Skip to main content
UK clinical trials - updated daily from ClinicalTrials.gov
TrialConnect
← Back to Search
ACTIVE NOT RECRUITINGPhase3

A Study Comparing Niraparib With Temozolomide in Adult Participants With Newly-diagnosed, MGMT Unmethylated Glioblastoma

Sponsor: Ivy Brain Tumor Center

NCT ID: NCT06388733

View on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

At a glance

What the study gets you
Access to the study treatment being tested
Type of study
Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
Time in hospital
In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
Drug or intervention
Niraparib (drug), Temozolomide (drug)
How long the study runs
Study runs about 45 months (dates as stated)
About the drug or intervention
Niraparib — drug: Participants will receive niraparib 200 mg orally once daily starting on Day 1 of RT. · Temozolomide — drug: Participants randomized to the comparator arm (Arm B) will receive SOC TMZ 75 mg/m2 orally once daily with RT starting on Day 1 of RT.
Patient visit burden
Not specified by the sponsor
Type of study
Testing a treatment
Ages
18 Years and over
Who
All
Number of participants
450
Started
2024-06-19
Last checked
2026-06

Plain English Summary

What is this study?

  • • Testing a new treatment for glioblastoma
  • • Phase3 - 450 participants
  • • The goal of this Phase 3 clinical trial is to compare the efficacy of niraparib versus temozolomide (TMZ) in adult participants with newly-diagnosed, MGMT unmethylated glioblastoma multiforme (GBM)

Who can take part?

  • • Ages 18 Years and over
  • • Diagnosed with glioblastoma

Where?

  • • Bristol - Bristol Haematology and Oncology Centre
  • • Cambridge - Addenbrooke's Hospital
  • • Manchester - The Christie Hospital
  • • Metropolitan Borough of Wirral - The Clatterbridge Cancer Centre
  • • +4 more UK sites

This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.

About This Trial

The goal of this Phase 3 clinical trial is to compare the efficacy of niraparib versus temozolomide (TMZ) in adult participants with newly-diagnosed, MGMT unmethylated glioblastoma multiforme (GBM). The main question it aims to answer is: Does niraparib improve overall survival (OS) compared to TMZ? Participants will be randomly assigned to one of two treatment arms: niraparib or TMZ. * study drug (Niraparib) or * comparator drug (Temozolomide - which is the standard approved treatment for MGMT unmethylated glioblastoma). The study medication will be taken daily while receiving standard of care radiation therapy (RT) for 6-7 weeks. Participants may continue to take the niraparib or TMZ adjuvantly as long as the cancer does not get worse or completion of 6 cycles of treatment (TMZ). A total of 450 participants will be enrolled in the study. Participants' tasks will include: * Complete study visits as scheduled * Complete a diary to record study medication

GlioblastomaGBMBrain Neoplasms, Adult, MalignantBrain Tumor

How this trial compares with your answers

Answer 2 more questions to improve match

What we know so far

Condition· Matched your search
Age· Tell us your age for better matching
Gender· Tell us your sex for better matching

Still need:

  • • Tell us your age for better matching
  • • Tell us your sex for better matching

Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.

Eligibility at a Glance

Key info

  • Age: 18 Years and over
  • Who can join: All genders

What the study is looking for

  • ✓1\. Histologic documentation of a newly-diagnosed intracranial GBM, per 2021 WHO classification guidelines through...
  • ✓2\. Age ≥18 years at the time of signing agreement to take part.
  • ✓5\. Suitability for SOC RT to 60 Gy in 30 fractions using ESTRO-EANO 'single phase' targeting approach \[Niyazi,...
  • ✓6\. No prior treatment for GBM (including brachytherapy or BCNU wafers), other than surgical resection or biopsy.
  • ✓9\. The participant must be capable of providing signed agreement to take part, including compliance with the requirements...

Who cannot take part

  • ✗1\. Presence of that has spread or predominant leptomeningeal disease.
  • ✗2\. Current active pneumonitis or any history of pneumonitis requiring steroids (any dose) or immunomodulatory...
  • ✗4\. Any clinically significant gastrointestinal abnormalities that may alter absorption such as malabsorption...
  • ✗6\. Known human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) unless participants meet all of the following criteria:
  • ✗Cluster of differentiation 4 ≥350/µL and viral load \<400 copies/mL.
See the full criteria
Inclusion Criteria: * 1\. Histologic documentation of a newly-diagnosed intracranial GBM, per 2021 WHO classification guidelines through local pathology review. * 2\. Age ≥18 years at the time of signing informed consent. * 3\. Sufficient tissue available for retrospective central pathology review, retrospective central confirmation of MGMT promoter methylation status and genomic analysis. If insufficient tissue is available,pproval may be granted on a case-by-case basis after a review. * 4\. Unmethylated MGMT promoter region determined locally by a validated PSQ or qMS-PCR assay compliant to local regulations. Numerical cut-off for an MGMT unmethylated tumor will be defined in the protocol. * 5\. Suitability for SOC RT to 60 Gy in 30 fractions using ESTRO-EANO 'single phase' targeting approach \[Niyazi, 2023\], per investigator's judgment. * 6\. No prior treatment for GBM (including brachytherapy or BCNU wafers), other than surgical resection or biopsy. * 7\. Female participants: Not pregnant, planning to get pregnant, or breastfeeding and one of the following conditions apply: is of nonchildbearing potential or is of childbearing potential AND using a contraceptive method that is highly effective (with a failure rate of \<1% per year) from screening through at least 180 days after the last dose of study intervention. Breastfeeding is contraindicated during the study and for one month after the last dose of study intervention. * 8\. Male participants: Must agree to the following during the study intervention period and for at least 6 months after the last dose of study intervention: refrain from donation sperm PLUS be abstinent from heterosexual activity or agree to use a male condom and be advised of the benefit for a female partner to use a contraceptive method that is highly effective (with a failure rate of \<1% per year). * 9\. The participant must be capable of providing signed informed consent, including compliance with the requirements and restrictions listed in the ICF and in this protocol. * 10\. Karnofsky performance status of ≥70. * 11\. Adequate organ function * 12\. Normal blood pressure (BP) or adequately treated and controlled hypertension (defined as systolic BP ≤140 mmHg and diastolic BP ≤90 mmHg). * 13\. Stable or decreased dose of dexamethasone, requiring no more than 5 mg daily equivalent dose, within 7 days before randomization. * 14\. Ability to swallow oral medications whole. Exclusion Criteria: * 1\. Presence of metastatic or predominant leptomeningeal disease. * 2\. Current active pneumonitis or any history of pneumonitis requiring steroids (any dose) or immunomodulatory treatment within 90 days of planned start of the study. * 3\. Participant is at an increased bleeding risk due to concurrent conditions (e.g., major injuries or major surgery within the past 28 days prior to start of study treatment with the exception of tumor resection). * 4\. Any clinically significant gastrointestinal abnormalities that may alter absorption such as malabsorption syndrome or major resection of the stomach and/or bowels. * 5\. Has cirrhosis or current unstable liver or biliary disease per investigator assessment defined by the presence of ascites, encephalopathy, coagulopathy, hypoalbuminemia, esophageal/gastric varices, or persistent jaundice. NOTE: Stable noncirrhotic chronic liver disease (including Gilbert's syndrome or asymptomatic gallstones), hepatobiliary involvement of malignancy, or chronic stable HBV infection (in a participant for whom HDV infection has been excluded) or chronic HCV infection is acceptable if the participant otherwise meets entry criteria. * 6\. Known human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) unless participants meet all of the following criteria: * Cluster of differentiation 4 ≥350/µL and viral load \<400 copies/mL. * No history of acquired immunodeficiency syndrome-defining opportunistic infections within 12 months prior to enrollment. * No history of HIV-associated malignancy for the past 5 years. * Concurrent antiretroviral therapy as per the most current National Institutes of Health (NIH) Guidelines for the Use of Antiretroviral Agents in Adults and Adolescents Living with HIV \[NIH, 2021\] started \>4 weeks prior to study enrollment. * 7\. MDS/AML or with features suggestive of MDS/AML. * 8\. History of another malignancy within 2 years prior to registration. Participants with a past history of adequately treated carcinoma-in-situ, basal cell carcinoma of the skin, squamous cell carcinoma of the skin, or superficial transitional cell carcinoma of the bladder are eligible. Participants with a history of other malignancies are eligible if they have been treated with curative intent or continuously disease free for at least 2 years after definitive primary treatment. * 9\. Prior history of posterior reversible encephalopathy syndrome (PRES). * 10\. Any psychological, familial, sociological, or geographical condition potentially hampering compliance with the study requirements and/or follow-up procedures. * 11\. Inability to undergo MRI brain with IV contrast. * 12\. Biopsy and/or resection (whichever is later) occurring \>6 weeks prior to planned RT start date. * 13\. Surgical wound complication recovery at the time of enrollment. * 14\. Known hypersensitivity to the components of niraparib, TMZ, or their formulation excipients. * 15\. Known hypersensitivity to dacarbazine (DTIC). * 16\. Prior therapy with PARP inhibitors for systemic cancer. * 17\. Received a live vaccine within 30 days before the planned start of study intervention. Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) vaccines that do not contain live viruses are allowed. Note: mRNA and adenoviral-based COVID-19 vaccines are considered non-live. * 18\. Received a transfusion (platelets or red blood cells) or colony-stimulating factors (e.g., granulocyte macrophage colony-stimulating factor or recombinant erythropoietin) within 4 weeks of the planned start of study intervention. * 19\. Treatment with another investigational drug or other intervention within 5 half-lives of the investigational product. * 20\. Treatment with tumor treating fields (e.g., Optune) for GBM. * 21\. Presence of known isocitrate dehydrogenase (IDH) mutation. * 22\. Presence of known H3 mutation. * 23\. Previous diagnosis of WHO Grade 2 or 3 glioma.

Where Is This Study? (8 UK sites)

Bristol Haematology and Oncology Centre

Bristol BS2 8ED, United Kingdom

Addenbrooke's Hospital

Cambridge CB2 0QQ, United Kingdom

Hospital R&D contact (matched)

Stephen Kelleher

cuh.research@nhs.net01223 348490

The Christie Hospital

Manchester M20 4BX, United Kingdom

Hospital R&D contact (matched)

Research and Innovation Office

the-christie.ri@nhs.net---

The Clatterbridge Cancer Centre

Metropolitan Borough of Wirral CH63 4JY, United Kingdom

Hospital R&D contact (matched)

Dr Maria Maguire

maria.maguire2@nhs.net0151 556 5321

Velindre Cancer Centre

Cardiff CF14 2TL, United Kingdom

Hospital R&D contact (matched)

Sarah Townsend

Velindre.R&Doffice@wales.nhs.uk02920 196165

Beatson West of Scotland Cancer Centre

Glasgow G12 0YN, United Kingdom

Hospital R&D contact (matched)

Jennifer McLean

jennifer.mclean@health.scot.nhs.uk0131 537 4718

Queen Elizabeth Hospital

Birmingham B15 2TH, United Kingdom

Hospital R&D contact (matched)

Tom Dymond

research&development@qehkl.nhs.uk01553 613532

Guy's Hospital

London SE1 9RT, United Kingdom

Hospital R&D contact (matched)

Main Email: gstt.research.rbhh@nhs.net

gstt.research.rbhh@nhs.netn/a
Data sourced from ClinicalTrials.gov · Last verified: 2026-06