Skip to main content
UK clinical trials - updated daily from ClinicalTrials.gov
TrialConnect
← Back to Search
Looking for participantsPhase1/Phase2

A Study of Roginolisib in Combination With Ruxolitinib in Patients With Myelofibrosis (MF) Who Are Unresponsive to JAK Inhibitors

Sponsor: iOnctura

NCT ID: NCT06887803

View on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

At a glance

What the study gets you
Access to the study treatment being tested
Type of study
Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
Time in hospital
In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
Drug or intervention
Roginolisib (drug)
How long the study runs
Study runs about 32 months (dates as stated)
About the drug or intervention
Roginolisib — drug: IOA-244: 80 mg (corresponding to 72 mg roginolisib) Ruxolitinib: up to 25 mg BD
Patient visit burden
Not specified by the sponsor

In plain English

This study looks at whether roginolisib, taken together with ruxolitinib, can help people with myelofibrosis (a rare bone marrow cancer) whose spleen has not shrunk enough and who still have symptoms while on ruxolitinib alone. It is run by iOnctura.

Who can take part

  • Adults aged 18 or over
  • Have myelofibrosis, including types that developed from polycythaemia vera or essential thrombocythemia
  • Are reasonably active (able to care for themselves, ECOG performance status 0 to 2)
  • Have been taking ruxolitinib for at least 3 months at a stable dose of 10 mg or more for at least 8 weeks, but the spleen has shrunk by less than 25% and can still be felt at least 10 cm below the left rib cage
  • Have myelofibrosis symptoms with a Total Symptom Score of 10 or more at screening
  • Have fewer than 10% blast cells (early white blood cells) in the blood
  • Agree to use highly effective contraception to avoid pregnancy or fathering a child during the study and for at least 1 month after the last dose
  • Have not had other myelofibrosis treatments (such as danazol, hydroxyurea, or interferon) within 3 months, with an exception if these finished 6 months before starting ruxolitinib

Who may not be able to

  • Cannot swallow food or take oral medicines
  • Have had certain severe side effects that did not get better with treatment (except fatigue, mild neuropathy, or hair loss)
  • Have an active autoimmune disease needing systemic treatment (such as disease-modifying drugs, corticosteroids, or immunosuppressive drugs)
  • Have a clinically meaningful abnormal heart tracing (ECG), a QTc interval over 480 milliseconds (with some exceptions), or left bundle branch block
  • Have had a stroke or heart attack in the last 6 months, unstable angina, moderate or severe heart failure, or a serious heart rhythm problem needing medicine
  • Have an active cancer needing treatment now, or a past cancer unless in complete remission for at least 2 years and low risk of coming back (some slow-growing or early cancers are allowed)
  • Have had erythropoiesis stimulating agents in the last 4 weeks or radiotherapy to the spleen in the last 3 months
  • Have had major surgery in the last 2 weeks
  • Are on immunosuppressive treatment, including more than 10 mg/day prednisone-type steroids, within 14 days (inhaled, topical, or low-dose steroids are allowed)
  • Have had a live vaccine within 30 days of starting (COVID-19 and other non-live vaccines are allowed)
  • Are allergic to any part of the study drugs
  • Are breastfeeding
  • Have alcohol or substance abuse problems
  • Have blood, kidney, liver, or clotting test results outside the study's set ranges (for example, low neutrophils or platelets, haemoglobin below 8 g/dL unless transfused, or abnormal kidney, liver, or clotting tests)
  • Have hepatitis B, hepatitis C, or HIV that is active (people with HIV on stable treatment, well controlled and without symptoms may join)
  • Have active or inactive 'latent' tuberculosis

What taking part involves

  • • Taking roginolisib by mouth alongside your existing ruxolitinib treatment
  • • Attending study visits for checks, tests, and monitoring — exact schedule and how long the study lasts are not stated, ask the trial team

Time commitment: Not stated — ask the trial team for details of how long the study lasts, how many visits are needed, and what tests are involved.

Plain-English summary (AI-generated) from registry data. Not eligibility advice — only the trial team can confirm whether you can take part. Use the eligibility checker to see how your health profile matches this trial.

Type of study
Testing a treatment
Ages
18 Years and over
Who
All
Number of participants
26
Started
2025-11-17
Last checked
2026-06

Plain English Summary

What is this study?

  • • Testing a new treatment for myelofibrosis (mf)
  • • Phase1/Phase2 - 26 participants
  • • The goal of this clinical trial is to learn how roginolisib works in comparison to standard treatment in adult patients with Myelofibrosis

Who can take part?

  • • Ages 18 Years and over
  • • Diagnosed with myelofibrosis (mf)

Where?

  • • Boston - United Lincolnshire Teach Hospitals NHS Trust, Pilgrim Hospital Boston
  • • Belfast - Belfast City Hospital
  • • London - Guy´s and St. Thomas NHS Foundation Trust

This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.

About This Trial

The goal of this clinical trial is to learn how roginolisib works in comparison to standard treatment in adult patients with Myelofibrosis. The main questions it aims to answer is to evaluate the safety and tolerability of roginolisib when administered in combination with ruxolitinib.

More detail

A Phase I/II Open-Label, Single Arm Multi-centre Study to Assess the Safety and Tolerability of Roginolisib in Combination with Ruxolitinib in Patients with Myelofibrosis (MF) who are Unresponsive to JAK inhibitors (HEMA-MED). This study will enrol approximately 26 male and female patients aged over 18 years with MF, who have been treated with ruxolitinib for ≥ 3 months with a stable dose ≥ 10 mg for at least the last 8 weeks prior to Day 1 and no significant spleen reduction. The study will initially enrol 13 patients in Part 1 to assess the benefit/risk profile of roginolisib when combined with ruxolitinib. Part 2 will enrol an additional 13 patients to further characterize the benefit/risk.

Myelofibrosis (MF)

How this trial compares with your answers

Answer 2 more questions to improve match

What we know so far

Condition· Matched your search
Age· Tell us your age for better matching
Gender· Tell us your sex for better matching

Still need:

  • • Tell us your age for better matching
  • • Tell us your sex for better matching

Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.

Eligibility at a Glance

Key info

  • Age: 18 Years and over
  • Who can join: All genders

Biomarkers mentioned

had a negativeand negativeCD4

What the study is looking for

  • ✓≥18 years of age inclusive, at the time of signing the agreement to take part.
  • ✓Capable of giving signed agreement to take part, which includes compliance with the requirements of this protocol.
  • ✓activity scale (ECOG) performance status of 0 to 2
  • ✓Diagnosis of MF, Post-Polycythaemia Vera Myelofibrosis MF (PPV-MF), or post-essential thrombocythemia MF (PET-MF)
  • ✓Dynamic International Prognostic Scoring System (DIPSS) risk category of intermediate-1, intermediate-2, or high

Who cannot take part

  • ✗Inability to swallow food or any condition of the upper gastrointestinal tract that precludes administration of oral...
  • ✗Use of the following treatments within the time periods noted:
  • ✗Erythropoiesis stimulating agent (ESA) within 4 weeks prior to start of roginolisib.
  • ✗Splenic irradiation within 3 months prior to start of roginolisib.
  • ✗Have received a live vaccine within 30 days of planned start of study therapy while on trial. Other type of...
See the full criteria
Inclusion Criteria: 1. ≥18 years of age inclusive, at the time of signing the informed consent. 2. Capable of giving signed informed consent, which includes compliance with the requirements of this protocol. 3. Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of 0 to 2 4. Diagnosis of MF, Post-Polycythaemia Vera Myelofibrosis MF (PPV-MF), or post-essential thrombocythemia MF (PET-MF) 5. Dynamic International Prognostic Scoring System (DIPSS) risk category of intermediate-1, intermediate-2, or high 6. Treated with ruxolitinib for ≥ 3 months with a stable dose ≥ 10 mg for a minimum of 8 weeks prior to Day 1. Furthermore, patients must show an unsatisfactory spleen reduction, such as a reduction of less than 25%, and spleen must be palpable ≥ 10 cm below the left costal margin on physical examination 7. Did not receive experimental drug therapy for MF or any other drug considered as an effective treatment for MF (e.g., danazol, hydroxyurea, interferon products) with the exception of ruxolitinib, within 3 months of starting study drug (except in conditions where other effective treatments for MF were completed 6 months prior to starting ruxolitinib) 8. Independent of spleen size, active symptoms of MF at the screening visit, as demonstrated by the presence of a Total Symptom Score (TSS) of ≥ 10 using the Screening Symptom Form. 9. Peripheral blast count \< 10% 10. Act to avoid pregnancy or fathering children based on the criteria below: 1. Women of non-childbearing potential (i.e., surgically sterile with a hysterectomy and/or bilateral oophorectomy OR ≥ 12 months of amenorrhea and at least 50 years of age). 2. Women of childbearing potential who had a negative serum pregnancy test at screening and who agree to take appropriate precautions to avoid pregnancy (with at least 99% certainty) from screening through safety follow-up, at least 1 month after the last dose of study treatment. Permitted methods that are at least 99% effective in preventing pregnancy should be communicated to the patient and their understanding confirmed. 3. Men who agree to take appropriate precautions to avoid fathering from screening through safety follow-up, at least 1 month after the last dose of study treatment. Permitted methods that are at least 99% effective in preventing pregnancy (see Appendix 3) should be communicated to the patient and their understanding confirmed. Exclusion Criteria: 1. Inability to swallow food or any condition of the upper gastrointestinal tract that precludes administration of oral medications. 2. History of a prior Grade 3 or 4 AE which did not respond to therapy or resolved with treatment interruptions and returned to at least Grade 1, other than fatigue. Note: Patients with ≤ Grade 2 neuropathy or alopecia are an exception and may enrol. 3. Active autoimmune process (e.g., rheumatoid arthritis, moderate or severe psoriasis, multiple sclerosis, inflammatory bowel disease, immune colitis) for which systemic treatment (i.e., use of disease-modifying agents, corticosteroids, or immunosuppressive drugs) is required. Replacement therapy (e.g., thyroxine, insulin, or physiologic corticosteroid replacement therapy for adrenal or pituitary insufficiency, etc.) is not considered a form of systemic treatment. 4. History or presence of an abnormal ECG that, in the Investigator's opinion, is clinically meaningful. Screening QTc interval \> 480 milliseconds is excluded (corrected by Fridericia). In the event that a single QTc is \> 480 milliseconds, the patient may enrol if the average QTc for the 3 ECGs is \< 480 milliseconds. For patients with an intraventricular conduction delay (QRS interval \> 120 msec), the JTc interval may be used in place of the QTc with Sponsor approval. The JTc must be \< 340 milliseconds if JTc is used in place of the QTc. Patients with left bundle branch block are excluded. 5. Clinically significant (i.e., active) cardiovascular disease: cerebral vascular accident/stroke (\< 6 months prior to enrolment), myocardial infarction (\< 6 months prior to enrolment), unstable angina, congestive heart failure (≥ New York Heart Association Classification Class II), or serious cardiac arrhythmia requiring medication. 6. Patients with active malignancy requiring concurrent intervention or previous malignancies unless a complete remission was achieved at least 2 years prior to study entry and no additional therapy is required during the study period and the patient is assessed at low risk of relapse by the investigator. Note: Patients with a slow progressing cancer (e.g. prostate) or an in situ cancers (e.g. cervical dysplasia) are permitted. 7. Any serious or uncontrolled medical disorder or active infection that, in the opinion of the Investigator, may increase the risk associated with study participation, study drug administration, or would impair the ability of the patient to receive protocol therapy. 8. Use of the following treatments within the time periods noted: 1. Erythropoiesis stimulating agent (ESA) within 4 weeks prior to start of roginolisib. 2. Splenic irradiation within 3 months prior to start of roginolisib. 9. Major surgery within 2 weeks of the first dose of study drug (minimally invasive procedures such as bronchoscopy, bone marrow biopsy, insertion of a central venous access device, and insertion of a feeding tube are not considered major surgery and are not exclusionary) 10. Receiving an immune-suppressive based treatment for any reason (including chronic use of systemic corticosteroid at doses \> 10 mg/day prednisone equivalent) within 14 days prior to the first dose of study treatment. Use of inhaled or topical steroids (including but not limited to creams or intra-articular injection) or brief corticosteroid use for radiographic procedures or systemic corticosteroids ≤ 10 mg is permitted. 11. Have received a live vaccine within 30 days of planned start of study therapy while on trial. Other type of vaccines, including SARS-Co2 vaccines, are allowed. 12. Known allergy or reaction to any component of either study drugs or formulation components. 13. Currently breastfeeding. 14. Known alcohol or other substance abuse. 15. Laboratory and medical history parameters not within Protocol-defined range. 1. Absolute neutrophil count \< 1.5 × 109/L. 2. Platelet count \< 100 × 109/L. 3. Haemoglobin \< 8 g/dL (transfusion is acceptable to meet this criterion). 4. Serum creatinine ≥ 1.5 × institutional ULN or measured or calculated creatinine clearance (glomerular filtration rate can also be used in place of creatinine or CrCl) \< 50 mL/min for patients with creatinine levels \> 1.5 × institutional ULN. 5. Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) or Alanine transaminase (ALT) ≥ 2.5 × ULN in the absence of hepatic metastases or ≥ 5 × ULN with hepatic metastases at screening. 6. Total bilirubin ≥ 1.2 × ULN are excluded unless direct bilirubin is ≤ ULN. If there is no institutional ULN, then direct bilirubin must be \< 40% of total bilirubin to be eligible (except patients with Gilbert syndrome, who must have total bilirubin \< 51.3 μmol/L). 7. International normalized ratio or prothrombin time (PT) \> 1.5 × ULN. 8. Activated partial thromboplastin time (aPTT) \> 1.5 × ULN. 9. Evidence of acute infection of hepatitis B virus (HBV), (for example: positive for HBsAg, anti-HBc, IgM anti-HBc and negative for anti-HBs), hepatitis C virus (HCV) (for example: HCV antibody reactive; HCV RNA detected) and HIV. Patients who are on stable antiviral therapy, in good clinical control (ie for HIV a viral load \< 400 copies/mL and a CD4+ count of ≥ 350 cells/uL) AND asymptomatic are eligible for the study 16. Presence of active or inactive 'latent' tuberculosis.

Where Is This Study? (3 UK sites)

United Lincolnshire Teach Hospitals NHS Trust, Pilgrim Hospital Boston

Boston PE21 9QS, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Ciro Rinaldi, Profcrinaldi@nhs.net

Belfast City Hospital

Belfast BT9&AB, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)

Guy´s and St. Thomas NHS Foundation Trust

London SE1 9RT, United Kingdom

NOT_YET_RECRUITING
Site contact (verified)
Priya SriskandarajahMDpriya.sriskandarajah@nhs.net

How to Get in Touch

Tracey Hammett, RN

Sponsor contact

CONTACT

+44 7776498978 t.hammett@ionctura.com

Karen Tonge

Sponsor contact

CONTACT

+44 7770678446 k.tonge@ionctura.com
Data sourced from ClinicalTrials.gov · Last verified: 2026-06