At a glance
- What the study gets you
- Access to the study treatment being tested
- Type of study
- Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
- Time in hospital
- In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
- Drug or intervention
- BNT324 (biological), BNT327 (biological)
- How long the study runs
- Study runs about 84 months (dates as stated)
- About the drug or intervention
- BNT324 — biological: Intravenous infusion · BNT327 — biological: Intravenous infusion
- Patient visit burden
- Not specified by the sponsor
In plain English
This study tests a combination of two experimental medicines, BNT324 and BNT327, in adults with advanced lung cancer that cannot be removed by surgery. The researchers want to find out how well the combination works and how safe it is. The sponsor is BioNTech SE.
Who can take part
- Adults aged 18 or over
- Advanced or metastatic lung cancer that cannot be removed by surgery, confirmed by tissue or cell tests
- Tumours that can be measured on scans (using a standard called RECIST version 1.1)
- Able to carry out light activity (performance status of 0 or 1 on a scale used by doctors)
- Expected to live at least 12 more weeks
- People with non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) can join whatever their PD-L1 level is; those with certain gene changes (AGA-positive) must have had targeted treatment before joining
- Different parts of the study include people with NSCLC or small cell lung cancer (SCLC), at different stages of treatment (first line or later)
Who may not be able to
- Previous treatment aimed at B7-H3
- Previous treatment with an antibody-drug conjugate (ADC) containing a topoisomerase inhibitor (for example datopotamab deruxtecan or trastuzumab deruxtecan) — this applies to people who have not yet had treatment for advanced disease; people already treated in this setting may still join
- Someone whose cancer could be treated with surgery, targeted radiotherapy or tumour ablation with the aim of a cure, in the doctor's view
- A history of serious blood-related side effects from earlier treatment, such as severe infection with very low white cell counts, as judged by the doctor
- Other criteria may also apply depending on the study part — ask the trial team
What taking part involves
- • Receiving the experimental combination of BNT324 and BNT327
- • Not stated in detail — ask the trial team about how the medicines are given and what tests are involved
Time commitment: Not stated — ask the trial team about number of visits, how long the study lasts, and what taking part involves.
Plain-English summary (AI-generated) from registry data. Not eligibility advice — only the trial team can confirm whether you can take part. Use the eligibility checker to see how your health profile matches this trial.
- Type of study
- Testing a treatment
- Ages
- 18 Years and over
- Who
- All
- Number of participants
- 594
- Started
- 2025-05-02
- Last checked
- 2026-08
Plain English Summary
What is this study?
- • Testing a new treatment for advanced lung cancer
- • Phase1/Phase2 - 594 participants
- • This study aims to investigate the combination of BNT324, a B7-H3 antibody-drug conjugate (ADC) with BNT327, a programmed death-ligand 1 (PD-L1) and vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF) bispecific antibody, in participants with advanced/metastatic or relapsed/progressive small cell lung cancer (SCLC) and non small cell lung cancer (NSCLC)
Who can take part?
- • Ages 18 Years and over
- • Diagnosed with advanced lung cancer
Where?
- • Bristol - Bristol Haematology and Oncology Centre
- • Leeds - St. James's University Hospital
- • Liverpool - The Clatterbridge Cancer Center
- • London - St George's Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
- • +3 more UK sites
This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.
About This Trial
This study aims to investigate the combination of BNT324, a B7-H3 antibody-drug conjugate (ADC) with BNT327, a programmed death-ligand 1 (PD-L1) and vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF) bispecific antibody, in participants with advanced/metastatic or relapsed/progressive small cell lung cancer (SCLC) and non small cell lung cancer (NSCLC).
More detail
This is a two-part study designed to evaluate and establish two safe combination dose levels (recommended Phase 2 dose \[RP2D\] and a lower/another combination dose level \[RP2D-1\]) of BNT324 with BNT327 (Part 1), to determine the optimal combination dose (dose optimization \[DO\]) in NSCLC and SCLC lead indication cohorts at the RP2D and RP2D-1, to evaluate the preliminary efficacy in selected lung cancer cohorts at the highest combination dose level (in a signal seeking Part 2), and to confirm the clinical efficacy of BNT324 in combination with BNT327 at the optimal dose level in participants with advanced lung cancer in expansion cohorts (proof-of-concept \[POC\] cohorts). The study consists of a screening period, a treatment period, a safety follow-up period, and a long-term survival follow-up period. In Part 1 participants with histologically or cytologically confirmed relapsed or progressive lung cancer (both SCLC and NSCLC are eligible) will receive BNT324 in combination with BNT327 using a dose escalation design. In Part 2 of the study, BNT324 will be studied in combination with BNT327 at the RP2D compared to RP2D-1 in participants with advanced metastatic treatment-naïve NSCLC (DO Cohort 1) and relapsed/progressive SCLC after failure of cytotoxic chemotherapy with or without immuno-oncology (IO) (DO Cohort 2). The totality of the available data (e.g., safety, efficacy, pharmacokinetics etc.) will be reviewed to select the optimal dose. After the optimal dose is selected, additional participants in each cohort may be enrolled in the selected optimal dose. In the signal seeking cohorts (Cohort 3-7), participants will receive BNT324 in combination with BNT327 at the RP2D from Part 1. A predefined number of participants in Part 2 Cohort 1 and Cohort 2 will be randomized to one of the two dose levels (RP2D and RP2D-1) selected from Part 1 in a 1:1 ratio. Additional participants in Part 2 Cohort 1 and Cohort 2 may be enrolled in the selected optimal dose to further assess the efficacy and safety profile. No randomization is planned for any other cohort in Part 2 or Part 1.
How this trial compares with your answers
Answer 2 more questions to improve match
What we know so far
Still need:
- • Tell us your age for better matching
- • Tell us your sex for better matching
Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.
Eligibility at a Glance
Key info
- Age: 18 Years and over
- Who can join: All genders
Biomarkers mentioned
Treatment history
Treatments you must have had:
- ✓ received targeted therapy
What the study is looking for
- ✓Aged ≥18 years at the time of giving agreement to take part.
- ✓Part 1: Participants with NSCLC and SCLC
- ✓Part 2 Cohort 1: Participants with NSCLC (subpopulation 1) AGA negative, 1L
- ✓Part 2 Cohort 2: Participants with SCLC, 2L+
- ✓Part 2 Cohort 3: Participants with NSCLC (subpopulation 1) AGA negative, 2L+
Who cannot take part
- ✗Prior treatment with B7-H3 treatment that targets specific changes in the cancer.
- ✗Has a history of significant blood toxicity to previous treatments, as assessed by investigator, e.g.,...
- ✗NOTE: Other protocol defined Inclusion/Exclusion criteria may apply to all or some participants depending on the cohort.
See the full criteria
Where Is This Study? (7 UK sites)
Bristol Haematology and Oncology Centre
Bristol BS2 8ED, United Kingdom
St. James's University Hospital
Leeds LS97TF, United Kingdom
The Clatterbridge Cancer Center
Liverpool L7 8YA, United Kingdom
St George's Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
London SW170QT, United Kingdom
University College London Hospital
London W1T 7HA, United Kingdom
Rajinder Sidhu - Associate Director, Research Governance and Operations
uclh.jro-communications@nhs.net020 3447 9825The Christie NHS Foundation Trust
Manchester M204BX, United Kingdom
Royal Preston Hospital
Preston PR29HT, United Kingdom
How to Get in Touch
BioNTech clinical trials patient information
Sponsor contactCONTACT
