Skip to main content
UK clinical trials - updated daily from ClinicalTrials.gov
TrialConnect
← Back to Search
Looking for participantsNA

Positron Emission Tomography to Assess the Effect of Camzyos on Ischaemia in HOCM: PEACH Trial

Sponsor: University of Manchester

NCT ID: NCT07120776

View on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

At a glance

What the study gets you
Access to the study treatment being tested
Type of study
Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
Time in hospital
In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
Drug or intervention
Camzyos (Mavacamten) (drug)
How long the study runs
Study runs about 31 months (dates as stated)
About the drug or intervention
Camzyos (Mavacamten) — drug: Camzyos (Mavacamten), a selective cardiac myosin inhibitor prescribed as part of routine care in patients with symptomatic HOCM.
Patient visit burden
Not specified by the sponsor
Type of study
Testing a treatment
Ages
18 Years and over
Who
All
Number of participants
75
Started
2026-03-26
Last checked
2026-05

Plain English Summary

What is this study?

  • • Testing a new treatment for hypertrophic obstructive cardiomyopathy \(hocm\)
  • • NA - 75 participants
  • • Hypertrophic obstructive cardiomyopathy (HOCM) is a heritable heart condition that leads to the thickening of the heart muscle and causes obstruction of blood flow, impeding it's ejection from the heart (LVOT obstruction)

Who can take part?

  • • Ages 18 Years and over
  • • Diagnosed with hypertrophic obstructive cardiomyopathy \(hocm\)

Where?

  • • Manchester - Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust

This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.

About This Trial

Hypertrophic obstructive cardiomyopathy (HOCM) is a heritable heart condition that leads to the thickening of the heart muscle and causes obstruction of blood flow, impeding it's ejection from the heart (LVOT obstruction). Often individuals with HOCM suffer from chest pain and shortness of breath due to lack of oxygen supply (ischaemia) to the heart muscle in the absence of blockages in the coronary arteries. Despite proven advances in treatment of LVOT obstruction with the novel medication Camzyos (Mavacamten), there is a limited understanding of its effect on myocardial ischaemia. This study, called the PEACH Trial, is designed to assess whether Camzyos also improves blood supply (perfusion) to the heart muscle in patients with HOCM. A specialised imaging technique called Positron Emission Tomography/Computed Tomography (PET-CT), using Rubidium-82 will be used to evaluate blood flow to the heart muscle before and after treatment. Camzyos is part of participants' regular clinical treatment and is not being supplied, administered, or influenced by the study in any way. Participants with HOCM who are starting treatment with Camzyos as part of their clinical care will undergo a baseline PET-CT scan (if not already done), and a second scan after 12 months. The follow-up scan is done solely for research purposes. The scans will allow researchers to evaluate whether the medication improves myocardial perfusion in addition to relieving outflow obstruction. The study is sponsored by the University of Manchester and funded by Bristol Myers Squibb. It will involve up to 75 participants recruited at Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust. The findings could help improve understanding of how Camzyos works and support personalised treatment approaches in HOCM.

Hypertrophic Obstructive Cardiomyopathy \(HOCM\)Left Ventricular Outflow Tract ObstructionMyocardial Ischaemia

How this trial compares with your answers

Answer 2 more questions to improve match

What we know so far

Condition· Matched your search
Age· Tell us your age for better matching
Gender· Tell us your sex for better matching

Still need:

  • • Tell us your age for better matching
  • • Tell us your sex for better matching

Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.

Eligibility at a Glance

Key info

  • Age: 18 Years and over
  • Who can join: All genders

What the study is looking for

  • ✓Written agreement to take part.
  • ✓Aged 18 and over.
  • ✓Symptoms suggestive of myocardial ischaemia (chest pain, shortness of breath on exertion) with a clinical indication...
  • ✓PET-CT performed for clinical reasons at any time in the preceding 18 months if reported as abnormal.

Who cannot take part

  • ✗Contraindications to Mavacamten, including left ventricular ejection fraction (LVEF) less than 55%, hypersensitivity...
  • ✗safety concern to Rubidium PET-CT, including:
  • ✗Pregnancy or breastfeeding.
  • ✗Severe claustrophobia.
  • ✗Morbid obesity when the patient dimensions are beyond the scanning chamber capacity.
See the full criteria
Inclusion Criteria: 1. Written informed consent. 2. Aged 18 and over. 3. Confirmed diagnosis of Hypertrophic Obstructive Cardiomyopathy (HOCM) based on diagnostic criteria, such as unexplained left ventricular hypertrophy with a maximal wall thickness ≥15 mm in the absence of uncontrolled hypertension, valvular heart disease, or HCM phenocopies such as amyloidosis and storage disorders, and presence of either a resting or provoked peak left ventricular outflow tract (LVOT) gradient ≥30 mmHg. 4. Symptoms suggestive of myocardial ischaemia (chest pain, shortness of breath on exertion) with a clinical indication for Rb-PET. 5. Eligible for Mavacamten treatment according to standard clinical guidelines. \[see: https://www.nice.org.uk/guidance/ta913/chapter/1-Recommendations\]. Mavacamten is part of participants' regular clinical treatment and is not being supplied, administered, or influenced by the study in any way. 6. PET-CT performed for clinical reasons at any time in the preceding 18 months if reported as abnormal. Exclusion Criteria: 1. Patients with obstructive coronary artery disease (epicardial coronary stenosis \>50%, assessed by either invasive coronary angiography or computed tomography angiography (CTCA). Patients will undergo the initial PET study as part of their routine clinical care. If evidence of ischaemia is identified, the standard next step would involve either CT coronary angiography or, in some cases, invasive angiography to guide further clinical management. If the angiography reveals a clear lesion responsible for the ischaemia identified on PET, the patient will not be eligible for inclusion in the study and will not be approached. Conversely, if the angiography does not identify a definitive cause for the ischaemia, it will be presumed to be of microvascular origin. In such cases, the patient becomes eligible for the study and will be approached to discuss participation and provide consent at this stage. It is important to emphasize that any angiographic procedure occurs prior to consent and as part of routine clinical care. No angiographic investigations are planned or conducted as part of the study protocol. Data from the clinical angiogram will not be included in the study, except to note a 'positive angiogram' as a reason for patient exclusion. 2. Contraindications to Mavacamten, including left ventricular ejection fraction (LVEF) less than 55%, hypersensitivity or allergic reaction to the drug. 3. Contraindication to Rubidium PET-CT, including: * Pregnancy or breastfeeding. * Severe claustrophobia. * Morbid obesity when the patient dimensions are beyond the scanning chamber capacity. 4. Any medical condition, which in the opinion of the Investigator, may place the patient at higher risk from his/her participation in the study, or is likely to prevent the patient from complying with the requirements of the study or completing the study.

Where Is This Study? (1 UK site)

Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust

Manchester M13 9WL, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)
Tamara Naneishvili, MBBS, MRCP(UK)+447413060202tamara.naneishvili@manchester.ac.uk

How to Get in Touch

Tamara Naneishvili, MBBS, MRCP (UK)

Sponsor contact

CONTACT

+447413060202 tamara.naneishvili@manchester.ac.uk
Data sourced from ClinicalTrials.gov · Last verified: 2026-05