Skip to main content
UK clinical trials - updated daily from ClinicalTrials.gov
TrialConnect
← Back to Search
ACTIVE NOT RECRUITINGPhase2

A Study Evaluating the Efficacy and Safety of ALG-000184 Compared With Tenofovir Disoproxil Fumarate in Untreated HBeAg-Positive and HBeAg- Negative Adult Subjects With Chronic Hepatitis B (B-SUPREME)

Sponsor: Aligos Therapeutics

NCT ID: NCT06963710

View on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

At a glance

What the study gets you
Access to the study treatment being tested
Type of study
Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
Time in hospital
In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
Drug or intervention
ALG-000184 (drug), TDF (drug)
How long the study runs
Study runs about 37 months (dates as stated)
About the drug or intervention
ALG-000184 — drug: 300 mg tablet · TDF — drug: 300 mg tablet
Patient visit burden
Not specified by the sponsor
Type of study
Testing a treatment
Ages
18 Years to 65 Years
Who
All
Number of participants
200
Started
2025-07-15
Last checked
2026-04

Plain English Summary

What is this study?

  • • Testing a new treatment for chronic hepatitis b infection
  • • Phase2 - 200 participants
  • • This is a Phase 2 study to evaluate efficacy and safety of 48 weeks of oral once daily monotherapy with ALG-000184 versus tenofovir disproxil fumarate (TDF) for chronic HBV infection

Who can take part?

  • • Ages 18 Years to 65 Years
  • • Diagnosed with chronic hepatitis b infection

Where?

  • • Glasgow - Aligos Investigational Site
  • • Leicester - Aligos Investigational Site
  • • London - Aligos Investigational Sites

This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.

About This Trial

This is a Phase 2 study to evaluate efficacy and safety of 48 weeks of oral once daily monotherapy with ALG-000184 versus tenofovir disproxil fumarate (TDF) for chronic HBV infection.

More detail

This is a randomized, double-blind, active-controlled, multicenter Phase 2 study to evaluate the efficacy and safety of 48 weeks of oral (PO) once daily (QD) monotherapy with ALG-000184 versus TDF in treatment naive (TN) or currently not treated (CNT) HBeAg-positive and HBeAg-negative subjects with chronic HBV infection (inclusive of chronic infection and/or chronic hepatitis). A total of approximately 200 eligible subjects will be enrolled across 2 study parts. Part 1 will be an evaluation of HBeAg-positive subjects with chronic HBV infection and Part 2 will be an evaluation of HBeAg-negative subjects with chronic HBV infection. Each study part will consist of a main study and an exploratory liver biopsy sub-study. Following the 48-week double-blind dosing period (Week 48), all participating subjects (in Parts 1 and 2) will be allowed to roll over into a 48 week (i.e., Week 48-96) open-label treatment extension period where they will all receive ALG-000184 monotherapy.

Chronic Hepatitis B Infection

How this trial compares with your answers

Answer 2 more questions to improve match

What we know so far

Condition· Matched your search
Age· Tell us your age for better matching
Gender· Tell us your sex for better matching

Still need:

  • • Tell us your age for better matching
  • • Tell us your sex for better matching

Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.

Eligibility at a Glance

Key info

  • Age: 18 Years - 65 Years
  • Who can join: All genders

Treatment history

Treatments you must have had:

  • ✓ the following chronic hepatitis B virus infection treatment status at screening:

What the study is looking for

  • ✓Male or female between 18 and 65 years of age, with body mass index (BMI) of 18.0 to 35.0 kg/m2 (or minimun age by...
  • ✓HBeAg-positive and anti-HBeAg (HBeAb) negative (Part 1); or HBeAg-negative (Part 2).
  • ✓HBsAg ≥LLOQ.
  • ✓HBV DNA ≥20,000 IU/mL.
  • ✓A history of a clinical diagnosis of chronic HBV infection AND an liver enzymes values of ≤8×ULN during screening.

Who cannot take part

  • ✗Co-infection with hepatitis A, C, D, E or HIV or any evidence of clinically significant liver disease of non-HBV...
  • ✗Positive for anti-HBs antibodies.
  • ✗History or current evidence of cirrhosis.
  • ✗Liver fibrosis that is classified as Metavir Score ≥F3 liver disease.
  • ✗History of, or current evidence of, liver decompensation.
See the full criteria
Key Inclusion Criteria: 1. Male or female between 18 and 65 years of age, with body mass index (BMI) of 18.0 to 35.0 kg/m2 (or minimun age by local regulatory requirements). 2. HBeAg-positive and anti-HBeAg (HBeAb) negative (Part 1); or HBeAg-negative (Part 2). 3. HBsAg ≥LLOQ. 4. HBV DNA ≥20,000 IU/mL. 5. A history of a clinical diagnosis of chronic HBV infection AND an ALT values of ≤8×ULN during screening. 6. Must have the following chronic hepatitis B virus infection treatment status at screening: 1. Have never received treatment with HBV antiviral medicines (NA, interferon) or investigational anti-HBV agents including a CAM \[i.e., Treatment Naïve (TN) subjects\], OR 2. Have not been on treatment with approved (NA, interferon) or investigational HBV antiviral medicines (e.g., antisense oligonucleotides or small interfering RNAs) within 6 months or 5 half-lives (whichever is longer) prior to randomization (i.e., Currently Not Treated (CNT) subjects). Key Exclusion Criteria: 1. Co-infection with hepatitis A, C, D, E or HIV or any evidence of clinically significant liver disease of non-HBV etiology. 2. Positive for anti-HBs antibodies. 3. History or current evidence of cirrhosis. 4. Liver fibrosis that is classified as Metavir Score ≥F3 liver disease. 5. History of, or current evidence of, hepatic decompensation. 6. Evidence of hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) on a liver ultrasound. 7. Having received an investigational medicinal product or device within 4 weeks (or 5 half-lives, whichever is longer) before the planned first dose of study drug 8. Exclusionary screening laboratory values include: 1. Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) \>8×ULN, 2. Bilirubin (total, direct) \>1.2×ULN (unless Gilbert's syndrome is suspected) 3. International Normalization Ratio (INR) \>1.2×ULN

Where Is This Study? (3 UK sites)

Aligos Investigational Site

Glasgow, United Kingdom

Aligos Investigational Site

Leicester, United Kingdom

Aligos Investigational Sites

London, United Kingdom

Data sourced from ClinicalTrials.gov · Last verified: 2026-04