At a glance
- What the study gets you
- Access to the study treatment being tested
- Type of study
- Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
- Time in hospital
- In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
- Drug or intervention
- Frexalimab (drug), Placebo (drug), Insulin (drug)
- How long the study runs
- Study runs about 82 months (dates as stated)
- About the drug or intervention
- Frexalimab — drug: IV Infusion at Day 1 SC Injection from W2 to W102 (part A and part B); SC Injection from W2 to W50(part C) · Placebo — drug: IV Infusion at Day 1 SC Injection from W2 to W102 (part A and part B); SC Injection from W2 to W50(part C) · Insulin — drug: SC injection, dose and frequency will be established and/or adjusted by investigator
- Patient visit burden
- Not specified by the sponsor
- Type of study
- Testing a treatment
- Ages
- 6 Years to 35 Years
- Who
- All
- Number of participants
- 197
- Started
- 2023-12-11
- Last checked
- 2026-06
Plain English Summary
What is this study?
- • Testing a new treatment for type 1 diabetes mellitus
- • Phase2 - 197 participants
- • This is a randomized, parallel group, double-blind Phase 2 study with a blinded extension evaluating the safety and efficacy of 3 dose levels of frexalimab in comparison with placebo in participants with newly diagnosed T1D on insulin treatment
Who can take part?
- • Ages 6 Years to 35 Years
- • Diagnosed with type 1 diabetes mellitus
Where?
- • Cambridge - Investigational Site Number : 8260001
- • Dundee - Investigational Site Number : 8260009
- • Birmingham - Investigational Site Number : 8260003
- • Birmingham - Investigational Site Number : 8260007
- • +3 more UK sites
This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.
About This Trial
This is a randomized, parallel group, double-blind Phase 2 study with a blinded extension evaluating the safety and efficacy of 3 dose levels of frexalimab in comparison with placebo in participants with newly diagnosed T1D on insulin treatment. Study details include: Screening period: at least 3 weeks and up to 5 weeks. Enrollment date of the participant must take into consideration this constraint) Double-blind treatment period (104 weeks for Part A and Part B; 52 weeks for Part C): Main treatment period: 52 weeks for Parts A and B, 26 weeks for Part C Blinded extension: 52 weeks (for Part A and Part B, 26 weeks for Part C) Optional OLE period: 104 weeks for all parts Safety follow-up: 26 weeks The treatment duration will be up to 104 weeks for Part A and Part B or 52 weeks for Part C, the total study duration will be up to 135 weeks for Part A and Part B or 83 weeks for Part C. If participants enter the OLE period, the treatment duration will be up to 208 weeks for Part A and Part B or 156 weeks for Part C, and the total study duration will be 240 weeks approximately for Part A and Part B or 188 weeks for Part C.
How this trial compares with your answers
Answer 2 more questions to improve match
What we know so far
Still need:
- • Tell us your age for better matching
- • Tell us your sex for better matching
Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.
Eligibility at a Glance
Key info
- Age: 6 Years - 35 Years
- Who can join: All genders
Biomarkers mentioned
What the study is looking for
- ✓Participants who meet the criteria of T1D according to American Diabetes Association
- ✓Initiated exogenous insulin replacement therapy not longer than 90 days prior to screening visit at which random...
- ✓Receiving at least one of the following T1D the usual treatment (SOC), insulin hormone replacement therapy
- ✓one or multiple daily injections (MDI) of basal insulin, prandial insulin and/or premixed insulin, or
- ✓continuous subcutaneous insulin infusion (CSII)
Who cannot take part
- ✗History or current hypogammaglobulinemia.
- ✗History of cancer of any organ system, treated or untreated, within 5 years of screening, regardless of whether...
- ✗Systemic corticosteroids (duration \> 7 days), adrenocorticotropic hormone 1 month prior to screening.
- ✗Any IV, IM or SC administered biologic treatments, \< 3 months or \< than 5 half-lives (whichever is longer), prior...
- ✗Any live (attenuated or viral-vector) vaccine (including but not limited to varicella zoster, oral polio, nasal...
See the full criteria
Where Is This Study? (7 UK sites)
Investigational Site Number : 8260001
Cambridge CB2 2QQ, United Kingdom
Investigational Site Number : 8260009
Dundee DD1 9SY, United Kingdom
Investigational Site Number : 8260003
Birmingham B15 2TH, United Kingdom
Investigational Site Number : 8260007
Birmingham B4 6NH, United Kingdom
Investigational Site Number : 8260010
Glasgow G51 4TF, United Kingdom
Investigational Site Number : 8260004
Leicester LE5 4PW, United Kingdom
Investigational Site Number : 8260006
Harrow HA1 3UJ, United Kingdom
