Skip to main content
UK clinical trials - updated daily from ClinicalTrials.gov
TrialConnect
← Back to Search
Looking for participantsN/A

The RESCUE Study: Survival and Functional Outcomes Following Salvage Surgery for RESidual or reCurrent sqUamous cEll Carcinoma of the Head and Neck

Sponsor: Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust

NCT ID: NCT05808920

View on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

At a glance

What the study gets you
Health checks and monitoring — no treatment given
Type of study
Observational (no treatment given)
Time in hospital
In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
Drug or intervention
Molecular Analyses (genetic)
How long the study runs
Study runs about 67 months (dates as stated)
About the drug or intervention
Molecular Analyses — genetic: Nucleic acid extraction, protein analysis.
Patient visit burden
Not specified by the sponsor
Type of study
Observing health over time
Ages
18 Years and over
Who
All
Number of participants
400
Started
2023-09-08
Last checked
2026-02

Plain English Summary

What is this study?

  • • Testing a new treatment for head and neck cancer
  • • Clinical study - 400 participants
  • • The RESCUE study is a combined retrospective and prospective multicentre cohort study investigating the survival and functional outcomes in patients undergoing salvage surgery for recurrent, residual, and new primary head and neck squamous cell carcinoma (SCC)

Who can take part?

  • • Ages 18 Years and over
  • • Diagnosed with head and neck cancer

Where?

  • • Derby - University Hospitals Derby and Burton
  • • Edinburgh - NHS Lothian
  • • Glasgow - Western General, Greater Glasgow and Clyde
  • • Liverpool - Aintree Hospital
  • • +5 more UK sites

This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.

About This Trial

The RESCUE study is a combined retrospective and prospective multicentre cohort study investigating the survival and functional outcomes in patients undergoing salvage surgery for recurrent, residual, and new primary head and neck squamous cell carcinoma (SCC). Additionally, the RESCUE study will contain an exploratory molecular analysis of consenting patients to assess the relationship between cancer genomics, previous radiotherapy, and recurrence in head and neck cancer.

More detail

The RESCUE study is a combined retrospective and prospective multicentre cohort study investigating the survival and functional outcomes in patients undergoing salvage surgery for recurrent, residual, and new primary head and neck squamous cell carcinoma (SCC). Additionally, the RESCUE study will contain an exploratory molecular analysis of consenting patients to assess the relationship between cancer genomics, previous radiotherapy, and recurrence in head and neck cancer. The aim of this study is to determine the survival, functional and quality of life outcomes of patients undergoing all salvage surgery for recurrent, residual and new primary head and neck SCC, and to establish the genetic architecture and clonal evolution H\&N SCC after previous treatment for radiotherapy cancer.

Head and Neck Cancer

How this trial compares with your answers

Answer 2 more questions to improve match

What we know so far

Condition· Matched your search
Age· Tell us your age for better matching
Gender· Tell us your sex for better matching

Still need:

  • • Tell us your age for better matching
  • • Tell us your sex for better matching

Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.

Eligibility at a Glance

Key info

  • Age: 18 Years and over
  • Who can join: All genders

What the study is looking for

  • ✓Aged over 18
  • ✓Previous H\&N SCC treated with radiotherapy with or without drug treatment
  • ✓Local or regionally recurrent, residual, or new primary SCC of the oropharynx, oral cavity, larynx, and hypopharynx
  • ✓Ability to give agreement to take part for biological sample collection (molecular analysis study only)

Who cannot take part

  • ✗Nasopharyngeal and cutaneous SCC of the H\&N
  • ✗Thyroid, salivary gland, and non-squamous cell H\&N cancers
  • ✗Presence of distant metastasis (M1) or surgically inoperable T4b tumours
See the full criteria
Inclusion Criteria: 1. Aged over 18 2. Previous H\&N SCC treated with radiotherapy with or without chemotherapy 3. Local or regionally recurrent, residual, or new primary SCC of the oropharynx, oral cavity, larynx, and hypopharynx 4. Ability to give informed consent for biological sample collection (molecular analysis study only) Exclusion Criteria: 1. Nasopharyngeal and cutaneous SCC of the H\&N 2. Thyroid, salivary gland, and non-squamous cell H\&N cancers 3. Presence of distant metastasis (M1) or surgically inoperable T4b tumours

Where Is This Study? (9 UK sites)

University Hospitals Derby and Burton

Derby, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)

NHS Lothian

Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)

Western General, Greater Glasgow and Clyde

Glasgow, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)

Aintree Hospital

Liverpool, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)

Head and Neck Unit, Royal Marsden Hospital

London SW3 6JJ, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Vishak Muraleedharan Shylajavishak.muraleedharanshylaja@rmh.nhs.uk

Northwick Park

London, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)

Oxford University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Oxford, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)

Poole Hospital, University Hospitals Dorset

Poole, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)

South Tyneside and Sunderland NHS Foundation Trust

Sunderland, United Kingdom

COMPLETED
Hospital R&D contact (matched)

Research and Development stsft.research@nhs.net

stsft.research@nhs.net0191 565 6256 ext 42143

How to Get in Touch

Andrew Williamson

Sponsor contact

CONTACT

02073528171 andrew.williamson2@rmh.nhs.uk

Sarah Burton

Sponsor contact

CONTACT

02073528171 RESCUE@rmh.nhs.uk
Data sourced from ClinicalTrials.gov · Last verified: 2026-02