At a glance
- What the study gets you
- Access to the study treatment being tested
- Type of study
- Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
- Time in hospital
- In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
- Drug or intervention
- Rilzabrutinib (drug), Placebo (drug)
- How long the study runs
- Study runs about 40 months (dates as stated)
- About the drug or intervention
- Rilzabrutinib — drug: Pharmaceutical form:Tablet -Route of administration:Oral · Placebo — drug: Pharmaceutical form:Tablet -Route of administration:Oral
- Patient visit burden
- Not specified by the sponsor
In plain English
This study, run by Sanofi, is looking at how well a medicine called rilzabrutinib works and how safe it is for people aged 10 to 65 with sickle cell disease. It focuses on people who have had repeated painful episodes caused by their condition.
Who can take part
- You have been diagnosed with sickle cell disease.
- You have had between 2 and 10 documented painful sickle cell episodes (called vaso-occlusive crises) within 12 months before screening.
- If you take hydroxyurea and/or L-glutamine, you must have taken them for at least 6 months, and been on a stable dose based on your weight for at least 3 months before screening, and plan to keep taking the same dose during the study (unless there is a safety reason to change).
- You are able to carry out day-to-day activities reasonably well (Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group performance status grade 2 or lower).
- Men and women must use contraception in line with local rules for people taking part in clinical studies.
- If you are aged 10 to under 18, a parent or legal guardian must give written informed consent before any study procedures.
Who may not be able to
- You have had lymphoma, leukaemia, or any cancer in the past 5 years, unless it was a skin cancer (basal cell or squamous cell) fully removed with no spread for the past 3 years.
- You have a heart problem that the study doctor considers important, or unusual findings on a heart trace test (electrocardiogram).
- You have had a stroke, or a history of abnormal transcranial doppler (a scan that checks blood flow in the brain).
- You have uncontrolled or active hepatitis B or hepatitis C infection, including taking antiviral treatment for these at screening.
- You have HIV infection.
- You have a history of active or hidden (latent) tuberculosis (TB).
- You have a positive COVID-19 molecular test.
- You are taking, or have taken, crizanlizumab (Adakveo) within the past 90 days or voxelotor (Oxbryta) within the past 30 days before screening.
What taking part involves
- • Not stated — ask the trial team.
Time commitment: Not stated — ask the trial team.
Plain-English summary (AI-generated) from registry data. Not eligibility advice — only the trial team can confirm whether you can take part. Use the eligibility checker to see how your health profile matches this trial.
- Type of study
- Testing a treatment
- Ages
- 10 Years to 65 Years
- Who
- All
- Number of participants
- 192
- Started
- 2025-08-12
- Last checked
- 2026-07
Plain English Summary
What is this study?
- • Testing a new treatment for sickle cell disease
- • Phase3 - 192 participants
- • This is a multicenter, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-group, flexible-adaptive, group-sequential study (Part A), followed by an open-label LTE period (Part B) to investigate the efficacy, and safety of rilzabrutinib in participants with sickle-cell disease (SCD)
Who can take part?
- • Ages 10 Years to 65 Years
- • Diagnosed with sickle cell disease
Where?
- • London - Investigational Site Number : 8260002
- • London - Investigational Site Number : 8260001
This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.
About This Trial
This is a multicenter, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-group, flexible-adaptive, group-sequential study (Part A), followed by an open-label LTE period (Part B) to investigate the efficacy, and safety of rilzabrutinib in participants with sickle-cell disease (SCD). Study details include: * Study duration: a 52-week double-blind period (Part A), followed by an open-label LTE period (Part B). Double-blind period has two parts, 50% (adult only) until the interim analysis (a proof-concept part analogous to a phase 2b study), and 50% (adult and children) after the interim analysis. Only the participants who complete double-blind treatment period (Part A) are eligible to continue to the LTE period. The duration of the LTE period (Part B) will be from the first-participant-in (FPI)-LTE (Part B) until the last participant who enters the LTE has completed 52 weeks. * Treatment duration: 52-week double-blind period (Part A); LTE period (Part B) from the (FPI until the last participant who enters the LTE has completed 52 weeks. * Visit frequency: Week visits based on the Schedule of Assessments.
How this trial compares with your answers
Answer 2 more questions to improve match
What we know so far
Still need:
- • Tell us your age for better matching
- • Tell us your sex for better matching
Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.
Eligibility at a Glance
Key info
- Age: 10 Years - 65 Years
- Who can join: All genders
Treatment history
Treatments you must have had:
- ✓ been on a stable weight-based dose level (mg/kg) for at least 3 months
What the study is looking for
- ✓Participants who have been diagnosed with SCD.
- ✓Participants who have had between ≥2 and ≤10 episodes of documented clinical VOC within 12 months of the screening...
- ✓Participants with activity scale (ECOG) performance status grade 2 or lower.
- ✓Contraceptive use by men and women should be consistent with local regulations regarding the methods of...
- ✓For participants ≥10 to \<18 years of age: the parent(s)/legal guardian(s) must provide written agreement to take part...
Who cannot take part
- ✗Clinically relevant heart abnormality, in the opinion of the Investigator or electrocardiogram (ECG) findings.
- ✗Participants with history of stroke, or history of abnormal transcranial doppler.
- ✗Participants with uncontrolled or active HBV infection and/or HCV infection including those receiving antiviral...
- ✗HIV infection.
- ✗A history of active or latent tuberculosis (TB)
See the full criteria
Where Is This Study? (2 UK sites)
Investigational Site Number : 8260002
London NW10 7NS, United Kingdom
Investigational Site Number : 8260001
London SE5 9RL, United Kingdom
How to Get in Touch
Trial Transparency email recommended (Toll free for US & Canada)
Sponsor contactCONTACT
