Skip to main content
UK clinical trials - updated daily from ClinicalTrials.gov
TrialConnect
← Back to Search
Looking for participantsPhase1/Phase2

ACTinium in Castrate-RESistant Prostate Cancer After LUTEtium

Sponsor: University College, London

NCT ID: NCT07414940

View on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

At a glance

What the study gets you
Access to the study treatment being tested
Type of study
Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
Time in hospital
In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
Drug or intervention
Actinium (225Ac) rhPSMA-10.1 (drug)
How long the study runs
Study runs about 68 months (dates as stated)
About the drug or intervention
Actinium (225Ac) rhPSMA-10.1 — drug: Dose will vary depending on trial phase and dose escalation/de-escalation stage
Patient visit burden
Not specified by the sponsor

In plain English

This University College London study is testing a new radioactive drug called actinium treatment (the trial name is 'ACTinium in Castrate-RESistant Prostate Cancer After LUTEtium') in men whose prostate cancer has spread and no longer responds to hormone treatment. Most people joining must already have had a treatment called lutetium-177 PSMA and responded well to it. Not stated — ask the trial team: how the treatment works, what phase the trial is in overall, or what results are expected.

Who can take part

  • Adults aged 18 or over who agree in writing to take part.
  • Prostate cancer confirmed by a tissue test, which has spread (metastatic) and no longer responds to hormone lowering treatment (castration-resistant).
  • A rising PSA (a blood marker for prostate cancer) showing the cancer is growing, with PSA above 1 ng/mL.
  • A scan (PSMA PET-CT) showing the cancer picks up PSMA, a target on prostate cancer cells.
  • Already treated with at least one modern hormone tablet (androgen receptor pathway inhibitor) and at least one but no more than two courses of taxane chemotherapy, or unable or unwilling to have taxanes.
  • Already had lutetium-177 PSMA treatment (up to 6 doses) and responded to it — although the first 3 people at each dose in the first part of the trial may not have had it before.
  • A gap of at least 4 weeks (or 5 half-lives, if longer) since most recent anti-cancer treatment, and at least 10 weeks since lutetium-177 PSMA. Hormone injections should continue.
  • Well enough to look after yourself (performance status 0 or 1), expected to live more than 12 weeks, with mild or no dry mouth symptoms.
  • Good blood, kidney and liver function, and recovered from side effects of earlier treatment (with some exceptions like hair loss, mild numbness or frequent urination).
  • Use reliable contraception during the trial, agreed by both the participant and their partner.

Who may not be able to

  • Cancer pressing on the spinal cord (cord compression), or signs it might happen.
  • Cancer that has spread to the brain or spinal fluid.
  • Lutetium-177 PSMA treatment within the last 10 weeks.
  • Other radioactive cancer treatments such as radium-223 (except radioactive iodine for thyroid cancer is allowed).
  • Blood transfusions or drugs boosting red blood cells within the last 4 weeks, or major surgery within the last 12 weeks.
  • Another cancer now or in the past 5 years, apart from some skin cancers or early bladder cancer that has been treated.
  • Conditions raising the risk of dry mouth, such as Sjogren's disease.
  • Having only one kidney, a kidney transplant, or other kidney problems that could make the treatment unsafe.
  • Severe urinary incontinence or anything stopping safe handling of radioactive urine, or blockages in the urinary tract unless fixed.
  • Significant abnormalities on a heart tracing (ECG), or other serious health problems that would make taking part unsafe.
  • Radiotherapy within the last 2 weeks.
  • Allergy to the trial drug or its ingredients, or taking part in another trial of an experimental drug.
  • Any personal, family or travel situation that would make following the trial plan difficult or unsafe.

What taking part involves

  • • Not stated — ask the trial team: what the treatment involves, how it is given, and how many doses.
  • • People joining must have a PSMA PET-CT scan to check their cancer before starting.
  • • Hormone therapy (injections) continues during the trial, and steroid tablets up to 10 mg prednisone a day are allowed.

Time commitment: Not stated — ask the trial team how many hospital visits are needed, how long the trial lasts, and what tests and follow-up are involved.

Plain-English summary (AI-generated) from registry data. Not eligibility advice — only the trial team can confirm whether you can take part. Use the eligibility checker to see how your health profile matches this trial.

Type of study
Testing a treatment
Ages
18 Years and over
Who
Male
Number of participants
60
Started
2026-04-13
Last checked
2026-04

Plain English Summary

What is this study?

  • • Testing a new treatment for metastatic castration-resistant prostate cancer
  • • Phase1/Phase2 - 60 participants
  • • Advanced metastatic castration-resistant prostate cancer is a medical condition for which additional effective and tolerable treatments are urgently needed in order to improve patient outcomes and quality of life

Who can take part?

  • • Ages 18 Years and over
  • • Diagnosed with metastatic castration-resistant prostate cancer
  • • Male only

Where?

  • • London - University College London Hospital

This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.

About This Trial

Advanced metastatic castration-resistant prostate cancer is a medical condition for which additional effective and tolerable treatments are urgently needed in order to improve patient outcomes and quality of life. The goal of this clinical trial is to learn more about Actinium (225Ac) radiohybrid prostate-specific membrane antigen-10.1 (rhPSMA-10.1) injection in men with prostate cancer that has spread and progressed after previous treatments, particularly after Lutetium-PSMA. Actinium (225Ac) rhPSMA-10.1 is an injectable radioactive medication that aims to attach to prostate cancer cells in the body and destroy them using ionising radiation. It is a new medication that has not yet been studied in humans. Participants will receive a dose of Actinium (225Ac) rhPSMA-10.1 every 6 weeks, to a maximum of 6 doses. They will be reviewed regularly by the trial researchers to monitor side effects and safety signals. A range of medication doses will be administered so that researchers can find out what doses of the medication are safe for men with prostate cancer. The trial will also aim to determine how effective this medication is for treating advanced prostate cancer.

More detail

This is a multi-site, prospective, open-label Phase I/II trial of Actinium (225Ac) rhPSMA-10.1 for men with metastatic castration-resistant prostate cancer (mCRPC). The novel ligand radiohybrid (rh) PSMA-10.1 has shown favourable properties in early clinical and preclinical studies. As an emitter of alpha-radiation, Actinium-225 is expected to deposit greater energy at a shorter range than beta-emitting Lutetium-177, conferring the potential to overcome prior PSMA-based radioligand therapy failure. Phase I of this trial will focus on dose-finding and medication safety. It will investigate men with mCRPC who have previously responded to Lutetium-PSMA, however, a small number of participants will be permitted to be Lutetium-PSMA-naïve. Participants will additionally be assessed for early signals of treatment activity and there will also be an exploratory dosimetry component. Phase II will utilise the dose selected from Phase I and expand the treatment cohort. In Phase II all participants are required to have previously responded to Lutetium-PSMA. Study participants must all undergo a screening process and meet trial criteria before they begin any treatment. Provided they tolerate treatment well and their prostate cancer does not worsen during treatment, participants will be offered further treatment every six weeks, to a maximum of six doses. Study participants will be reviewed weekly by a trial doctor to ensure they are tolerating treatment well and that any potential side effects of the treatment are identified and addressed. These reviews will sometimes be done remotely e.g. on the phone. Monitoring blood tests will be done regularly, and in Phase II this will also include collection of blood samples for exploratory genetic analysis. After starting treatment, participants will have a CT and bone scan every 12 weeks in order to assess whether their prostate cancer sites are responding to treatment. After trial treatment is complete, participants will be asked to remain on follow-up to help build an understanding of any long-term impacts of the treatment.

Metastatic Castration-resistant Prostate CancerMetastatic Prostate CancerProstate Cancer

How this trial compares with your answers

Answer 2 more questions to improve match

What we know so far

Condition· Matched your search
Age· Tell us your age for better matching
Gender· Tell us your sex for better matching

Still need:

  • • Tell us your age for better matching
  • • Tell us your sex for better matching

Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.

Eligibility at a Glance

Key info

  • Age: 18 Years and over
  • Who can join: Male only

Biomarkers mentioned

PSA

Treatment history

Treatments you must have had:

  • ✓ at least one second-generation
  • ✓ at least one but no m
  • ✓ 177Lu-PSMA-targeted radiopharmaceutical therapy (e

What the study is looking for

  • ✓Age ≥ 18 years at time of providing agreement to take part.
  • ✓Histologically- or cytologically-confirmed diagnosis of prostate adenocarcinoma, which may include small cell or...
  • ✓Castration-resistant prostate cancer, defined as a rising PSA despite surgical castration or ongoing medical...
  • ✓PSMA-avid disease on screening PSMA-PET-CT scan
  • ✓Prior treatment with at least one second-generation androgen receptor pathway inhibitor (ARPI)

Who cannot take part

  • ✗causing symptoms cord compression, or clinical or radiologic findings indicative of impending cord compression.
  • ✗Active that has spread central nervous system (CNS) disease, including leptomeningeal disease.
  • ✗Receipt of 177Lu-PSMA treatment within 10 weeks of trial enrolment.
  • ✗Prior radiotherapeutic treatment for that has spread prostate cancer (e.g. Radium-223) with the exception of 177Lu-PSMA.
  • ✗Note: prior radiotherapeutic treatment for other cancers is permitted (e.g. radioactive iodine for thyroid cancer).
See the full criteria
Phase I 177Lu-PSMA requirement: The first 3 participants treated at each dose level may be 177Lu-PSMA treatment naïve or may have previously received 177Lu-PSMA treatment. Additional participants recruited at any dose level must have received prior 177Lu-PSMA treatment and had a response to therapy, as judged by the treating physician. Phase II 177Lu-PSMA requirement: All participants must have received prior 177Lu-PSMA and had a response to therapy, as judged by the treating physician. Inclusion Criteria: 1. Age ≥ 18 years at time of providing informed consent. 2. Histologically- or cytologically-confirmed diagnosis of prostate adenocarcinoma, which may include small cell or neuroendocrine features. 3. Castration-resistant prostate cancer, defined as a rising PSA despite surgical castration or ongoing medical castration, with serum testosterone ≤ 0.5ng/mL or \<1.7 nmol/L. 4. Progressive mCRPC with rising PSA level, as defined by PCWG3 criteria, or by radiological progression, and must demonstrate a sequence of rising values above baseline at a minimum of 1-week intervals and PSA \> 1 ng/mL. 5. PSMA-avid disease on screening PSMA-PET-CT scan 6. Prior treatment with at least one second-generation androgen receptor pathway inhibitor (ARPI) 7. Prior treatment with at least one but no more than two lines of taxane therapy for prostate cancer, or been deemed ineligible or refused taxane therapy on consultation with their treating physician. 8. At least 4 weeks or 5 half-lives (whichever is longer) elapsed between last anti-cancer treatment administration and the initiation of trial treatment. Anti-cancer treatment includes ARPIs and PARP inhibitors but excludes ADT (e.g. luteinising hormone releasing hormone (LHRH) analogue or gonadotropin-releasing hormone treatment), which should be continued. Prednisone up to 10 mg daily (or equivalent) is also permitted. 9. Prior treatment with 177Lu-PSMA-targeted radiopharmaceutical therapy (e.g. 177Lu-PSMA-617, 177Lu PSMA-I\&T) up to a maximum of 6 cycles and with response to therapy as judged by the treating physician. Exception: in Phase I, the first 3 participants treated at each dose level may be 177Lu-PSMA naïve Note: last treatment with 177Lu-PSMA must be more than 10 weeks prior to study enrolment. 10. Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group performance status (ECOG PS) of 0 or 1. 11. Estimated life expectancy \> 12 weeks. 12. Grade ≤ 1 xerostomia symptoms at time of trial enrolment. 13. Adequate bone marrow, renal, and hepatic function 14. Resolution of all previous treatment-related toxicities to CTCAE v5.0 Grade ≤ 1, except for chemotherapy-induced alopecia, Grade 2 peripheral neuropathy, and Grade 2 urinary frequency, which are permitted. 15. Adequate contraception for participants and their partners. 16. Willing and able to provide written informed consent. Exclusion Criteria: 1. Symptomatic cord compression, or clinical or radiologic findings indicative of impending cord compression. 2. Active metastatic central nervous system (CNS) disease, including leptomeningeal disease. 3. Receipt of 177Lu-PSMA treatment within 10 weeks of trial enrolment. 4. Prior radiotherapeutic treatment for metastatic prostate cancer (e.g. Radium-223) with the exception of 177Lu-PSMA. Note: prior radiotherapeutic treatment for other cancers is permitted (e.g. radioactive iodine for thyroid cancer). 5. Receipt of transfused blood products or erythropoietin stimulating agents within 4 weeks of trial enrolment. 6. Major surgery within 12 weeks of trial enrolment. 7. Other current malignancy, or malignancy diagnosed/relapsed within the past 5 years (other than non melanomatous skin cancer, stage 0 melanoma in situ, or non-muscle invasive bladder cancer that has undergone curative intent therapy). 8. Sjogren's disease or any other medical conditions that in the judgement of the investigator puts the participant at increased risk of xerostomia. 9. Single kidney, renal transplant or any nephrotoxic condition or concomitant therapy that in the judgement of the investigator could put the participant at risk of unacceptable renal toxicity during the trial. 10. Severe urinary incontinence or any other conditions that in the judgement of the investigator would preclude safe disposal of radioactive urine. 11. Any structural kidney/renal tract disease that in the judgement of the investigator could affect excretion of the trial agent (e.g. hydronephrosis), unless addressed with intervention (e.g. ureteric stent insertion with normalisation of renal function). 12. Clinically significant abnormalities on a single 12-lead electrocardiogram (ECG) during screening evaluation. 13. Concurrent serious conditions that in the judgement of the investigator would pose a safety risk or impair trial participation. 14. Radiation therapy within 2 weeks before trial enrolment. 15. Hypersensitivity to the investigational product or any of its constituents. 16. Current participation in another trial with ongoing receipt of an investigational agent. 17. Any psychological, familial, sociological, or geographical condition potentially hampering compliance with the trial protocol and follow-up schedule, or that would pose a risk to the participant's safety.

Where Is This Study? (1 UK site)

University College London Hospital

London WC1E 6BT, United Kingdom

Recruiting
Site contact (verified)

How to Get in Touch

Trial Manager

Sponsor contact

CONTACT

02076799274 ncita.actinium@ucl.ac.uk
Data sourced from ClinicalTrials.gov · Last verified: 2026-04