At a glance
- What the study gets you
- Access to the study treatment being tested
- Type of study
- Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
- Time in hospital
- In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
- Drug or intervention
- Additional electrodes into bilateral anterior, centromedian and pulvinar thalamic nuclei (procedure)
- How long the study runs
- Study runs about 39 months (dates as stated)
- About the drug or intervention
- Additional electrodes into bilateral anterior, centromedian and pulvinar thalamic nuclei — procedure: The centromedian, anterior and pulvinar nuclei on each side will be chosen as target for new electrodes; up to 6 additional electrodes may be added but, where possible, existing electrode trajectories will be extended to facilitate recording.
- Patient visit burden
- Not specified by the sponsor
- Type of study
- Testing a treatment
- Ages
- 2 Years to 20 Years
- Who
- All
- Number of participants
- 30
- Started
- 2025-09-01
- Last checked
- 2026-01
Plain English Summary
What is this study?
- • Testing a new treatment for focal epilepsy
- • NA - 30 participants
- • Stereoelectroencephalography (SEEG) forms a key part of the pre-surgical evaluation in children who may be candidates for epilepsy surgery
Who can take part?
- • Ages 2 Years to 20 Years
- • Diagnosed with focal epilepsy
Where?
- • London - Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children
This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.
About This Trial
Stereoelectroencephalography (SEEG) forms a key part of the pre-surgical evaluation in children who may be candidates for epilepsy surgery. It can help delineate the location of the putative epileptogenic zone, guiding further treatments including resective, disconnective and ablative epilepsy surgery techniques. However, less than 35% of children undergoing SEEG end up becoming seizure free following further treatment. Open and closed loop stimulation of thalamic nuclei via deep brain stimulation (DBS) and responsive neurostimulation (RNS) are emerging treatment options for epilepsy. Thalamic target nuclei vary between studies and there are currently no gold standard personalised methods for choosing a target. This stems from the limited systematic neurophysiological recordings from thalamic nuclei; investigators currently do not understand the ictal and interictal thalamic signatures of involvement in epilepsy and do not understand how functional connectivity can be altered within and between patients. In this prospective study, the investigators aim to recruit 30 patients undergoing SEEG as part of their pre-surgical evaluation for drug resistant epilepsy at Great Ormond Street Hospital over a period of 3 years. Once recruited, the investigators will target 3 nuclei bilaterally in each patient - the anterior, centromedian and pulvinar nuclei - using additional SEEG electrodes. Following clinical recording, the investigators will conduct two stimulation experiments, the first using single pulse electrical stimulation to measure effective connectivity between the thalamus and cortical regions and the second to study the effects of simulated DBS currents on cortical local field potential signatures. This study will lay the foundation for a personalised approach to thalamic neuromodulation for drug-resistant epilepsy by identifying neurophysiological biomarkers of thalamic involvement in epilepsy, paving the way for closed loop neuromodulation strategies that aim to optimise response using these biomarkers.
How this trial compares with your answers
Answer 2 more questions to improve match
What we know so far
Still need:
- • Tell us your age for better matching
- • Tell us your sex for better matching
Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.
Eligibility at a Glance
Key info
- Age: 2 Years - 20 Years
- Who can join: All genders
What the study is looking for
- ✓All children undergoing SEEG as part of their pre-surgical evaluation at GOSH
- ✓Participants/parents/legal guardian provide agreement to take part for inclusion
Who cannot take part
- ✗1\) Lack of agreement to take part
See the full criteria
Where Is This Study? (1 UK site)
Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children
London WC1N 3JH, United Kingdom
How to Get in Touch
Aswin Chari, PhD
Sponsor contactCONTACT
Martin Tisdall, MD
Sponsor contactCONTACT
