At a glance
- What the study gets you
- Access to the study treatment being tested
- Type of study
- Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
- Time in hospital
- In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
- Drug or intervention
- Obecabtagene autoleucel (biological)
- How long the study runs
- Study runs about 45 months (dates as stated)
- About the drug or intervention
- Obecabtagene autoleucel — biological: Obecabtagene autoleucel (obe-cel) given as a single infusion
- Patient visit burden
- Not specified by the sponsor
In plain English
This study is testing a treatment called obe-cel in people aged 12 to 65 with severe systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE, often called lupus) that has not got better with earlier treatment, and who also have active lupus nephritis (LN) — a type of lupus that affects the kidneys. To join, participants must have a kidney biopsy showing a certain type of kidney involvement. The sponsor is Autolus Limited.
Who can take part
- Aged 12 to 65, with consent given by the person or a legal guardian or representative
- A diagnosis of SLE based on the 2019 EULAR/ACR criteria (European League Against Rheumatism and American College of Rheumatology)
- A positive test for at least one of these antibodies: antinuclear antibodies (ANA), anti-dsDNA, or anti-Smith
- Severe, active lupus with a SLEDAI-2K score of 8 or more (a measure of lupus activity)
- Active lupus nephritis confirmed by a kidney biopsy showing class III, IV, or V (class V only alongside class III or IV)
- Lupus that has not improved after earlier treatment (called refractory)
- If female, not pregnant or breastfeeding
Who may not be able to
- Previous treatment with anti-CD19 therapy at any time
- More than one sudden severe lupus flare during screening that needs immediate treatment or makes stopping existing immunosuppressant medicines impossible
- Significant, likely permanent organ damage from lupus (such as end-stage kidney disease) that, in the researchers' view, means CD19 CAR T cell therapy is unlikely to help
- A history of primary antiphospholipid antibody syndrome
- An active or uncontrolled fungal, bacterial, or viral infection
- A history of cancer, unless cancer-free for at least 24 months
- Previous transplant of the heart, lungs, kidneys, or liver, or a blood stem cell transplant
What taking part involves
- • Not stated — ask the trial team. The study involves a treatment called obe-cel, described in the registry as CD19 CAR T cell therapy, but details of what participants receive are not given.
Time commitment: Not stated — ask the trial team. Participants must be willing and able to follow the study's schedule of activities, but the number of visits and how long the study lasts are not stated.
Plain-English summary (AI-generated) from registry data. Not eligibility advice — only the trial team can confirm whether you can take part. Use the eligibility checker to see how your health profile matches this trial.
- Type of study
- Testing a treatment
- Ages
- 12 Years to 65 Years
- Who
- All
- Number of participants
- 35
- Started
- 2026-01-16
- Last checked
- 2026-08
Plain English Summary
What is this study?
- • Testing a new treatment for lupus nephritis
- • Phase2 - 35 participants
- • The purpose of this trial is to evaluate the efficacy and safety of obecabtagene autoleucel (obe-cel) administered once following lymphodepletion in participants with severe, refractory systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE) and active lupus nephritis (LN)
Who can take part?
- • Ages 12 Years to 65 Years
- • Diagnosed with lupus nephritis
Where?
- • Birmingham - Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham
- • Bristol - Bristol Haematology and Oncology Centre
- • Cambridge - Addenbrooke's Hospital
- • Edinburgh - Western General Hospital Edinburgh
- • +4 more UK sites
This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.
About This Trial
The purpose of this trial is to evaluate the efficacy and safety of obecabtagene autoleucel (obe-cel) administered once following lymphodepletion in participants with severe, refractory systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE) and active lupus nephritis (LN).
More detail
This is a Phase 2 study to determine the efficacy and safety of obe-cel in participants with severe, refractory SLE with active LN. The study comprises 3 periods: 1. Screening Period: From Day -30 (+7) to Day of Enrollment 2. Treatment Period: From Day -8 to Day 1 - Participants will be evaluated to confirm eligibility for lymphodepletion, and thereafter receive lymphodepletion. Obe-cel Administration: If the participant's eligibility for receiving obe-cel infusion is confirmed, the participant is to receive a single obe-cel infusion on Day 1. 3. Post-treatment Period: From Day 1 to End of Study all participants will be followed up for efficacy and safety evaluation.
How this trial compares with your answers
Answer 2 more questions to improve match
What we know so far
Still need:
- • Tell us your age for better matching
- • Tell us your sex for better matching
Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.
Eligibility at a Glance
Key info
- Age: 12 Years - 65 Years
- Who can join: All genders
Biomarkers mentioned
What the study is looking for
- ✓Willing and able to give written agreement to take part for participation in the study or written agreement to take part signed...
- ✓Ability and willingness to adhere to protocol's Schedule of Activities and other requirements
- ✓Participants must be 12 to 65 years of age inclusive at the time of signing the agreement to take part.
- ✓Female Participants: - a female participant is eligible to participate if she is not pregnant or breastfeeding
- ✓Diagnosis of SLE fulfilling the 2019 European League Against Rheumatism (EULAR)/American College of Rheumatology...
Who cannot take part
- ✗Prior treatment at any time with anti-CD19 therapy
- ✗More than 1 acute, severe lupus-related flare during screening that needs immediate treatment and/or makes the...
- ✗Significant, likely irreversible organ damage related to SLE (e.g., end-stage kidney disease) that in the opinion of...
- ✗History of primary antiphospholipid antibody syndrome
- ✗Active or uncontrolled fungal, bacterial, or viral infection
See the full criteria
Where Is This Study? (8 UK sites)
Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham
Birmingham B15 2TH, United Kingdom
Bristol Haematology and Oncology Centre
Bristol BS1 3LH, United Kingdom
Addenbrooke's Hospital
Cambridge CB2 0QQ, United Kingdom
Western General Hospital Edinburgh
Edinburgh EH4 2XU, United Kingdom
Queen Elizabeth University Hospital
Glasgow G51 4TF, United Kingdom
University College Hospital
London MW1 2PG, United Kingdom
Rajinder Sidhu - Associate Director, Research Governance and Operations
uclh.jro-communications@nhs.net020 3447 9825Great Ormond Street Hospital
London WC1N 3JH, United Kingdom
Main Email: Research.Governance@gosh.nhs.uk
Research.Governance@gosh.nhs.uk0207 905 2700Manchester Royal Infirmary
Manchester M13 9WL, United Kingdom
How to Get in Touch
Autolus Ltd
Sponsor contactCONTACT
