At a glance
- What the study gets you
- Access to the study treatment being tested
- Type of study
- Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
- Time in hospital
- In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
- Drug or intervention
- Ribociclib (drug), Everolimus (drug), Temozolomide (TMZ) (drug)
- How long the study runs
- Study runs about 120 months (dates as stated)
- About the drug or intervention
- Ribociclib — drug: Ribociclib PO qd on days 1-21 · Everolimus — drug: Everolimus PO qd on days 1-28 · Temozolomide (TMZ) — drug: Temozolomide PO qd on days 1-5 for the first 13 cycles
- Patient visit burden
- Not specified by the sponsor
- Type of study
- Testing a treatment
- Ages
- 12 Months to 39 Years
- Who
- All
- Number of participants
- 120
- Started
- 2024-08-22
- Last checked
- 2025-10
Plain English Summary
What is this study?
- • Testing a new treatment for high grade glioma
- • Phase2 - 120 participants
- • The goal of this study is to determine the efficacy of the 1) ribociclib and everolimus to treat pediatric and young adult patients newly diagnosed with a high-grade glioma (HGG), including DIPG, that have genetic changes in pathways (cell cycle, PI3K/mTOR) that these drugs target or 2) ribociclib and temozolomide to treat pediatric and young adult patients newly diagnosed with diffuse hemispheric glioma (DHG), H3G34-mutant
Who can take part?
- • Ages 12 Months to 39 Years
- • Diagnosed with high grade glioma
Where?
- • London - Great Ormond Street Hospital
This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.
About This Trial
The goal of this study is to determine the efficacy of the 1) ribociclib and everolimus to treat pediatric and young adult patients newly diagnosed with a high-grade glioma (HGG), including DIPG, that have genetic changes in pathways (cell cycle, PI3K/mTOR) that these drugs target or 2) ribociclib and temozolomide to treat pediatric and young adult patients newly diagnosed with diffuse hemispheric glioma (DHG), H3G34-mutant. The main question the study aims to answer is whether the combinations of ribociclib and everolimus or ribociclib and temozolomide can prolong the life of patients diagnosed with HGG/DIPG or DHG H3G34-mutant.
More detail
This is a multicenter, international, phase 2 study of post-radiotherapy (RT) combination of ribociclib and everolimus to treat pediatric, adolescent, and young adult patients newly diagnosed with HGG and DIPG that harbor alterations of the cell cycle and/or PI3K/mTOR pathways to assess treatment efficacy (Stratum A-D Part 2). The study will include a feasibility cohort (Strata A-D, Part 1) to identify the dose of ribociclib PfOS (Powder for Oral Suspension) that is safe and tolerable in combination with everolimus. Efficacy for Strata A-D Part 2 study will be defined by progression-free survival (PFS; HGG \[stratum A\]) and Overall Survival (OS; DIPG \[stratum B\]), with key longitudinal biomarker correlatives. Outcomes among patients with primary thalamic, spinal cord, and/or secondary (radiation related) HGG (strata C) will be descriptively analyzed. Objective radiographic response rates and agent-specific toxicities will also be assessed, with a feasibility cohort to determine the recommended phase 2 dose (RP2D) of the combination of ribociclib and everolimus in patients with metastatic disease who received upfront craniospinal irradiation (stratum D). The study was amended in October 2025 to also include an additional stratum, Stratum E, which will serve patients with localized DHG, H3G34-mutant with the combination of ribociclib and temozolomide. As most DHG, H3G34-mutant tumors are MGMT promoter methylated and receive temozolomide as part of standard of care, we are studying the adjuvant combination of ribociclib and temozolomide following upfront RT. Stratum E will open with a Phase 1 Run-In to determine the RP2D of ribociclib PfOS formulation in combination with temozolomide in patients newly-diagnosed with DHG, H3G34-mutant post-RT, with PK testing. Once the RP2D is determined, patients with localized DHG, H3G34-mutant will be enrolled on the Stratum E efficacy expansion cohort to descriptively assess survival outcomes, with similar longitudinal biomarker correlatives to the other strata. Protocol therapy with the maintenance combination of either 1) ribociclib and everolimus or 2) ribociclib and temozolomide must begin no later than 35 calendar days post-completion of RT. The earliest patients can begin protocol treatment is 28 calendar days post-completion of RT. Each cycle will be 28 days in duration and treatment can continue up to a total of 26 cycles. For Strata A-D, Ribociclib will be given orally once daily for 3 weeks (days 1-21), with one week off. Everolimus will be given orally daily continuously (days 1-28). For Stratum E, Ribociclib will be given orally once daily for 3 weeks (days 1-21), and temozolomide will be given days 1-5 for the first 13 cycles (Year 1), and ribociclib alone will be given orally once daily for 3 weeks (days 1-21) for the subsequent 13 cycles (Year 2).
How this trial compares with your answers
Answer 2 more questions to improve match
What we know so far
Still need:
- • Tell us your age for better matching
- • Tell us your sex for better matching
Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.
Eligibility at a Glance
Key info
- Age: 12 Months - 39 Years
- Who can join: All genders
- How fit you need to be: Good overall fitness (Karnofsky 50)
Biomarkers mentioned
Treatment history
Treatments you must have had:
- ✓ histologic confirmation tumor tissue from diagnostic biopsy or resection, without exceptions
- ✓ received photon or proton RT
- ✓ been administered at a standard dose including (54 Gy in 30 fractions for DIPG, 54-59
What the study is looking for
- ✓Inclusion criteria already met to enroll on TarGeT-SCR (central molecular and histopathologic screening) based on:
- ✓For the diagnosis of DIPG, patients must have a tumor with pontine epicenter and diffuse involvement of at least 2/3...
- ✓All other HGGs must be WHO grade 3 or 4.
- ✓3) Disease status: There are no disease status requirements for enrollment
- ✓Patients without cancer that can be measured on scans are eligible.
See the full criteria
Where Is This Study? (1 UK site)
Great Ormond Street Hospital
London WC1N 3JH, United Kingdom
How to Get in Touch
Kelsey H Troyer, PhD
Sponsor contactCONTACT
