At a glance
- What the study gets you
- Access to the study treatment being tested
- Type of study
- Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
- Time in hospital
- In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
- Drug or intervention
- Trontinemab (drug), Placebo (other)
- How long the study runs
- Study runs about 29 months (dates as stated)
- About the drug or intervention
- Trontinemab — drug: Participants will receive IV trontinemab. · Placebo — other: Participants will receive IV placebo.
- Patient visit burden
- Not specified by the sponsor
- Type of study
- Testing a treatment
- Ages
- 50 Years to 90 Years
- Who
- All
- Number of participants
- 1,101
- Started
- 2025-09-17
- Last checked
- 2026-09
Plain English Summary
What is this study?
- • Testing a new treatment for alzheimers disease
- • Phase3 - 1,101 participants
- • The purpose of this study is to assess the efficacy and safety of trontinemab in participants with early symptomatic Alzheimer's disease (AD) (mild cognitive impairment \[MCI\] to mild dementia due to AD)
Who can take part?
- • Ages 50 Years to 90 Years
- • Diagnosed with alzheimers disease
Where?
- • Bradford - Lynfield Mount hospital
- • Bristol - Recognition Health Bristol
- • Chertsey - Surrey and Borders NHS Foundation Trust
- • London - Department of Old Age Psychiatry Kings College
- • +4 more UK sites
This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.
About This Trial
The purpose of this study is to assess the efficacy and safety of trontinemab in participants with early symptomatic Alzheimer's disease (AD) (mild cognitive impairment \[MCI\] to mild dementia due to AD).
How this trial compares with your answers
Answer 2 more questions to improve match
What we know so far
Still need:
- • Tell us your age for better matching
- • Tell us your sex for better matching
Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.
Eligibility at a Glance
Key info
- Age: 50 Years - 90 Years
- Who can join: All genders
What the study is looking for
- ✓Adequate visual and auditory acuity, in the investigator's judgment, sufficient to perform the neuropsychological...
- ✓Evidence of AD pathological process, as confirmed on amyloid PET scan. A CSF tau181/Aβ42 ratio may be used as an...
- ✓Probable AD dementia or MCI due to AD, also known as an Alzheimer's clinical syndrome clinical Stage 3 or Stage 4
- ✓Screening MMSE score ≥ 22 and CDR-GS of 0.5 or 1.0
- ✓Participant- and/or Informant-reported history of cognitive decline with gradual onset and progression over the last...
Who cannot take part
- ✗Any evidence of a condition other than AD that may affect cognition
- ✗History or presence of clinically significant cerebrovascular disease
- ✗History of severe, clinically significant (persistent neurologic deficit or structural brain damage) central nervous...
- ✗MRI evidence of significant cerebral abnormalities or inability to tolerate MRI procedures or safety concern to MRI
- ✗History of cancer with the following exceptions: if considered to be cured; malignancies with a negligible risk...
See the full criteria
Where Is This Study? (8 UK sites)
Lynfield Mount hospital
Bradford BD9 6DP, United Kingdom
Mark Dawson. Head of Research & Knowledge Services
research@bdct.nhs.uk07502579614Recognition Health Bristol
Bristol BS32 4SY, United Kingdom
Surrey and Borders NHS Foundation Trust
Chertsey KT16 9AU, United Kingdom
Department of Old Age Psychiatry Kings College
London SE5 8AF, United Kingdom
RE:Cognition Health
London W1G 8TA, United Kingdom
Charing Cross Hospital
London W6 8RF, United Kingdom
Campus for Ageing & Vitality
Newcastle NE4 5PL, United Kingdom
Tees,Esk and Wear Valleys NHS Foundation Trust
York YO31 8TA, United Kingdom
Research and Development TEWV
TEWV.ResearchandDevelopment@nhs.net01642 283501