Skip to main content
UK clinical trials - updated daily from ClinicalTrials.gov
TrialConnect
← Back to Search
Looking for participantsPhase1/Phase2

A Phase 1/2, First-in-Human Study On ODM-212 In Subjects With Selected Advanced Solid Tumours

Sponsor: Orion Corporation, Orion Pharma

NCT ID: NCT06725758

View on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

At a glance

What the study gets you
Access to the study treatment being tested
Type of study
Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
Time in hospital
In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
Drug or intervention
ODM-212 (drug)
How long the study runs
Study runs about 50 months (dates as stated)
About the drug or intervention
ODM-212 — drug: ODM-212 5mg and/or 40mg tablets
Patient visit burden
Not specified by the sponsor

In plain English

This is a first-in-human study of a new cancer drug called ODM-212 for adults with advanced solid tumours (cancer growths). It targets changes in a cell pathway called Hippo. The study has two parts and is looking at whether the drug is safe and how it works in the body.

Who can take part

  • Adults aged 18 or over
  • Have an advanced or spread solid tumour that cannot be cured, such as mesothelioma, lung, bowel, liver, head and neck, prostate or other listed cancers
  • Need systemic (whole-body) treatment and standard treatments are not suitable, have stopped working, or cannot be tolerated
  • In Part 2: have measurable cancer and a tumour tissue sample available (some exceptions may be allowed)
  • Fully able to look after yourself or only slightly limited (performance status 0-1)
  • Expected to live more than 12 weeks
  • Willing and able to follow the study plan and give written consent

Who may not be able to

  • Another cancer in the last 2 years (with some exceptions like some skin cancers)
  • Cancer treatment in the last 2 weeks, or ongoing side effects from it (some exceptions apply)
  • Radiotherapy shortly before the study (4 weeks for some types, 2 weeks for others)
  • Brain or subdural secondaries, unless treated and not causing symptoms
  • HIV infection, or active infection including hepatitis B or C
  • Major surgery in the last 4 weeks or minor surgery in the last week
  • High-dose steroids or other medicines that damp down the immune system in the last 2 weeks
  • Cannot take medicines by mouth, or gut problems that affect how the drug is absorbed
  • Taken another experimental drug recently
  • Live vaccines in the last 28 days
  • Certain heart rhythm problems on an ECG (heart tracing), or risk factors for a serious rhythm problem
  • Serious heart problems such as heart failure, uncontrolled high blood pressure, recent heart attack or stroke
  • Pregnant or breastfeeding women, and those not using highly effective contraception
  • Men whose partners could become pregnant unless using highly effective contraception
  • Kidney problems, including moderate or severely reduced kidney function or conditions affecting the kidneys
  • Liver problems shown in blood tests
  • Blood clotting problems shown in tests, or low blood counts (haemoglobin, white cells called neutrophils, or platelets)
  • Any other illness or condition that the doctor thinks would make taking part too risky
  • Previous treatment with other drugs targeting TEAD

What taking part involves

  • • Taking ODM-212 — not stated how it is given (e.g. tablet or injection) for the exact method — ask the trial team
  • • Regular hospital visits for tests and checks while on the study
  • • In Part 2, scans using standard cancer measurement rules (RECIST) to see if the tumour is responding
  • • In Part 2, providing a tumour tissue sample from a biopsy or earlier surgery, if one is not already available

Time commitment: Not stated how long treatment lasts or how often visits are — ask the trial team.

Plain-English summary (AI-generated) from registry data. Not eligibility advice — only the trial team can confirm whether you can take part. Use the eligibility checker to see how your health profile matches this trial.

Type of study
Testing a treatment
Ages
18 Years and over
Who
All
Number of participants
315
Started
2023-10-26
Last checked
2026-01

Plain English Summary

What is this study?

  • • Testing a new treatment for solid tumours
  • • Phase1/Phase2 - 315 participants
  • • Multi-site, open-label, first-in-human study with 2 parts (dose escalation and dose expansion) in subjects with selected advanced solid tumours

Who can take part?

  • • Ages 18 Years and over
  • • Diagnosed with solid tumours

Where?

  • • Leicester - Leicester Royal Infirmary
  • • London - Royal Marsden Hospital, London, UK
  • • Sheffield - Weston Park Hospital

This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.

About This Trial

Multi-site, open-label, first-in-human study with 2 parts (dose escalation and dose expansion) in subjects with selected advanced solid tumours

Solid Tumours

How this trial compares with your answers

Answer 2 more questions to improve match

What we know so far

Condition· Matched your search
Age· Tell us your age for better matching
Gender· Tell us your sex for better matching

Still need:

  • • Tell us your age for better matching
  • • Tell us your sex for better matching

Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.

Eligibility at a Glance

Key info

  • Age: 18 Years and over
  • Who can join: All genders

Biomarkers mentioned

known positivePRif a negativeeGFR

What the study is looking for

  • ✓Male or female subjects ≥18 years old
  • ✓Subjects must have histological diagnosis of that has grown locally (primary or recurrent) or that has spread solid tumour of...
  • ✓Part 1:
  • ✓mesothelioma
  • ✓epithelioid hemangioendothelioma (EHE)

Who cannot take part

  • ✗Subjects with brain or subdural metastases are not eligible, unless the metastases are not causing symptoms and do not...
  • ✗Known human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection.
  • ✗Major surgery within 4 weeks before the first dose of the study treatment or minor surgery within 1 week (subject must also...
  • ✗Immunosuppressive doses of systemic medications, such as steroids or absorbed topical steroids (doses \>10 mg/day...
  • ✗Female subjects who are breastfeeding or pregnant at screening or baseline.
See the full criteria
Inclusion Criteria: 1. Male or female subjects ≥18 years old 2. Subjects must have histological diagnosis of locally advanced (primary or recurrent) or metastatic solid tumour of the kind listed below that is not amenable for treatment with curative intent, e.g.: Part 1: * mesothelioma * epithelioid hemangioendothelioma (EHE) * cholangiocarcinoma (CCA) * head and neck squamous cell carcinoma (HNSCC) * non-small cell lung carcinoma (NSCLC) * colorectal cancer (CRC) * hepatocellular cancer (HCC) * castration-resistant prostate cancer (CRPC) * meningioma * any other solid tumours with available local data for loss-of-function genetic alterations (truncating mutations or gene deletion) in neurofibrin 2 (NF2)/large tumour suppressor kinase (LATS1/LATS2), or Yes-associated protein/ Transiptional coactivator with PDZ-binding motif (YAP/TAZ) fusions * any other solid tumour based on emerging scientific data as per sponsor's decision. Part 2: Any solid tumour type harbouring a Hippo pathway alteration and other tumour types potentially responsive to transcriptional enhanced associate domain (TEAD) inhibition based on data from Part 1 or other existing or emerging scientific data. 3. Subjects must be in need of systemic treatment for their cancer and to either be refractory to or have progressed on, are intolerant to, or are not otherwise a candidate, in the opinion of the investigator, for any of the currently available established therapies (reasons of unsuitability of standard of care treatments to be recorded). 4. Part 2 only: Subjects must have measurable disease by response evaluation criteria in solid tumours (response evaluation criteria in solid tumors - RECIST) v. 1.1 (modified RECIST for malignant pleural mesothelioma - MPM). 5. Part 2 only: A fresh or recent (taken up to 1 year ago) primary tumour tissue sample from a diagnostic biopsy/surgery or a tumour biopsy taken from a metastasis must be available; exemptions possible by the sponsor's decision. 6. Performance status 0-1 on the Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Scale. 7. Life expectancy of \>12 weeks. 8. Willing and able to comply with all aspects of the protocol. 9. Provide written informed consent (IC; or witness consent) prior to any study-specific screening procedures. Exclusion Criteria: 1. Other malignancy active within the previous 2 years except for basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer, superficial bladder cancer, or carcinoma in situ of the cervix or breast, for which the subject has completed curative therapy. 2. Prior chemotherapy, immunotherapy (tumour vaccine, cytokine or growth factor given to control the cancer) or other anti-cancer therapy within less than 2 weeks before study drug administration, or any persistent unresolved toxicity from previous anti-cancer therapies of common terminology criteria for adverse events (CTCAE) Grade ≥ 2 (except for peripheral neuropathy, alopecia, endocrine disorders that are controlled with replacement hormone therapy and asymptomatic laboratory abnormalities). Especially, care should be exercised to exclude subjects with potential carry-over nephrotoxic effects from previous therapies (e.g., cisplatin). Luteinizing hormone releasing hormone (LHRH) agonists or antagonists are allowed as concomitant treatment. 3. Prior definitive radiation therapy within less than 4 weeks and prior palliative radiotherapy within less than 2 weeks before study drug administration. Radiopharmaceuticals (strontium, samarium) within less than 8 weeks before study drug administration. 4. Subjects with brain or subdural metastases are not eligible, unless the metastases are asymptomatic and do not require treatment or have been adequately treated with local therapy. 5. Known human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection. 6. Active infection requiring therapy, including known positive tests for Hepatitis B surface antigen and hepatitis C virus (HCV) Ribonucleic acid (RNA). Pre-study testing for these pathogens is not required. 7. Major surgery within 4 weeks before the first dose of study drug or minor surgery within 1 week (subject must also have recovered from any surgery-related toxicities to less than CTCAE Grade 2). 8. Immunosuppressive doses of systemic medications, such as steroids or absorbed topical steroids (doses \>10 mg/day prednisone or equivalent) within 2 weeks before study drug administration. 9. Inability to take oral medication, or malabsorption syndrome or any other uncontrolled gastrointestinal condition (e.g. nausea, diarrhoea, or vomiting) that might impair the bioavailability of ODM-212. 10. Use of other investigational medicinal products within 2 weeks or at least5 half-lives (whichever is longer) before study drug administration, or any persistent unresolved toxicity from such treatment that, according to the judgement of the investigator, may pose a health risk for the subject, if taking part in the study. For drugs such as investigational monoclonal antibodies with half-lives \>10 days, at least 8 weeks is required. In addition, all visits (apart from survival follow-up) related to the use of another IMP must be completed before dosing with ODM-212 may commence. 11. Use of any live or live-attenuated vaccines (e.g., intranasal influenza, measles, mumps, rubella, oral polio, BCG, yellow fever, varicella, and TY21a typhoid vaccines) within 28 days prior to the first dose of study drug. 12. Any clinically important abnormalities in rhythm, conduction, or morphology of resting ECG; e.g., complete left bundle branch block, third degree heart block, second degree heart block, PR interval \>250 ms, a prolonged QTc interval (QTcF/B \>470 ms) as demonstrated by 2 out of 3 repeated ECG at screening, performed according to local practice. A history of risk factors for torsade de pointes (e.g. heart failure, hypokalaemia, family history of long QT Syndrome) or the use of concomitant medications that prolong the QTc interval. 13. Significant cardiovascular impairment: history of congestive heart failure of New York Heart Association (NYHA) Class III-IV, uncontrolled arterial hypertension, unstable angina, myocardial infarction, or stroke, left ventricular ejection fraction (LVEF) \<50%, cardiac arrhythmia requiring medical treatment (including oral anticoagulation) within 6 months prior to the first dose of study drug. 14. Female subjects who are breastfeeding or pregnant at screening or baseline. 15. A separate baseline assessment for pregnancy is required if a negative screening pregnancy test was obtained more than 72 hours before the first dose of study drug. 16. Female subjects of childbearing potential who meet any of the following criteria: Had unprotected sexual intercourse within 30 days before study entry or who do not agree to use a highly effective method of contraception (e.g., true abstinence if it is their preferred and usual lifestyle \[defined as refraining from heterosexual intercourse during the entire period of risk associated with the study treatment\], an intrauterine device, a contraceptive implant, an oral contraceptive combined with a double barrier method \[e.g. combination of male condom with either cap, diaphragm or sponge with spermicide\], or have a vasectomized partner with confirmed azoospermia) throughout the entire treatment period and for 28 days after treatment discontinuation. Are neither using a highly effective method of contraception (as listed above) nor currently abstinent, or do not agree to refrain from sexual activity during the treatment period and for 28 days after treatment discontinuation. Are using hormonal contraceptives but are not on a stable dose of the same hormonal contraceptive product for at least 4 weeks before dosing and who do not agree to use the same contraceptive during the study and for 28 days after treatment discontinuation. 17. Male subjects who have not had a successful vasectomy (confirmed azoospermia) or they and their female partners do not meet the criteria above (i.e., not of childbearing potential or practicing highly effective contraception throughout the treatment period and for 28 days after treatment discontinuation). 18. Urine albumin/creatinine ratio ≥3 mg/mmol (category A2 urine albumin/creatinine ratio \[UACR\] or higher) in laboratory testing at screening, end-stage renal disease (subjects with eGFR \<15 ml/min/1.73 m2, subjects on dialysis and kidney transplant recipients), moderately or severely impaired kidney function (eGFR 15-60 ml/min/1.73 m2), or any pre-existing condition associated with kidney impairment (e.g. subjects with type 1 or type 2 diabetes mellitus and confirmed nephropathy). 19. Hepatic impairment defined as having any of the following laboratory values at screening: total bilirubin ≥1.5xupper limit of normal (ULN) (or \>3xULN for subjects with Gilbert's syndrome), aspartate aminotransferase (AST) or alanine aminotransferase (ALT) ≥3xULN (or ≥5xULN for subjects with liver metastasis), or albumin ≤30 g/L. 20. Abnormalities in coagulation values defined as International Normalised ratio (INR) \>1.5xULN at screening (unless subject is receiving anticoagulant therapy, as long as subject's laboratory values are within therapeutic range of intended use of anticoagulants). 21. Haemoglobin \<10 g/dL (in absence of blood transfusion within 7 days of value obtained), absolute neutrophil count \<1500/µl (1.5 x 109/l), platelet count \<100 000/µl (100 x 109/l). 22. Any other major illness, any history of a medical condition or a concomitant medical condition that, in the investigator's judgment, will substantially increase the risk associated with, or compromise the subject's participation in this study. 23. History of treatment with other TEAD inhibitors.

Where Is This Study? (3 UK sites)

Leicester Royal Infirmary

Leicester, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Harriet Walter, MDPrincipal Investigator
Harriet Walter, MDharriet.walter1@nhs.net

Royal Marsden Hospital, London, UK

London SW36JJ, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Johann de Bono, MDPrincipal Investigator
Johann de Bono, MDjohann.debono@icr.ac.uk

Weston Park Hospital

Sheffield, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Sarah Danson, MDPrincipal Investigator
Sarah Danson, MDs.danson@sheffield.ac.uk

How to Get in Touch

Clinical Study Director

Sponsor contact

CONTACT

+358104261 clinicaltrials@orionpharma.com
Data sourced from ClinicalTrials.gov · Last verified: 2026-01