Skip to main content
UK clinical trials - updated daily from ClinicalTrials.gov
TrialConnect
← Back to Search
Looking for participantsPhase4

Acalabrutinib Monotherapy vs Investigator's Choice of Treatment in Patients With CL Leukaemia and Heart Failure

Sponsor: AstraZeneca

NCT ID: NCT06651970

View on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

At a glance

What the study gets you
Access to the study treatment being tested
Type of study
Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
Time in hospital
In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
Drug or intervention
Acalabrutinib (drug), Investigator's choice of treatment (other)
How long the study runs
Study runs about 91 months (dates as stated)
About the drug or intervention
Acalabrutinib — drug: Acalabrutinib Monotherapy · Investigator's choice of treatment — other: control arm treatment type will be defined by the PI prior to randomisation
Patient visit burden
Not specified by the sponsor
Type of study
Testing a treatment
Ages
18 Years to 130 Years
Who
All
Number of participants
60
Started
2025-02-04
Last checked
2026-09

Plain English Summary

What is this study?

  • • Testing a new treatment for chronic lymphocytic leukaemia
  • • Phase4 - 60 participants
  • • This will be a global Phase IV, open-label, randomised study to evaluate the safety and tolerability of acalabrutinib (monotherapy, 100 mg orally \[po\], twice daily \[bd\]) compared to investigator's choice of treatment, in patients with CLL (TN or R/R) and moderate to severe cardiac impairment

Who can take part?

  • • Ages 18 Years to 130 Years
  • • Diagnosed with chronic lymphocytic leukaemia

Where?

  • • Bournemouth - Research Site
  • • Oxford - Research Site
  • • Plymouth - Research Site
  • • Romford - Research Site
  • • +2 more UK sites

This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.

About This Trial

This will be a global Phase IV, open-label, randomised study to evaluate the safety and tolerability of acalabrutinib (monotherapy, 100 mg orally \[po\], twice daily \[bd\]) compared to investigator's choice of treatment, in patients with CLL (TN or R/R) and moderate to severe cardiac impairment. Patients with moderate to severe cardiac impairment will include those with moderate to severe cardiac conditions, who may have been excluded from previous acalabrutinib clinical trials and in whom the safety of acalabrutinib was not systematically assessed. The study is planned to take place in approximately 25 centres globally. The study will be conducted in centres that have established close collaboration between the Haematology and Cardiology divisions, preferably with a cardio-oncologist on the team. An IDMC will be responsible for making recommendations for study continuation.

More detail

Randomised controlled study: Treatment phase: Patients will receive treatment with either acalabrutinib 100 mg po tablets bd (until unacceptable toxicity or progression) or investigator's choice of treatment (chlorambucil, venetoclax, ibrutinib, zanabrutinib, rituximab or Obinutuzumab etc). For the control arm the treatment type and duration will be defined by the PI prior to randomisation. Each treatment cycle is 28 days/4 weeks. Haematology visits (labs, physical exam), will be performed at the first day of each cycle for the first 8 cycles and every 4 cycles there after. Response assessment will be performed by the PI in accordance with modified iwCLL 2018 criteria every 4 cycles (16 weeks). Imaging and BM testing only as deemed appropriate by PI. Safety assessments will be performed at every visit. Cardiology assessments will be performed at the end of cycle 1 (C2D1) and 3 (C4D1) and thereafter every 4 cycles (16 weeks). These assessments will include: * A cardiology consult. * ECHO, 12-lead ECG and 24-hour Holter. * Cardiac biomarkers. * Any additional testing will be performed as clinically indicated. Cardiac MRI post-screening will be performed every year. Decisions for permanent withdrawal or modifications to treatment due to cardiac AEs will be made by PI after close consultation with the cardiologist. Post-Treatment Phase: Safety assessments Once treatment is discontinued due to any of the reasons mentioned above, a safety follow-up (SFU) will occur within 45 days of the last dose of treatment. This will occur regardless of the patient developing progressive disease or initiation a new anti-CLL therapy during that timespan. The evaluation will include: * Cardiology consult * Cardiac biomarkers * 12-lead ECG, ECHO and 24 hour Holter * Cardiac MRI (if not performed in the last 6 months). The subsequent safety assessments will continue until disease progression, WoC, death or termination of study whichever occurs first. These will mirror the in-treatment schedule, with cardiology consults including ECHO, ECG, cardiac biomarkers and 24 hour Holter performed every 16 weeks and yearly cardiac MRI. Once patient has progressive disease they will be contacted to assess survival status every 16 weeks. Response assessments Patients that discontinue treatment prior to progression will continue to be evaluated for disease progression every 16 weeks. The response assessment will be per iwCLL 2018 guidelines and will be performed by the PI. Bone marrow testing and imaging will continue to remain optional and per PI discretion. Once patient has progressive disease they will be contacted every 16 weeks for survival status and information on any new anti-cancer therapy until WoC, death, termination of study by Sponsor whichever occurs first.

Chronic Lymphocytic LeukaemiaModerate to Severe Cardiac Impairment

How this trial compares with your answers

Answer 2 more questions to improve match

What we know so far

Condition· Matched your search
Age· Tell us your age for better matching
Gender· Tell us your sex for better matching

Still need:

  • • Tell us your age for better matching
  • • Tell us your sex for better matching

Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.

Eligibility at a Glance

Key info

  • Age: 18 Years - 130 Years
  • Who can join: All genders

Biomarkers mentioned

eGFRantibody positiveantigen negativehave a negativeantigen positivePCR positive

Treatment history

Treatments you must have had:

  • ✓ treatment

What the study is looking for

  • ✓Men and women ≥ 18 years of age, at the time of signing the agreement to take part.
  • ✓activity scale performance status of 0 to 3
  • ✓Diagnosis of CLL
  • ✓Treatment naïve or relapsed/refractory patients who have received no more than 2 prior lines of systemic anti-CLL...
  • ✓Active disease per iwCLL 2018 criteria that requires treatment.

Who cannot take part

  • ✗Ongoing Richter's transformation.
  • ✗Prior exposure to a BTKi.
  • ✗Major surgery within 30 days before first dose of study treatment.
  • ✗Uncontrolled haemolytic anaemia.
  • ✗Received any investigational drug within 30 days or 5 half-lives (whichever is shorter) before first dose of study...
See the full criteria
Inclusion Criteria: 1. Men and women ≥ 18 years of age, at the time of signing the informed consent. 2. Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group performance status of 0 to 3 3. Meet at least one of the following cardiovascular inclusion criteria: - Left ventricular ejection fraction (LVEF) \< 50% as assessed by local ECHO at screening. - History of heart failure or meeting Universal Definition of Heart Failure at screening, regardless of current LVEF. - History of ischaemic heart disease (IHD) including acute coronary syndrome, myocardial infarction, or coronary revascularization (percutaneous coronary intervention/stent or coronary artery bypass surgery). - Diagnosis of cardiomyopathy - Ongoing clinically significant (symptomatic or requiring intervention) cardiac arrhythmia, including atrial fibrillation or other arrhythmias. - History of moderate or severe cardiac valvular diseases as documented per cardiac imaging 4. Diagnosis of CLL 5. Treatment naïve or relapsed/refractory patients who have received no more than 2 prior lines of systemic anti-CLL treatment. 6. Active disease per iwCLL 2018 criteria that requires treatment. 7. Meet the following laboratory parameters: 1. Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) ≥ 500 cells/μL (0.50 × 109/L). 2. Platelet count ≥ 30,000 cells/μL (30 × 109/L). 3. Serum aspartate aminotransferase and ALT ≤ 3.0 × ULN. 4. Total bilirubin ≤ 1.5 × ULN unless directly attributable to Gilbert's syndrome. 5. Estimated creatinine clearance (ie, estimated glomerular filtration rate \[eGFR\] using Cockcroft-Gault) ≥ 40 mL/min, or serum creatinine ≤ 2 × ULN. 8. Women and men who are sexually active and can bear children must agree to use highly effective forms of contraception while on the study and for 2 days after the last dose of acalabrutinib. 9. Patients must be willing and able to adhere to the study visit schedule, understand, and comply with other protocol requirements, and provide written informed consent and authorisation to use protected health information (in accordance with national and local patient privacy regulations). Note: vulnerable patients, as defined in the ICH GCP, are not allowed on this protocol (eg, prisoners or institutionalised patients). Exclusion Criteria: 1. Known active CNS leukaemia, leptomeningeal disease or spinal cord compression. In case of R/R patients with prior history of CNS localisation of leukaemia who received treatment are eligible provided that there is no evidence of CNS involvement at study entry as documented by cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) cytology and/or brain MRI. 2. Ongoing Richter's transformation. 3. Prior exposure to a BTKi. 4. Major surgery within 30 days before first dose of study treatment. 5. Uncontrolled haemolytic anaemia. 6. Received any investigational drug within 30 days or 5 half-lives (whichever is shorter) before first dose of study treatment. 7. Received a live virus vaccination within 28 days of first dose of study treatment. 8. History of or ongoing confirmed PML. 9. History of prior malignancy except for the following: 1. Prior history of malignancy with no evidence of active disease present for more than 3 years before screening or felt to be at low risk for recurrence by treating physician. (b) Adequately treated lentigo maligna melanoma without current evidence of disease or adequately resected non-melanomatous skin cancer (ie, basal cell carcinoma or squamous cell carcinoma of the skin). (c) Curatively treated in situ carcinoma of the cervix or carcinoma in situ of the prostate at any time prior to study without current evidence of disease. 10 Unable to swallow tablets or malabsorption syndrome, or disease significantly affecting gastrointestinal function, or resection of the stomach or small bowel or gastric bypass, symptomatic inflammatory bowel disease, or partial or complete bowel obstruction. 11 Active uncontrolled systemic infection (bacterial, fungal, viral or other) or clinically significant localised infection. 12 Known history of infection with human immunodeficiency virus (HIV). 13 Serologic status reflecting active HepB or HepC infection. (a) Patients with HepB core antibody positive who are surface antigen negative or who are HepC antibody positive will need to have a negative polymerase chain reaction (PCR) result before randomisation and must be willing to undergo deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) PCR testing during the study. (b) Patients who are HepB surface antigen positive or HepB PCR positive and those who are HepC PCR positive will be excluded. 14 History of stroke or intracranial haemorrhage within 6 months prior to randomisation. 15 History of bleeding diathesis (eg, haemophilia, von Willebrand disease). 16 Requires or receiving anticoagulation with warfarin or equivalent vitamin K antagonists (eg, phenprocoumon) within 7 days of first dose of study treatment. Direct anti-X (DOACs) or low molecular weight heparins (LMWH, eg, enoxaparin) on stable dosing schedule is allowed. 17 Requires treatment with a strong cytochrome P450 3A (CYP3A) inhibitor/inducer. The use of strong CYP3A inhibitors within 1 week or strong CYP3A inducers within 3 weeks of the first dose of study treatment is prohibited. 18 Breastfeeding or pregnant. 19 Concurrent participation in another therapeutic clinical trial. 20 Uncontrolled cardiac/cardiovascular disease including the following: 1. Baseline cardiac troponin (cTnI or cTnT or hs-cTn) levels greater than the upper limit of normal (per the local laboratories reference range) that is due to an acute coronary event and cannot be fully explained by non-ischaemic conditions. 2. Uncontrolled cardiac tachyarrhythmias (sinus, atrial or ventricular) that require new/additional therapy within the last month. 3. Clinically significant QT prolongation defined as QT interval corrected by Fridericia's formula (QTcF) values; QTcF \> 500 ms. 4. Any of the following within the last 3 months: i. Unstable IHD: percutaneous coronary intervention, coronary artery bypass surgery, or an episode of acute coronary syndrome including acute myocardial infarction and unstable angina pectoris. ii. Major cardiac surgery/procedures or valvular surgery. iii. Hospitalization due to heart failure. 21 Uncontrolled hypertension despite optimal management 22 Current life-threatening illness, medical conditions, organ system dysfunction or lifestyle habits which, in the investigator's opinion, could compromise the patient's safety or ability to adhere to the study protocol.

Where Is This Study? (6 UK sites)

Research Site

Bournemouth BH7 7DW, United Kingdom

WITHDRAWN

Research Site

Oxford OX3 7LE, United Kingdom

Recruiting

Research Site

Plymouth PL6 8DH, United Kingdom

Recruiting

Research Site

Romford RM7 0AG, United Kingdom

WITHDRAWN

Research Site

Stockton TS19 8PE, United Kingdom

WITHDRAWN

Research Site

Sutton Coldfield B74 3UP, United Kingdom

Recruiting

How to Get in Touch

AstraZeneca Clinical Study Information Center

Sponsor contact

CONTACT

1-877-240-9479 information.center@astrazeneca.com
Data sourced from ClinicalTrials.gov · Last verified: 2026-09