At a glance
- What the study gets you
- Access to the study treatment being tested
- Type of study
- Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
- Time in hospital
- In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
- Drug or intervention
- BHV-7000 (drug), BHV-7000 (drug), Placebo (drug)
- How long the study runs
- Study runs about 29 months (dates as stated)
- About the drug or intervention
- BHV-7000 — drug: BHV-7000 50 mg. · BHV-7000 — drug: BHV-7000 75 mg. · Placebo — drug: Matching placebo taken once daily
- Patient visit burden
- Not specified by the sponsor
- Type of study
- Testing a treatment
- Ages
- 18 Years to 75 Years
- Who
- All
- Number of participants
- 390
- Started
- 2024-05-13
- Last checked
- 2026-08
Plain English Summary
What is this study?
- • Testing a new treatment for focal epilepsy
- • Phase2/Phase3 - 390 participants
- • The purpose of this study is to determine whether BHV-7000 is effective in the treatment of refractory focal epilepsy
Who can take part?
- • Ages 18 Years to 75 Years
- • Diagnosed with focal epilepsy
Where?
- • Swansea - Morriston Hospital
- • Glasgow - Queen Elizabeth University Hospital-PPDS
- • Salford - Salford Royal Hospital - PPDS
- • Oxford - John Radcliffe Hospital
- • +5 more UK sites
This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.
About This Trial
The purpose of this study is to determine whether BHV-7000 is effective in the treatment of refractory focal epilepsy.
How this trial compares with your answers
Answer 2 more questions to improve match
What we know so far
Still need:
- • Tell us your age for better matching
- • Tell us your sex for better matching
Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.
Eligibility at a Glance
Key info
- Age: 18 Years - 75 Years
- Who can join: All genders
What the study is looking for
- ✓Male and Female participants 18 to 75 years of age at time of consent.
- ✓Ability to keep accurate seizure diaries
- ✓Current treatment with at least 1 and up to 3 ASMs and 4 epilepsy treatments in total
Who cannot take part
- ✗History of repetitive/cluster seizures (where individual seizures cannot be counted) within the last 6 months prior...
- ✗Resection neurosurgery for seizures \<4 months prior to the screening visit.
- ✗Radiosurgery performed \<2 years prior to the screening visit.
See the full criteria
Where Is This Study? (9 UK sites)
Morriston Hospital
Swansea SA6 6NL, United Kingdom
Queen Elizabeth University Hospital-PPDS
Glasgow G51 4TF, United Kingdom
Salford Royal Hospital - PPDS
Salford M6 8HD, United Kingdom
John Radcliffe Hospital
Oxford OX3 9DU, United Kingdom
University Hospital of Wales
Cardiff CF14 4XW, United Kingdom
King's College Hospital
London SE5 9RS, United Kingdom
St Georges NHS Foundation Trust
London SW17 0QT, United Kingdom
Tania West, R&D Governance & Clinical Trials Manager
tania.west@swlstg.nhs.uk020 3513 6420The Royal London Hospital
London WC1N 3HR, United Kingdom
Royal Victoria Infirmary
Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4LP, United Kingdom
