Skip to main content
UK clinical trials - updated daily from ClinicalTrials.gov
TrialConnect
← Back to Search
Looking for participantsNA

Atrial Fibrillation Ablation Versus Atrioventricular Nodal Ablation with Conduction System Pacing in Heart Failure

Sponsor: University Hospital, Geneva

NCT ID: NCT06207383

View on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

At a glance

What the study gets you
Access to the study treatment being tested
Type of study
Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
Time in hospital
In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
Drug or intervention
Conduction system pacing (device), Atrioventricular nodal ablation (procedure), Atrial fibrillation ablation (procedure)
How long the study runs
Study runs about 50 months (dates as stated)
About the drug or intervention
Conduction system pacing — device: Conduction system pacing (either His bundle pacing or left bundle branch area pacing) · Atrioventricular nodal ablation — procedure: Catheter ablation of the atrioventricular node · Atrial fibrillation ablation — procedure: Catheter ablation of atrial fibrillation with pulmonary vein isolation (using technique of operator's choice, with additional lesions if deemed necessary)
Patient visit burden
Not specified by the sponsor

In plain English

This study looks at two treatments for people with persistent atrial fibrillation (an irregular heart rhythm that does not stop on its own) and heart failure. It compares ablation to treat the atrial fibrillation itself against ablation of the atrioventricular node (the heart's electrical 'junction') combined with conduction system pacing, where a device helps control the heartbeat.

Who can take part

  • Persistent atrial fibrillation with symptoms of heart failure despite medication, and considered suitable for atrial fibrillation ablation, with no more than one previous pulmonary vein isolation procedure
  • At least one hospital admission, emergency room visit, or heart failure clinic visit in the past 2 years, with high levels of certain heart blood tests (NT-pro-BNP over 1000 pg/ml or BNP over 250 pg/ml)
  • Previous or current treatment with rate or rhythm control medicines
  • Age over 60 years

Who may not be able to

  • Severe heart failure (NYHA Class IV) with systolic blood pressure of 80 mmHg or below despite the best treatment
  • Life expectancy of less than 2 years
  • Need for major surgery
  • Heart attack, stroke, or a procedure to open heart arteries (PCI) in the past 3 months
  • A pacemaker or CRT (cardiac resynchronisation therapy) device already fitted or planned (an ICD, a device that shocks dangerous rhythms, without a pacing need is acceptable)
  • Taking part in another controlled trial
  • Unable to give informed consent

What taking part involves

  • • Being placed into one of two groups: atrial fibrillation ablation, or atrioventricular node ablation combined with conduction system pacing
  • • Further details of the procedures and follow-up — Not stated — ask the trial team

Time commitment: Not stated — ask the trial team (number of visits and how long the study lasts are not given in the registry record).

Plain-English summary (AI-generated) from registry data. Not eligibility advice — only the trial team can confirm whether you can take part. Use the eligibility checker to see how your health profile matches this trial.

Type of study
Testing a treatment
Ages
60 Years and over
Who
All
Number of participants
220
Started
2024-10-01
Last checked
2024-12

Plain English Summary

What is this study?

  • • Testing a new treatment for atrial fibrillation, persistent
  • • NA - 220 participants
  • • The goal of this clinical trial is to evaluate two treatment strategies in patients with chronic atrial fibrillation and heart failure, who are eligible for atrial fibrillation ablation

Who can take part?

  • • Ages 60 Years and over
  • • Diagnosed with atrial fibrillation, persistent

Where?

  • • London - National Heart and Lung Institute, Imperial College London

This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.

About This Trial

The goal of this clinical trial is to evaluate two treatment strategies in patients with chronic atrial fibrillation and heart failure, who are eligible for atrial fibrillation ablation. Patients will be randomized to either atrial fibrillation ablation or to implantation of a pacemaker with conduction system pacing followed by atrioventricular node ablation. The effect of treatment allocation on total mortality, cardiovascular hospitalization and heart failure hospitalization will be compared.

More detail

Aim To compare clinical outcome with a strategy of conduction system pacing and atrioventricular nodal ablation (CSP+AVNA), versus atrial fibrillation (AF) ablation by pulmonary vein isolation (PVI) in patients with persistent atrial fibrillation (AF) and heart failure (HF), to guide future management of these patients. Hypotheses 1. CSP+AVNA is superior to AF ablation in patients with persistent AF and HF for reducing mortality and cardiovascular hospitalization. 2. CSP+AVNA is non-inferior to AF ablation in patients with persistent AF for reducing mortality and heart failure hospitalization. Design Investigator-initiated, prospective randomized, controlled, open-label, multicentre study conducted in \~ 30 centres from 14 countries in Europe with expertise in CSP and AF ablation. Sample size 220 patients Study duration 4 years

Atrial Fibrillation, PersistentHeart Failure

How this trial compares with your answers

Answer 2 more questions to improve match

What we know so far

Condition· Matched your search
Age· Tell us your age for better matching
Gender· Tell us your sex for better matching

Still need:

  • • Tell us your age for better matching
  • • Tell us your sex for better matching

Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.

Eligibility at a Glance

Key info

  • Age: 60 Years and over
  • Who can join: All genders

What the study is looking for

  • ✓(i) Persistent AF with causing symptoms HF despite medical therapy, considered to be suitable for AF ablation, with at...
  • ✓(iii) Previous or current rate or rhythm control drug therapy. (iv) Age \> 60 years

Who cannot take part

  • ✗(i) NYHA Class IV and systolic blood pressure ≤80 mmHg despite optimized therapy.
  • ✗(vi) Participation in another controlled trial. (vii) Inability to sign and agreement to take part form.
See the full criteria
Inclusion Criteria: (i) Persistent AF with symptomatic HF despite medical therapy, considered to be suitable for AF ablation, with at most one previous PVI procedure. (ii) At least one prior hospital admission, or emergency room / HF clinic visit for HF in the past 2 years, with NT-pro-BNP \> 1000 pg/ml or BNP \> 250 pg/ml measured at any timepoint during this interval. (iii) Previous or current rate or rhythm control drug therapy. (iv) Age \> 60 years Exclusion Criteria: (i) NYHA Class IV and systolic blood pressure ≤80 mmHg despite optimized therapy. (ii) Life expectancy \< 2 years. (iii) Need for major surgical intervention. (iv) Myocardial infarction, stroke or PCI within the previous 3 months. (v) Previously implanted or planned implantation of CRT device or pacemaker. Implantable cardioverter defibrillator (ICD) implantation without a pacing indication is acceptable. (vi) Participation in another controlled trial. (vii) Inability to sign and informed consent form.

Where Is This Study? (1 UK site)

National Heart and Lung Institute, Imperial College London

London, United Kingdom

NOT_YET_RECRUITING
Site contact (verified)

How to Get in Touch

Haran Burri

Sponsor contact

CONTACT

+41794616217 haran.burri@hcuge.ch

Nikola Kozhuharov

Sponsor contact

CONTACT

+41764439086 nikola.kozhuharov@googlemail.com
Data sourced from ClinicalTrials.gov · Last verified: 2024-12