Skip to main content
UK clinical trials - updated daily from ClinicalTrials.gov
TrialConnect
← Back to Search
Looking for participantsNA

Multicenter Glaucoma Study Investigating Standalone Canaloplasty

Sponsor: Nova Eye, Inc.

NCT ID: NCT05786196

View on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

At a glance

What the study gets you
Access to the study treatment being tested
Type of study
Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
Time in hospital
In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
Drug or intervention
Ab-interno canaloplasty utilizing the iTrack Advance device (device), Ab-interno canaloplasty utilizing the OMNI Surgical System (device)
How long the study runs
Study runs about 43 months (dates as stated)
About the drug or intervention
Ab-interno canaloplasty utilizing the iTrack Advance device — device: 360 degree microcatheterization and viscodilation of Schlemm's canal · Ab-interno canaloplasty utilizing the OMNI Surgical System — device: 360 degree microcatheterization and viscodilation of Schlemm's canal
Patient visit burden
Not specified by the sponsor
Type of study
Testing a treatment
Ages
22 Years and over
Who
All
Number of participants
86
Started
2023-05-09
Last checked
2025-04

Plain English Summary

What is this study?

  • • Testing a new treatment for primary open angle glaucoma
  • • NA - 86 participants
  • • A multicenter, randomized, clinical trial to evaluate the efficacy of canaloplasty performed as a standalone procedure using the iTrack™ Advance canaloplasty device (Nova Eye, Inc

Who can take part?

  • • Ages 22 Years and over
  • • Diagnosed with primary open angle glaucoma

Where?

  • • Edinburgh - Princess Alexandra Eye Pavilion, NHS Lothian
  • • Liverpool - St. Paul's Eye Unit, Liverpool University
  • • Manchester - Manchester Royal Eye Hospital

This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.

About This Trial

A multicenter, randomized, clinical trial to evaluate the efficacy of canaloplasty performed as a standalone procedure using the iTrack™ Advance canaloplasty device (Nova Eye, Inc.) as compared to the OMNI® Surgical System (Sight Sciences) in patients with mild to moderate primary open-angle glaucoma.

Primary Open Angle Glaucoma

How this trial compares with your answers

Answer 2 more questions to improve match

What we know so far

Condition· Matched your search
Age· Tell us your age for better matching
Gender· Tell us your sex for better matching

Still need:

  • • Tell us your age for better matching
  • • Tell us your sex for better matching

Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.

Eligibility at a Glance

Key info

  • Age: 22 Years and over
  • Who can join: All genders

What the study is looking for

  • ✓Male or female subjects, 22 years or older at the time of surgery
  • ✓Diagnosed with mild to moderate primary open angle glaucoma
  • ✓Candidate for canaloplasty surgery: i.e., catheterization of Schlemm's canal and subsequent viscodilation of...
  • ✓Intolerance to medical therapy OR need/willingness to reduce medications
  • ✓At the Screening Visit, IOP of ≤ 30 mmHg while on 1-4 ocular hypotensive medications

Who cannot take part

  • ✗Any of the following prior treatments for glaucoma (study eye):
  • ✗Laser trabeculoplasty
  • ✗i. Selective Laser Trabeculoplasty (SLT) conducted within 6-months of the Screening Visit ii. Prior Argon Laser...
  • ✗iStent or iStent Inject within 180 days of the Screening Visit
  • ✗Endocyclophotocoagulation (ECP) or Micropulse laser
See the full criteria
Inclusion Criteria: * Male or female subjects, 22 years or older at the time of surgery * Diagnosed with mild to moderate primary open angle glaucoma * Candidate for canaloplasty surgery: i.e., catheterization of Schlemm's canal and subsequent viscodilation of Schlemm's canal, without trabeculotomy * Intolerance to medical therapy OR need/willingness to reduce medications * At the Screening Visit, IOP of ≤ 30 mmHg while on 1-4 ocular hypotensive medications * At the Baseline Visit, unmedicated IOP ≥ 21mmHg and ≤ 36 mmHg, and ≥ 3mmHg higher than medicated IOP * Shaffer grade of ≥ 3 in all four quadrants * Central corneal thickness ≥ 480µm and ≤ 620 µm * Able and willing to comply with the study procedures and attend all follow-up visits * Understands and signs the informed consent Exclusion Criteria: * Any of the following prior treatments for glaucoma (study eye): 1. Laser trabeculoplasty i. Selective Laser Trabeculoplasty (SLT) conducted within 6-months of the Screening Visit ii. Prior Argon Laser Trabeculoplasty 2. iStent or iStent Inject within 180 days of the Screening Visit 3. Endocyclophotocoagulation (ECP) or Micropulse laser 4. Trabeculectomy or other bleb forming procedure including Xen, Express, and glaucoma draining device/valve 5. Prior canaloplasty (ab interno and ab externo) 6. Prior goniotomy, or trabeculotomy (ab externo and ab interno) 7. Hydrus microstent 8. Suprachoroidal stent (e.g., Cypass, iStent Supra, MINIject) 9. Concurrent IOP-lowering procedure other than use of the iTrack Advance canaloplasty device OR the OMNI Surgical System at the time of surgery (e.g., ECP, CPC, etc.) * Acute angle closure, traumatic, congenital, malignant, uveitic or neovascular glaucoma, pigmentary glaucoma or pseudoexfoliative glaucoma * Cataract surgery within 6 months of the Screening Visit in the study eye * History of fellow eye with cataract surgery within 30 days of Screening * Subjects at significant risk by a washout of ocular hypotensive medication, and/or subjects where the unmedicated IOP is expected to exceed the upper limit of 36 mmHg * Use of systemic medications (either current, within 30 calendar days of Screening exam, or anticipated) that may cause an increase in IOP, (e.g., systemic steroids including inhaled and oral steroids used on a regular basis) * Ocular and/or systemic diseases that could affect the corneal endothelium (such as corneal endothelial dystrophy, intraocular inflammation and infection, or congenital abnormalities) * History of penetrating keratoplasty or another corneal transplant * BCVA of 20/200 or worse in the fellow eye not due to cataract * Previous treatment with OMNI or iTrack (Note: permitted if fellow eye only was treated) * BCVA of 20/50 or worse in the study eye not due to posterior capsular opacification

Where Is This Study? (3 UK sites)

Princess Alexandra Eye Pavilion, NHS Lothian

Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Hospital R&D contact (matched)

Chris Cook

nikki.white6@nhs.net01279 978096

St. Paul's Eye Unit, Liverpool University

Liverpool, United Kingdom

Recruiting

Manchester Royal Eye Hospital

Manchester, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Hospital R&D contact (matched)

Elizabeth Mainwaring

R&D.applications@mft.nhs.uk0161 276 3340

How to Get in Touch

Mike Pickrel

Sponsor contact

CONTACT

1-800-391-2316 mpickrel@nova-eye.com
Data sourced from ClinicalTrials.gov · Last verified: 2025-04