At a glance
- What the study gets you
- Access to the study treatment being tested
- Type of study
- Interventional (receives a drug or procedure)
- Time in hospital
- In-person visits at study sites — visit count not specified by the sponsor
- Drug or intervention
- CSF shunt (device), DVSS (device)
- How long the study runs
- Study runs about 58 months (dates as stated)
- About the drug or intervention
- CSF shunt — device: CSF shunt may be ventriculoperitoneal (VP) or lumboperitoneal (LP) at the discretion of the treating medical team. · DVSS — device: Dural Venous Sinus Stent.
- Patient visit burden
- Not specified by the sponsor
- Type of study
- Testing a treatment
- Ages
- 18 Years to 63 Years
- Who
- All
- Number of participants
- 80
- Started
- 2023-07-18
- Last checked
- 2026-02
Plain English Summary
What is this study?
- • Testing a new treatment for iih - idiopathic intracranial hypertension
- • NA - 80 participants
- • Background and study aims Idiopathic intracranial hypertension (IIH) is a neurological condition characterised by increased pressure inside the skull, called intracranial pressure (ICP)
Who can take part?
- • Ages 18 Years to 63 Years
- • Diagnosed with iih - idiopathic intracranial hypertension
Where?
- • Birmingham - The Queen Elizabeth Hospital
- • Bristol - Bristol Eye Hospital
- • Bristol - Southmead Hospital
- • Cambridge - Addenbrooke's Hospital
- • +11 more UK sites
This is a simplified summary. Always discuss with your doctor before making any decisions.
About This Trial
Background and study aims Idiopathic intracranial hypertension (IIH) is a neurological condition characterised by increased pressure inside the skull, called intracranial pressure (ICP). It is more common in women of reproductive age with obesity. Common symptoms of IIH include headaches, blurred vision and ringing in the ears. If left untreated, the disorder may cause blindness. The majority of patients with IIH are managed with weight loss and medications. Fewer than 10% of patients develop progressive visual loss and require urgent intervention to reduce ICP and preserve vision. This trial will compare the two most common interventions performed in the UK and evaluate their clinical and cost-effectiveness. The first is called cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) shunting and involves a procedure where a thin tube called a shunt is implanted in the body to drain brain fluid. The second is called dural venous sinus stenting (DVSS) and involves a procedure where a metallic mesh tube called a stent is implanted inside a brain blood vessel. Both procedures can preserve vision, but there is no strong evidence to support one over the other. Participants will have the same chance to be treated with CSF shunting or DVSS. The aim of the trial is to know which intervention is the most effective to save the vision and the most cost-effective. Who can participate? Adults with a diagnosis of IIH at risk of permanent sight loss What does the study involve? The trial will be conducted in NHS hospitals located in England, Wales and Scotland. Participants are randomly allocated to undergo cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) shunting or dural venous sinus stenting (DVSS). Afterwards the participants will be asked to attend 11 hospital appointments and one telephone appointment. This follow-up will take 2 years from start to finish. Participants will be closely monitored for any side effects and potential device failure, and for changes in vision, headaches and quality of life. The researchers will also collect health data from NHS Digital (the national custodian of NHS health and social care data). What are the possible benefits and risks of participating? There are no direct benefits from taking part in the trial but the information gained from this trial may help improve treatment for adults with IIH in the future. Participants may be seen more often and/or feel more supported as a consequence of their involvement in the trial. As with any intervention, there are risks and complications, but there are no additional disadvantages or risks involved in taking part in this trial. Both CSF shunting and stenting are treatments for IIH (shunting is widely used internationally, and in some hospitals, stenting is used as part of the standard of care). Participants require an intervention to prevent sight loss. None of these treatments is experimental but at present, there is not enough information to determine which treatment is most suitable and provides the higher level of health benefits to the individual. Where is the study run from? University of Birmingham (UK) When is the study starting and how long is it expected to run for? The first site opened in July 2023, and the last patient last visit is expected in May 2028 Who is funding the study? National Institute for Health Research (NIHR, grant number: NIHR131211) (UK) Who is the main contact? IIH Intervention Trial manager, IIHIntervention@trials.bham.ac.uk (UK)
How this trial compares with your answers
Answer 2 more questions to improve match
What we know so far
Still need:
- • Tell us your age for better matching
- • Tell us your sex for better matching
Preliminary match based on your answers. Full eligibility requires on-site assessment including medical history, physical exam, and lab tests. This does not guarantee enrolment.
Eligibility at a Glance
Key info
- Age: 18 Years - 63 Years
- Who can join: All genders
What the study is looking for
- ✓Diagnosis of IIH by the IIH consensus guidelines with papilloedema and at risk of visual loss.
- ✓Presence of papilloedema (Frisén grade ≥ 3) in at least one eye
- ✓Age 18 to \< 64 years at the time of consent.
- ✓Patients must be suitable for and willing to proceed with both CSF shunting (VP or Lumboperitoneal shunts only) and...
- ✓Able to provide written agreement to take part.
Who cannot take part
- ✗Presence of current venous sinus thrombosis on diagnostic brain imaging by either MRI, MRV or CTV
- ✗Previous surgery for IIH including, optic nerve sheath fenestration, CSF shunting procedures, sub-temporal...
- ✗Previous bariatric surgery within the last 3 months
- ✗Patients with a past ophthalmic history, except refraction error, affecting the eligible eyes (study eyes) that...
- ✗Previous randomisation for treatment in the present study.
See the full criteria
Where Is This Study? (15 UK sites)
The Queen Elizabeth Hospital
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Bristol Eye Hospital
Bristol, United Kingdom
Southmead Hospital
Bristol, United Kingdom
Addenbrooke's Hospital
Cambridge, United Kingdom
University Hospital of Wales
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Princess Alexandra Eye Pavillion
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Queen Elizabeth University Hospital
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Royal Hull Infirmary
Hull, United Kingdom
James Illingworth
hyp-tr.development.research@nhs.net01482 461883 or 461903Leeds General Infirmary
Leeds, United Kingdom
King's College Hospital
London, United Kingdom
National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery
London, United Kingdom
Royal Victoria Infirmary
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Queen's Medical Centre
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Southampton General Hospital
Southampton, United Kingdom
Sunderland Eye Infirmary
Sunderland, United Kingdom
How to Get in Touch
Alexandra Sinclair, MBChB, FRCP, PhD
Sponsor contactCONTACT
IIH Intervention Mailbox
Sponsor contactCONTACT
