At a glance
- What the study gets you
- Access to the study treatment being tested
- Type of study
- Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
- Time in hospital
- In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
- Drug or intervention
- Upadacitinib (drug), Dupilumab (drug)
- How long the study runs
- Study runs about 71 months (dates as stated)
- About the drug or intervention
- Upadacitinib — drug: Oral Tablet or Oral Solution · Dupilumab — drug: Subcutaneous Injection
- Patient visit burden
- Not specified by the sponsor
In plain English
This AbbVie study compares two medicines for children aged 2 to under 12 with moderate to severe atopic dermatitis (a type of eczema). One medicine is upadacitinib, taken as a tablet by mouth, and the other is dupilumab, given as an injection under the skin. The study will look at side effects and changes in disease activity.
Who can take part
- Children aged 2 to under 12 with moderate to severe atopic dermatitis (eczema), weighing at least 10 kg, whose weight and height are above the 5th percentile for their age on standard growth charts
- Eczema symptoms began at least 6 months before the study starts
- Eczema is moderate to severe based on study scoring measures, affecting at least 10% of the skin, with an itch score of 4 or more
- Must meet at least one of the study's treatment-history criteria, for example: eczema has not improved enough with creams or ointments (topical treatments), or these treatments are not medically suitable; eczema has not improved enough with other body-wide (systemic) treatments; or eczema came back after steroid tablets were stopped
Who may not be able to
- Current or past other skin conditions (such as psoriasis, Netherton syndrome, or lupus) or skin infections needing treatment within 4 weeks of the start, which could affect eczema assessments
- Use of eczema creams or ointments (apart from moisturisers) within 7 days of the start, or certain other eczema medicines within set timeframes before the start (for example, dupilumab within 8 weeks, or light therapy within 4 weeks)
- Known history of detached retina, previous cataract surgery, significant eye injury, or a known eye condition present from birth
- For the main (randomised) group: an active parasitic infection, or suspected or high risk of one, unless tests have ruled it out before joining
What taking part involves
- • Taking upadacitinib by mouth (as a tablet) or receiving dupilumab as an injection under the skin
- • Not stated — ask the trial team
Time commitment: Visit and study duration details are not stated — ask the trial team; taking part involves receiving one of two study medicines and being monitored for side effects and changes in eczema activity.
Plain-English summary (AI-generated) from registry data. Not eligibility advice — only the trial team can confirm whether you can take part. Use the eligibility checker to see how your health profile matches this trial.
- Type of study
- Testing a treatment
- Ages
- 2 Years to 11 Years
- Who
- All
- Number of participants
- 675
- Started
- 2024-08-19
- Last checked
- 2026-08
Plain English Summary
What is this study?
- • Testing a new treatment for atopic dermatitis
- • Phase3 - 675 participants
- • Atopic dermatitis (AD) is a skin condition that may cause a rash and itching due to inflammation of the skin
Who can take part?
- • Ages 2 Years to 11 Years
- • Diagnosed with atopic dermatitis
Where?
- • Plymouth - University Hospitals Plymouth NHS Trust /ID# 266980
- • London - St Thomas' Hospital - Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust /ID# 265237
- • London - Chelsea and Westminster Hospital /ID# 266389
- • London - St George University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust /ID# 266984
- • +4 more UK sites
This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.
About This Trial
Atopic dermatitis (AD) is a skin condition that may cause a rash and itching due to inflammation of the skin. Topical therapies applied over the skin may not be enough to control the AD in trial participants who require systemic anti-inflammatory treatment. This study compares upadacitinib to dupilumab in pediatric participants with moderate to severe AD who are candidates for systemic therapy. Adverse events and change in the disease activity will be assessed. Upadacitinib is an approved drug for treating AD patients aged 12 or older. Participants will receive upadacitinib (given as daily dose) or dupilumab (given at label indicated dose every 2 or 4 weeks). Participants will be stratified depending on disease severity, age and response to previous treatment. There is 1 in 5 chance for participants to receive dupilumab during the randomized cohort. Approximately 675 participants aged 2 to less than 12 years of age will be enrolled in this study at approximately 150 sites worldwide. The study population (As defined by participants age or prior treatment) to be enrolled in the study is dependent on local regulatory requirement and/or agreement. Participants will receive upadacitinib oral tablets once daily (or oral solution twice a day) for 160 weeks, or dupilumab as per its label for 52 weeks, and followed for 30 days after the last dose of upadacitinib and at least 12 weeks after the last dose of dupilumab. There may be higher treatment burden for participants in this trial compared to their standard of care . Participants will attend regular visits during the study at a hospital or clinic. The effect of the treatment will be checked by clinical assessments, blood tests, checking for side effects and completing questionnaires.
How this trial compares with your answers
Answer 2 more questions to improve match
What we know so far
Still need:
- • Tell us your age for better matching
- • Tell us your sex for better matching
Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.
Eligibility at a Glance
Key info
- Age: 2 Years - 11 Years
- Who can join: All genders
Treatment history
Treatments you must have had:
- ✓ severe AD \[vIGA-AD = 4\] in countries where dupilumab is approved only for severe AD
What the study is looking for
- ✓A minimum weight of 10 kg and weight and height \> 5th percentile for their age according to local standard growth...
- ✓Atopic Dermatitis (AD), according to Hanifin and Rajka criteria, with onset of symptoms at least 6 months prior to...
- ✓To be included in the randomly assigned Cohort (Note: Participants must have severe AD \[vIGA-AD = 4\] in countries where...
- ✓To be included in the Dupi-IR/Dupi-Medically Inadvisable Cohort:
- ✓Previous inadequate response or intolerance to dupilumab OR
Who cannot take part
- ✗treatment that goes through your whole body for AD, including but not limited to corticosteroids, methotrexate, cyclosporine, azathioprine,...
- ✗Dupilumab within 8 weeks;
- ✗Targeted biologic treatments (other than dupilumab) within 5 half-lives (if known) or within 12 weeks, whichever is...
- ✗Phototherapy treatment, laser therapy, tanning booth, or extended sun exposure that could affect disease severity or...
- ✗Known history of retinal detachment, previous cataract surgery, previous significant ocular trauma, or a known...
See the full criteria
Where Is This Study? (8 UK sites)
University Hospitals Plymouth NHS Trust /ID# 266980
Plymouth PL6 8DH, United Kingdom
St Thomas' Hospital - Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust /ID# 265237
London SE1 7EH, United Kingdom
Chelsea and Westminster Hospital /ID# 266389
London SW10 9NH, United Kingdom
St George University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust /ID# 266984
London SW17 0QT, United Kingdom
University Hospital Southampton /ID# 266655
Southampton SO16 6YD, United Kingdom
Queen Elizabeth University Hospital - NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde /ID# 265219
Glasgow G51 4TF, United Kingdom
Royal Manchester Children'S Hospital /ID# 267693
Manchester M13 9WL, United Kingdom
Royal Victoria Infirmary /ID# 265238
Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4LP, United Kingdom
How to Get in Touch
ABBVIE CALL CENTER
Sponsor contactCONTACT
