At a glance
- What the study gets you
- Access to the study treatment being tested
- Type of study
- Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
- Time in hospital
- In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
- Drug or intervention
- Glofitamab (drug), Polatuzumab vedotin (drug), Obinutuzumab (drug)
- How long the study runs
- Study runs about 47 months (dates as stated)
- About the drug or intervention
- Glofitamab — drug: Glofitamab is given intravenously at a dose of 2.5mg over 4 hours on Cycle 1 Day 8. · Polatuzumab vedotin — drug: Polatuzumab is given intravenously at a dose of 1.8mg/kg on Cycle 1 Day 2, and then Day 1 of Cycle 2-Cycle 6. · Obinutuzumab — drug: Obinutuzumab pre-treatment is given intravenously at a dose of 1g on Cycle 1 Day 1.
- Patient visit burden
- Not specified by the sponsor
- Type of study
- Testing a treatment
- Ages
- 18 Years and over
- Who
- All
- Number of participants
- 99
- Started
- 2024-08-16
- Last checked
- 2024-12
Plain English Summary
What is this study?
- • Testing a new treatment for large b-cell lymphoma
- • Phase2 - 99 participants
- • The PORTAL study will test a new combination of drugs (glofitamab, polatuzumab vedotin and obinutuzumab) in patients with large B-cell lymphoma (LBCL) that has come back (relapsed) or not responded to previous treatment
Who can take part?
- • Ages 18 Years and over
- • Diagnosed with large b-cell lymphoma
Where?
- • London - Kings College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
- • London - University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
- • Manchester - The Christie NHS Foundation Trust
- • Nottingham - Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust
- • +1 more UK sites
This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.
About This Trial
The PORTAL study will test a new combination of drugs (glofitamab, polatuzumab vedotin and obinutuzumab) in patients with large B-cell lymphoma (LBCL) that has come back (relapsed) or not responded to previous treatment. It will determine how safe and effective the combination of these cancer drugs is in treating LBCL before and after CAR-T cell therapy.
More detail
This is a phase 2, open label trial conducted in 2 parts. The overall aim is: Part 1: To determine the efficacy of Pola-Glofit as bridging treatment to CAR-T cell therapy in patients with relapsed or refractory large B cell lymphomas. Part 2: To determine the efficacy of Pola-Glofit in patients with relapsed or refractory large B cell lymphomas who have failed to achieve CMR, or progressed after CAR-T cell therapy. Treatment consists of: Part 1: Patients will receive 2 cycles of Pola-Glofit. Obinutuzumab is given 7 days before the first dose of Glofit. After 2 cycles, patients have a PET-CT scan to check the response. If the scan shows a response and the patient is still suitable for CAR-T, patients will receive planned CAR-T therapy. If the patient is not suitable to continue with CAR-T, patients can receive up to 4 more cycles of Pola-Glofit, and then 6 cycles of Glofit. Part 2: Patients will receive 6 cycles of Pola-Glofit, and then 6 cycles of Glofit. Obinutuzumab is given 7 days before the first dose of Glofit. For both Part 1 and Part 2, all cycles are 21 days. A step-up dosing regimen will be followed: * Cycle 1 Day 1: Obinutuzumab is given intravenously at a dose of 1g over 4-5 hours. * Cycle 1 Day 2: Polatuzumab is given intravenously at a dose of 1.8mg/kg over 90 minutes. * Cycle 1 Day 8: Glofitamab is given intravenously at a dose of 2.5mg over 4 hours. Patients need to stay in hospital for 24 hours. * Cycle 1 Day 15: Glofitamab is given intravenously at a dose of 10mg over 2 hours. (Patients may need to stay in hospital for 24 hours.) * From Cycle 2-6, Polatuzumab is given intravenously at a dose of 1.8mg/kg over 30 minutes on Day 1, and Glofitamab is given intravenously at a dose of 30mg over 2 hours on Day 1. * From Cycle 7-12, Glofitamab is given intravenously at a dose of 30mg over 2 hours on Day 1. Patients will be followed up until the last patient completes their 1 year post-treatment follow up visit.
How this trial compares with your answers
Answer 2 more questions to improve match
What we know so far
Still need:
- • Tell us your age for better matching
- • Tell us your sex for better matching
Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.
Eligibility at a Glance
Key info
- Age: 18 Years and over
- Who can join: All genders
Biomarkers mentioned
What the study is looking for
- ✓Part 1: Relapsed or refractory disease and eligible for CAR T-cell therapy in the UK and in need of systemic...
- ✓At least one measurable target lesion
- ✓Patient has recent archival biopsy tissue available or is willing to undergo a new biopsy.
- ✓ECOG performance status:
- ✓Part 1: ECOG PS 0/1
Who cannot take part
- ✗Patients with known active infection
- ✗Current ≥ Grade 2 peripheral neuropathy
- ✗History of confirmed progressive multifocal leukoencephalopathy
- ✗Current evidence of CNS lymphoma
- ✗Patients with another invasive cancer in the last 2 years
See the full criteria
Where Is This Study? (5 UK sites)
Kings College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
London, United Kingdom
University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
London, United Kingdom
Rajinder Sidhu - Associate Director, Research Governance and Operations
uclh.jro-communications@nhs.net020 3447 9825The Christie NHS Foundation Trust
Manchester, United Kingdom
Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Churchill Hospital
Oxford, United Kingdom
How to Get in Touch
PORTAL Trial Manager
Sponsor contactCONTACT
