Skip to main content
UK clinical trials - updated daily from ClinicalTrials.gov
TrialConnect
← Back to Search
Looking for participantsPhase3

Comparing High and Low Dose Iron Treatments for People on Peritoneal Dialysis: The PALaDIN Study

Sponsor: Hull University Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

NCT ID: NCT06884280

View on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

At a glance

What the study gets you
Access to the study treatment being tested
Type of study
Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
Time in hospital
In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
Drug or intervention
Monofer (iron isomaltoside 1000) (drug), Ferrous Sulfate (drug)
How long the study runs
Study runs about 23 months (dates as stated)
About the drug or intervention
Monofer (iron isomaltoside 1000) — drug: Intravenous iron infusion, administered in this study up to every 3 months. · Ferrous Sulfate — drug: Oral iron tablet taken once daily for duration of study.
Patient visit burden
Not specified by the sponsor
Type of study
Testing a treatment
Ages
18 Years and over
Who
All
Number of participants
30
Started
2025-11-13
Last checked
2026-03

Plain English Summary

What is this study?

  • • Testing a new treatment for peritoneal dialysis
  • • Phase3 - 30 participants
  • • Chronic kidney disease affects a significant portion of the UK population, with approximately 3

Who can take part?

  • • Ages 18 Years and over
  • • Diagnosed with peritoneal dialysis

Where?

  • • Hull - Hull University Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.

About This Trial

Chronic kidney disease affects a significant portion of the UK population, with approximately 3.5 million adults diagnosed. At its most severe stage, end-stage kidney disease, individuals require frequent dialysis treatment. One form of dialysis, known as peritoneal dialysis, involves introducing and removing fluid from the abdominal cavity to help filter out toxins from the body. The kidneys are involved in various hormonal processes, including those responsible for producing red blood cells, making anaemia a common consequence of kidney failure. When designing a clinical trial to evaluate the effectiveness of any treatment, it is essential to determine the number of suitable and willing participants, as well as those who can complete all required tests and measurements. Identifying the most appropriate measurement to assess the impact of intravenous iron (iron injected directly into veins) is crucial to ensure that any observed changes are meaningful to people with CKD and their carers. To address these considerations, the investigators will conduct a pilot feasibility trial. In this trial, individuals with kidney disease undergoing peritoneal dialysis will be randomly assigned to receive either high-dose or low-dose intravenous iron, or oral iron therapy. Over twelve months, the investigators will monitor their anaemia response, symptoms of kidney disease, quality of life, physical performance (such as the ability to walk for six minutes), and cognitive function. Additionally, the investigators will assess the impact of each intervention on the frequency of blood transfusions, whether those on oral iron require intravenous iron, and any changes in the dosage of erythropoietin-stimulating agents (drugs that increase blood production).

Peritoneal DialysisAnaemiaIron Deficiency, Anaemia

How this trial compares with your answers

Answer 2 more questions to improve match

What we know so far

Condition· Matched your search
Age· Tell us your age for better matching
Gender· Tell us your sex for better matching

Still need:

  • • Tell us your age for better matching
  • • Tell us your sex for better matching

Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.

Eligibility at a Glance

Key info

  • Age: 18 Years and over
  • Who can join: All genders

What the study is looking for

  • ✓Males and females aged ≥18 years.
  • ✓Able to give agreement to take part
  • ✓Serum ferritin \<700ug/L
  • ✓Transferrin saturation level \<40%
  • ✓No intravenous iron for last 4 weeks before randomisation (patients may be pre-identified and included after 4-week...

Who cannot take part

  • ✗Inadequate dialysis deemed by responsible clinician
  • ✗Probability of need for transfusion within 1 week of enrolment
  • ✗On or received a HIF-PHI in the past 4 weeks
  • ✗Anticipated major surgery that the responsible clinician feels will impact response to treatment
  • ✗Haemochromatosis / haemosiderosis or liver enzymes \>x3 normal
See the full criteria
Inclusion Criteria: * Males and females aged ≥18 years. * Able to give informed consent * Serum ferritin \<700ug/L * Transferrin saturation level \<40% * No intravenous iron for last 4 weeks before randomisation (patients may be pre-identified and included after 4-week washout period) * Received maintenance peritoneal dialysis therapy for at least 4 weeks * Expected to remain on peritoneal dialysis therapy for duration of study Exclusion Criteria: * Inadequate dialysis deemed by responsible clinician * Probability of need for transfusion within 1 week of enrolment * On or received a HIF-PHI in the past 4 weeks * Anticipated major surgery that the responsible clinician feels will impact response to treatment * Haemochromatosis / haemosiderosis or ALT \>x3 normal * Are deemed to be most suited to best-supportive or end-of-life care at time of screening * Women of childbearing potential not using effective means of contraception * Have been involved in another medicinal study (CTIMP) within past 4 weeks * Known allergy or adverse reaction to oral or intravenous iron preparations * CRP \>50, TSATs \>40%, SF \>700 at time of recruitment * Active infection, HIV, active Hep B or C * Are unable or unwilling to consent to or complete the study procedures

Where Is This Study? (1 UK site)

Hull University Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Hull HU3 2JZ, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Data sourced from ClinicalTrials.gov · Last verified: 2026-03