At a glance
- What the study gets you
- Health checks and monitoring — no treatment given
- Type of study
- Observational (no treatment given)
- Time in hospital
- In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
- Drug or intervention
- Amplatzer™ Occlusion Devices (device), Epic™ Surgical Tissue Heart Valve devices (device)
- How long the study runs
- Study runs about 183 months (dates as stated)
- About the drug or intervention
- Amplatzer™ Occlusion Devices — device: The Amplatzer™ Occluders are devices intended for the occlusion of multiple septal heart defects. · Epic™ Surgical Tissue Heart Valve devices — device: The Epic™ valves are indicated for patients requiring replacement of a diseased, damaged, or malfunctioning native aortic/mitral heart valve.
- Patient visit burden
- Not specified by the sponsor
In plain English
This is a registry run by Abbott Medical Devices that collects information about people with heart conditions such as atrial septal defect (a hole between the upper heart chambers), muscular ventricular septal defect (a hole in the muscle between the lower heart chambers), patent foramen ovale (a hole between the upper heart chambers that did not close after birth), post-infarct muscular ventricular septal defect (a hole that forms after a heart attack), and heart valve disease. It follows people who have an Abbott Structural Heart device implanted, or have already had one implanted.
Who can take part
- You are expected to have an Abbott Structural Heart device implanted, or you had an implant attempt within the timeframes set out for your specific device.
- You are willing and able to attend the standard follow-up appointments at your hospital or clinic.
- You are willing to give informed consent to take part. For people enrolled after their death, local rules and ethics committee recommendations about consent and protecting personal data must be followed.
Who may not be able to
- You are taking part in another clinical study that would affect the results of this registry.
What taking part involves
- • Not stated — ask the trial team. The registry records information about Abbott Structural Heart device implants, but details of the procedures are not stated in the registry entry.
Time commitment: Not stated — ask the trial team. Taking part involves attending the site's standard follow-up appointments, but the number of visits and how long the registry lasts are not stated.
Plain-English summary (AI-generated) from registry data. Not eligibility advice — only the trial team can confirm whether you can take part. Use the eligibility checker to see how your health profile matches this trial.
- Type of study
- Observing health over time
- Ages
- Not specified
- Who
- All
- Number of participants
- 2,500
- Started
- 2024-08-21
- Last checked
- 2026-04
Plain English Summary
What is this study?
- • Testing a new treatment for heart diseases
- • Clinical study - 2,500 participants
- • The Abbott Structural Heart (SH) Registry is being conducted to confirm the safety and performance of Abbott's SH devices in a post-market, real-world setting
Who can take part?
- • Adults
- • Diagnosed with heart diseases
Where?
- • London - Royal Brompton Hospital
- • London - St. Thomas Hospital
This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.
About This Trial
The Abbott Structural Heart (SH) Registry is being conducted to confirm the safety and performance of Abbott's SH devices in a post-market, real-world setting. The Registry primarily involves gathering data from routine hospital practices and standard-of-care (SOC) procedures administered to patients. All devices used in these procedures must be commercially available to the participating site. A list of specific devices covered by the Registry are available upon request from the Sponsor. Data generated by the Registry will be used to meet regulatory requirements, such as the European Union Medical Device Regulations 2017/745, that require active post-market clinical follow-up (PMCF) for all commercially available devices.
More detail
The Abbott SH Device Registry is designed to confirm the safety and performance of commercially available Abbott SH devices as they are used in routine hospital practice or SOC procedures. Patients will be screened for eligibility and willingness to participate prior to the procedure or, if enrolled retrospectively, within the following timeframes: * Amplatzer portion: within 7 days post-procedure * Cardiac Surgery portion (The ENDURE Study): within 6 months post-procedure. All patients who provide informed consent and undergo an implant attempt with an applicable Abbott SH device are eligible to participate in the Registry. The Registry anticipates that approximately 500 subjects per year will be enrolled. The projected enrollment period is at least 5 years. The Registry will be conducted at approximately 25 sites worldwide. Additional sites may be approached for participation in the Registry as needed. Follow-up visits should align with the site's routine SOC visits for the associated procedure. Data collection will occur post-screening and consent and at post-procedure SOC follow-up visit(s). Where applicable, follow-up visits may occur over the telephone, virtually, or in-office, following SOC practice. The follow-up duration will depend on the Abbott device(s) used during the procedure. Certain devices will utilize data collection at discharge (or 7 days post procedure, whichever comes first), short-term (1 - 3 months as applicable), a mid-term (6 months), and long-term follow-up (12 months) visits to support clinical safety and performance data requirements. Alternatively, some devices will have follow-up visits extending up to 10 years to monitor subjects throughout the devices' lifetime. A surgical valve-specific "Line Extension Sub-Study" is included in the protocol to collect data at European sites with the intention of applying for approval in the US for 2 specific surgical aortic valve sizes (Epic Max 27mm, and the Epic Plus Supra 29mm).
How this trial compares with your answers
Answer 2 more questions to improve match
What we know so far
Still need:
- • Tell us your age for better matching
- • Tell us your sex for better matching
Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.
Eligibility at a Glance
Key info
- Age: Not specified
- Who can join: All genders
What the study is looking for
- ✓Subject is willing and able to comply with the site's the usual treatment follow-up schedule.
Who cannot take part
- ✗1\. Subject is participating in another clinical study that would affect the results of this Registry.
See the full criteria
Where Is This Study? (2 UK sites)
Royal Brompton Hospital
London SW3 6NP, United Kingdom
St. Thomas Hospital
London SE1 7EH, United Kingdom
How to Get in Touch
Laetitia Beullens
Sponsor contactCONTACT
Kayla Dellefratte
Sponsor contactCONTACT
