Patients ≥18 years of age, with biopsy confirmed MPM and histological subtyping (epithelioid or non-epithelioid)
  • ✓N0 or N1 and M0 disease
  • ✓Written agreement to take part
  • ✓Patient and local/regional MDT opt for active surveillance and deferral of SACT until clinical or radiological...
  • ✓WHO Performance Status 0-1

Who cannot take part

  • ✗Presence of that has spread or contralateral disease
  • ✗Cytological diagnosis and/or undetermined histological subtype
  • ✗Prior thoracic radiotherapy, drug treatment, treatment that helps your immune system fight cancer for MPM
  • ✗Prior radical surgery for MPM (extrapleural pneumonectomy or extended pleurectomy decortication or pleurectomy...
  • ✗Initial treatment that goes through your whole body or surgery is required and the patient and local/regional MDT do not opt for active...
See the full criteria
Inclusion criteria: * Patients ≥18 years of age, with biopsy confirmed MPM and histological subtyping (epithelioid or non-epithelioid) * N0 or N1 and M0 disease * Written informed consent * Patient and local/regional MDT opt for active surveillance and deferral of SACT until clinical or radiological progression * WHO Performance Status 0-1 * Disease confined to one hemithorax based on CT assessment * Adequate pulmonary function * ≥ 40% predicted post-FEV1; * ≥ 40% predicted DLCO/TLCO * Agreement to travel to either proton beam therapy centres (i.e. UCLH or The Christie) if randomised to arm 2 * Agreement to be followed up at a local HIT-Meso trial site * Patient likely able to complete PBT planning based on local assessment Exclusion criteria: * Presence of metastatic or contralateral disease * Cytological diagnosis and/or undetermined histological subtype * Prior thoracic radiotherapy, chemotherapy, immunotherapy for MPM * Prior radical surgery for MPM (extrapleural pneumonectomy or extended pleurectomy decortication or pleurectomy decortication) * Initial systemic therapy or surgery is required and the patient and local/regional MDT do not opt for active surveillance * Involvement of contralateral or supraclavicular lymph nodes * T4 disease with invasion of the myocardium * N2 and/or M1 disease * Presence of new effusion that is not amenable to drainage * WHO Performance Status ≥ 2 * Women who are pregnant or breast feeding * Current or previous malignant disease which may impact on the patient's life expectancy * Patient fitted with a pacemaker or implantable cardioverter-defibrillator (ICD)\\ * Diagnosis of clinically significant interstitial lung disease (ILD), excluding mild fibrosis or incidental findings * Chronic non-malignant disease with an estimated three-year survival rate of less than 20% * Patient with prior thoracic / abdominal radiotherapy for malignancy who was not discussed with sponsor before recruitment

Where Is This Study? (25 UK sites)

East Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust - Eastbourne Hospital

Eastbourne, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)

East Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust - Conquest Hospital

Saint Leonards-on-Sea, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)

Royal Berkshire Hospital

Reading RG15AN, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Lilian CheungPrincipal Investigator

Southend University Hospital

Southend SS0 0RY, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Rafiqul IslamPrincipal Investigator

Queen Alexandra Hospital

Portsmouth, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Hannah BainbridgePrincipal Investigator

Queen Elizabeth Hospital, King's Lynn

Kings Lynn PE30 4ET, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Kamalram Thippu JayaprakashPrincipal Investigator
Kamalram Thippu Jayaprakashkamalram.thippujayaprakash@qehkl.nhs.uk

Furness General Hospital

Barrow in Furness LA14 4LF, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Amy FordPrincipal Investigator

Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board -Glan Clwyd Hospital

Bodelwyddan LL18 5UJ, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Angel GarciaPrincipal Investigator

Southmead Hospital

Bristol BS105NB, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Nick MaskellPrincipal Investigator

Addenbrooke's Hospital

Cambridge CB20QQ, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Huiqi YangPrincipal Investigator
Huiqi Yangh.yang@nhs.net

Velindre Cancer Centre

Cardiff, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Paul ShawPrincipal Investigator

Broomfield Hospital

Chelmsford CM1 7ET, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Thomas SarkodiePrincipal Investigator

Queens Centre, Castle Hill Hospital

Hull HU165JQ, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Dr Louise KarseraPrincipal Investigator
Dr Louise Karseralouise.karsera@nhs.net

Royal Lancaster Hospital

Lancaster LA1 4RP, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Amy FordPrincipal Investigator

St James University Hospital

Leeds LS97TF, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)

Leicester Royal Infirmary

Leicester LE1 5WW, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Thiagarajan SridharPrincipal Investigator

Clatterbridge Cancer Centre

Liverpool L78YA, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Tony PopePrincipal Investigator

St Bartholomew's Hospital

London EC1A 7BE, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Pandora RuddPrincipal Investigator

University College London Hospital

London, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Crispin HileyPrincipal Investigator

Maidstone Hospital

Maidstone ME169QQ, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Riyaz ShahPrincipal Investigator

Christie Hospital

Manchester M20 4BX, United Kingdom

ACTIVE_NOT_RECRUITING
Hospital R&D contact (matched)

Research and Innovation Office

the-christie.ri@nhs.net---

Wythenshawe Hospital

Manchester M23 9LT, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Paul TaylorPrincipal Investigator

Freeman Hospital

Newcastle upon Tyne NE77DN, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Helen TurnbullPrincipal Investigator
Helen Turnbullhelenturnbull@nhs.net

Weston Park Cancer Centre

Sheffield S102SJ, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Tathagata DasPrincipal Investigator

Torbay Hospital

Torquay TQ2 7AA, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Louise MedleyPrincipal Investigator

How to Get in Touch

Klara Sinalova

Sponsor contact

CONTACT

020 7679 9826 ctc.hit-meso@ucl.ac.uk

Aoife Walker

Sponsor contact

CONTACT

020 3108 5363 aoife.walker@ucl.ac.uk
Data sourced from ClinicalTrials.gov · Last verified: 2026-03