At a glance
- What the study gets you
- Access to the study treatment being tested
- Type of study
- Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
- Time in hospital
- In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
- Drug or intervention
- Placebo (drug), Low Dose PF-07328948 (drug), Medium Dose PF-07328948 (drug), High Dose PF-07328948 (drug)
- How long the study runs
- Study runs about 30 months (dates as stated)
- About the drug or intervention
- Placebo — drug: ARM 1 · Low Dose PF-07328948 — drug: ARM 2 · Medium Dose PF-07328948 — drug: ARM 3 · High Dose PF-07328948 — drug: ARM 4
- Patient visit burden
- Not specified by the sponsor
In plain English
This study, called BRANCH-HF, is testing a new study medicine called PF-07328948 in adults with heart failure. Heart failure means the heart does not pump blood as well as it should. The study is run by Pfizer.
Who can take part
- Adults aged 18 to under 80 years
- Diagnosed with heart failure by a doctor at least 3 months ago
- Symptoms rated as New York Heart Association (a heart symptom severity scale) Class II to IV
- Left ventricular ejection fraction (a measure of how well the heart pumps) greater than 40%
- A symptom score on the Kansas City Cardiomyopathy Questionnaire-23 (a heart failure questionnaire) below 85
- Able to walk more than 75 metres in six minutes
Who may not be able to
- Type 1 diabetes, liver cirrhosis, or any condition that might affect how the body absorbs the medicine
- Major surgery planned during the study that, in the study doctor's view, would affect walking ability
- Have had a heart transplant, are on a transplant waiting list, or are currently due to have medicines given through a drip (IV) to widen blood vessels or support the heart
- Past bad reaction, allergy, or other reason not to take a type of medicine called an SGLT2 inhibitor
What taking part involves
- • Not stated — ask the trial team
Time commitment: Not stated — ask the trial team
Plain-English summary (AI-generated) from registry data. Not eligibility advice — only the trial team can confirm whether you can take part. Use the eligibility checker to see how your health profile matches this trial.
- Type of study
- Testing a treatment
- Ages
- 18 Years to 79 Years
- Who
- All
- Number of participants
- 620
- Started
- 2025-06-19
- Last checked
- 2026-05
Plain English Summary
What is this study?
- • Testing a new treatment for heart failure
- • Phase2 - 620 participants
- • The purpose of this study is to learn about the safety and effects of the study medicine (PF-07328948) for the possible treatment of heart failure (HF)
Who can take part?
- • Ages 18 Years to 79 Years
- • Diagnosed with heart failure
Where?
- • Dundee - Ninewells Hospital and Medical School
- • London - St. George's Hospital
- • Norwich - Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
- • Chichester - St Richard's Hospital
- • +2 more UK sites
This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.
About This Trial
The purpose of this study is to learn about the safety and effects of the study medicine (PF-07328948) for the possible treatment of heart failure (HF).
More detail
All participants in this study will take either the study medicine (PF-07328948) tablets, or placebo tablets, once daily, by mouth, every day for 36 weeks. The study determines if the study medicine (PF-07328948) is safe and effective compared to placebo in people with heart failure who are already taking standard-of-care medications for heart failure that include sodium-glucose cotransporter 2 (SGLT2) inhibitors. Participants will be involved in this study for about 48 weeks. During this time, participants will visit the study clinic 15 times. In general, 5 of these visits may be performed at home by phone and the other 10 visits will take place at the study site.
How this trial compares with your answers
Answer 2 more questions to improve match
What we know so far
Still need:
- • Tell us your age for better matching
- • Tell us your sex for better matching
Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.
Eligibility at a Glance
Key info
- Age: 18 Years - 79 Years
- Who can join: All genders
What the study is looking for
- ✓This study is seeking participants who are:
- ✓Key Inclusion Criteria include:
- ✓aged 18 years to \< 80 years
- ✓clinically confirmed to have a diagnosis of heart failure for at least 3 months
- ✓New York Heart Association Class II-IV symptoms
See the full criteria
Where Is This Study? (6 UK sites)
Ninewells Hospital and Medical School
Dundee DD1 9SY, United Kingdom
St. George's Hospital
London SW17 0QT, United Kingdom
Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Norwich NR4 7UY, United Kingdom
St Richard's Hospital
Chichester PO19 6SE, United Kingdom
South Eastern Health and Social Care Trust
Belfast BT16 1RH, United Kingdom
Wycombe General Hospital
High Wycombe HP11 2TT, United Kingdom
How to Get in Touch
Pfizer CT.gov Call Center
Sponsor contactCONTACT
